Oxygen sensor. Buy new of just halfcut?

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
My car still using the lowly 4AFE. But FC nearing EVO standard already.
Mileage 400 000+, so thinking of trying change the O2 sensor.
Anyone know what price for new? Is the Taiwan brands acceptable ah?
Afraid buy halfcut don't know how long can last.

Hope members can share experience...

scottwrx

Nov 18, 2007
bro.. r u using 4ag or 4af? coz as far as i know 4afe dun have o2 sensor one leh...

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
4AFE year 1996 AE111 body.
There's a sensor at the extractor.

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
Good topic!

Today just installed original brand new Denso Toyota O2 Sensor for 20V BT. Feeling is totally different with new O2 sensor. No more hesitation during startup and engine runs very smooth. Also monitored that the new O2 sensor is working well (and hard) trying to maintain 14.7AFR.

Previous O2 sensor was all clogged up, but still no CEL. I experienced weird reading with wideband, which showed up to 11.8AFR when idling and also cruising!!! Thought the wideband got screwed, but luckily not. It starts up normal but as the O2 sensor heats up, it starts to go crazy. Obviously the old O2 sensor is kaput and needs replacement.

According to Toyota/Denso/Bosch/etc, O2 sensor needs replacement every 100,000km for optimum efficiency. Not sure how much those halfcut sensor have clocked, but most of em' are usually in pretty bad shape (no offense to sellers).

So after installing new O2 sensor, AFR is back to normal (between 14.6 - 15.2 AFR) during idle and also cruising. Will update on FC as well... was planning to open up a new thread, but this thread will do.

PS: I bought it for half the price that Toyota quoted me (RM400) for the freaking O2 sensor. No wire cutting or splicing involved, just plug-n-play. If anyone interested, just drop me a PM ya.

scottwrx

Nov 18, 2007
hehehe... i was just about to mentioned that buying a halfcut one would involve gamble.... n u said it first... i call u tomorrow regarding the sensor ya...

burnner

Feb 12, 2007
bro pc, if the O2 sensor is dirty or cloged, does the check engine light turn on when we idle and turn off when we accelerate...

Ayobjuri

Sep 11, 2009
USJ
Bro,,
Im using bt 20v. Sometimes indicator for oxygen sensor turn on..
what the problem actually..?
Im using custom exzos piping 2"..isit sensor clog?can clean up the sensor or just through away.
:rofl::rofl::rofl:

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
I think its better to change new.
I'm going to PM bro pcmoddingmy to ask about his 'lubang' for the half price O2 sensor....

S

sincere1

I bought it for half the price that Toyota quoted me (RM400)

u mean
toyota quoted Rm400
u bought at rm200

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
Yup, I got it for around RM200. Maybe I'll start a group buy for 20V O2 sensors. So far I think got 3 members interested.

Ive seen a few cases where the CEL will turn on and sometimes not, like my case confirmed O2 sensor clogged but still no CEL. But for other O2 sensor issue, CEL will turn on when full throttle but never saw CEL during idling.

Also, I don't think O2 sensor is serviceable. Its wear & tear part. You can try clean it and but having it working effectively again is most unlikely. What you use to clean it is also critical because using petrol to clean it will further damage the sensor. FYI, cars running on rich fuel setting will also damage the O2 sensor quicker than stoich AFR setting. So using petrol to clean will make it super rich, and kill the sensor.

Update Oxygen Sensor part numbers:
4AGE 20V Blacktop AE111: 89465-19685
4AGE 20V Silvertop AE101: 89465-19495

hon_cs

Jan 23, 2004
Actually what is the standard afr reading for BT 20V during idling, cruising, and revving? I found mine around 12-13++ from dyno chart. Is this normal?

S

sincere1

Rm200!! price drop ! Good new to me
i recalled from bro Chin technical website,
OXYGEN SENSOR INSPECTION
he said "a new O2 sensor from UMW Toyota cost Ringgit Malaysia (RM) 602.25"

By the way, chopshop also selling the used one at rm150 in 2008

my apm sport spring always leave the spring seat whenever i jack up my kenari. hv anyone experience it? how to solve the problem? especially when the car jumo a little, i can hear the spring hit the spring seat when the spring is seated.