NEW MEMBER : pop in for a quick intro

DeliciousD

Sep 29, 2007
actually whats the diff btwn a tiburon and a tuscani? really blur bout this part :hmmmm:
i thought of changing the rims. 18inch low profile ones. but i dont know whether its suitable
Hi xinpin

correct me if i am wrong as i am quite confuse also...

hyundai tiburon is hyundai coupe's branding in north america. tuscani will be for south korea and singapore branding. "hyundai coupe" will be for EU countries & commonwealth countries

however...
tuscani is only applicable for coupes year 2003 (GK) and above. coupes before tuscani... i think is called turbulence (RD1 & RD2).

hyundai tiburon has been labeled so since 1996 (all generation) in north america
hyundai coupe also has been labeled so since 1996 (all generation) in EU and commonwealth countries.

IMO, regardless of what is the name.. we are one big family :)

As for rims.... tuscani can fit up to 19" rims. 18" definitely an eye candy, but you will need to compromise in comfort.... lots and lots of comfort.

---------- Post added at 12:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:27 PM ----------

how much does a tuscani cost again?
for brand new tuscani (2007 -2008) will be rm130k on the road

sry for double posting

DeliciousD

Sep 29, 2007
^ nicely said.
is it easy to take care of a tuscani?
maintenance wise? uhhhh.
I drive a CBU tuscani year 2003. 7 years dy... still running quite smoothly. As long as you put a little effort in it.. tuscani will be fine

I allocate ard rm2k-3k for yearly maintenance. parts that is faulty before will be water pump, radiator and perhaps a few more which i already forget. engine has very little problem lah :)

the biggest problem for me will be my interior.... as the plastic piece is melting and breaking due to hot weather in Malaysia. But maintaining interior is not that expansive if you know where to get the parts and DIY it.

due to low demand, its very hard to fine tuscani aftermarket parts. spare part wise you can get it at hyundai service center or hyundai parts dealer.

thats all i can think of right now. hope it helps

xinpin89

Jul 10, 2010
Hi xinpin

correct me if i am wrong as i am quite confuse also...

hyundai tiburon is hyundai coupe's branding in north america. tuscani will be for south korea and singapore branding. "hyundai coupe" will be for EU countries & commonwealth countries

however...
tuscani is only applicable for coupes year 2003 (GK) and above. coupes before tuscani... i think is called turbulence (RD1 & RD2).

hyundai tiburon has been labeled so since 1996 (all generation) in north america
hyundai coupe also has been labeled so since 1996 (all generation) in EU and commonwealth countries.

IMO, regardless of what is the name.. we are one big family :)

As for rims.... tuscani can fit up to 19" rims. 18" definitely an eye candy, but you will need to compromise in comfort.... lots and lots of comfort.

like the part whr u said we're a big family (: haha thanks for the info man. yeah i did some research and yes i will have to comprise a lot of comfort. a smooth ride i might not be able to give up. well im gonna see how it goes and maybe i'll change or maybe not (: neways thanks again for the info! :biggrin:

ken3182

May 9, 2007
Don't worry xinpin, the wheel bigger does not mean you will need to compromise your comfort. just used the correct tire and suitable suspension will do..

xinpin89

Jul 10, 2010
ken : i hope so hehe but i bet by enlarging the wheel rims the power of the car is sure to decrease. the torque still remains the same so it'll need more force to turn the larger wheels. ):

delicious : thanks for suggesting, i will take it under consideration. are u using them currently? if you are, what's the price range?

FuNks

Jul 14, 2010
Not entirely true.
u can find 19'' dats lighter den a 17'' , brand wise. :P
Japan rims + Japan tyres.
It will make you wonder, and go Oh my Oh my. :]

jdr1786

Dec 9, 2008
kuala lumpur
yes true depends on rims brand ant tires used! plus good shock absorbers wod be a great help too so allgood with the larger rims.

xinpin89

Jul 10, 2010
funk : yeah didnt think of that! haha how bout price wise, does it differ much from the heavier ones despite rim size?

jdr : true (: any suggestions on which tyres and rim brands that are affordable? im currently using hankook tyres but not sure what brand for the suspensions :hmmmm:

FuNks

Jul 14, 2010
If u're buying normal brand new rims, 17'' is around 2k+ , 16'' can get below 2k.
same size - lighter sure expensive. hehee :P
the lighter the more digits.

DeliciousD

Sep 29, 2007
xinpin:

yeap, i am using titan now. there are a few HCC members using it too.... is cost rm600 a piece, hence rm2.4k

japanese rims will cost min rm6k for 18", last i check in sunway, excluding tires.

thai/taiwan rims is as funkz says, less than rm3k can get. some comes with cheap tires :P

---------- Post added at 04:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:31 PM ----------

xinpin:

yeap, i am using titan now. there are a few HCC members using it too.... is cost rm600 a piece, hence rm2.4k

japanese rims will cost min rm6k for 18", last i check in sunway, excluding tires.

thai/taiwan rims is as funkz says, less than rm3k can get. some comes with cheap tires :P

jdr1786

Dec 9, 2008
kuala lumpur
well the tires depends performance good tires go for toyo tire damn expensive, but u can go for yokohama is good, hankook also can la... price varies sunway is usually everything also expensive but u can try also may find a affordable.. suspensions d1, eibach, whiteline, other big brands like hks & all would be too expensive try any suitable aftermarket ones should fine..
normal 17" can get around 2k siap pasang but wheight accordingly not light hav to know ur budget then u follow what u can get best.

xinpin89

Jul 10, 2010
sunway car shops sure potong kao kao wan. its best not to do up your cars thr unless you have close contacts (:

thanks guys for the inputs! i'll take them into serious consideration. what do u guys think about battleship grey [matte] for the coupe? (:

hello,everybody....i have a civic eg with b16a auto gearbox.
i want to change to manual gearbox.
my question is,,,is the auto driveshaft same with the manual one?
please,can anybody provide me information..