Parking lot experiences

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
Hey guys I got a question,

Of the many many many carpark lots in our fair country, so far which are the ones that your beloved silvias CAN'T go to?

I mean like i know low yat plaza carpark is a bitch with normal cars, and it is an off limits place for the silvia due to its longer front.

How about midvalley, 1U, curve, etc?

Have any of you guys tried those places, or you guys just jocky park?

modApe

Jul 27, 2005
PJ,KL
good question!!
i propose silvia owners to fill in this format so u can share ur experiences!!

1.silvia type:s13/14/15/180sx
2.height from ground to bumper/front lip
3.tire profile: 255/45/17...etc
4.suspension used
5.where u CANT GO!!

+ additional details?

cool?

joethurr

Sep 11, 2007
Easier and better to jockey park... Most of the shopping complex parking lots will be a problem for silvias and skylines.

rotaryfans

Sep 13, 2005
i think timesquare parking lot would kill a lot of silvias
even wira special edition and eg6 scratch their bottom

spux

Jan 29, 2008
Hey guys, just sharing my experience when i first bought my Silvia:

1.silvia type:s15 (2002)
2.height from ground to bumper/front lip: 1 1/2 inches
3.tire profile: front 225/40/17 rear 245/40/17
4.suspension used: Keiichi Kei office
5.Almost everywhere before I raised the height of the car. Lol. Cant even get through the small bump at the entrance to 1U OPEN AIR car park. Had to park my car beside the central park.

Spux

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
Hey guys, just sharing my experience when i first bought my Silvia:

1.silvia type:s15 (2002)
2.height from ground to bumper/front lip: 1 1/2 inches
3.tire profile: front 225/40/17 rear 245/40/17
4.suspension used: Keiichi Kei office
5.Almost everywhere before I raised the height of the car. Lol. Cant even get through the small bump at the entrance to 1U OPEN AIR car park. Had to park my car beside the central park.

Spux
WOW. 1.5 inches off the ground!

yea luckily you raised it up a little, 1.5 inches is rather too risky for our pothole ridden, bump filled roads.

rogz

Mar 7, 2006
Here are the experience i got from lowering my car

1) MidValley - Basement 1 - OK
2) Gardens Midvalley - Multilevel - OK
3) 1Utama Old Wing - Basement 1 - OK (Snake Action)
4) 1Utama New Wing - MultiLevel - OK (Snake Action when coming down)
5) Curve - Basement 1 OK
6) Cineleisure - Basement 1 - OK
7) Ikea - Basement 1 & 2 - OK
8) Pavillion - Basement 1 - OK
9) KLCC - Basement 1 & 2 - OK
10) Sunway Pyramid - MultiLevel - OK

Gunner93

Aug 26, 2005
Puchong
www.gunner93.multiply.com
Avoid parking next to a taxi, van, pick-up, lorry, tractor etc.
Avoid parking in Chow Kit, Salak South, Klang tai kor areas.
Avoid Car Jockey with tatoo on his arms which says "Drift Kow Kow"! :biggrin:

spux

Jan 29, 2008
Gunner,

Speaking of avoiding where to park, for those of you who does not own a coupe, DO NOT PARK YOUR CAR BESIDE ANY COUPE, be it silvia or not. Most parking lots in malaysia are just large enough to fit the car, as to whether the car's door can open or not is an after thought. Almost always when i open my door to get out, i have to rest the ledge on the next car and climb out. I do it carefully of course, but it still leaves a small dent sometimes..

Spux

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
yup..agreed....i drove a DC2 last time and whenever i get out from the car....sure left a small little dent next car...but mine also kena alot....
but time square car park is wide enuf....so far

Gunner93

Aug 26, 2005
Puchong
www.gunner93.multiply.com
As a daily drive unfortunately, cant help it with the dents and scrap paints. I have quite a few, each with a story to tell. :mad: Front bumper scraps, bottom exhaust resonator scraps, side of door chip off etc. The obvious hazards as I mentioned above, definately to stay away from.

spux

Jan 29, 2008
Ive gone through the trouble of calculating how many COMPULSORY bump i have to go through in a day to get to work and back. 31 !! 31 bumps just to get to work.. times 2 for the journey back. Plus the nightmarish underground parking the inevitably scratches the undercarriage.

Had all my exhaust mounting broken in a short span of 2 months.. all 4 points replaced, all just to be broken 2 months later.. Sigh Im paying taxes, i havent owe the government a single cent in tax, please please just cut me some slack, fix the road to a reasonable level...

Sorry just venting. Just spent RM200 fixing the mounts again.

Spux

is there anyway we can observe tht whether a car has gone trough engine transplant without popping the hood up?

by listening to the BOV i think we can know its a turbo car la... but how about exhaust sound? can know trough the sound produced or not?