Need help on B16A small v..

killgerms

Known Member
Dec 7, 2004
Visit site
Hi all.. I learn so many things from zth. Thanks.. Im a newbie, need advised and help from sifu here. Me drive an old car EF2 fully converted to EF9 spec with B16A small vtec where i bought this car few months ago. Here my problem.

1) Before this, with a full tank of fuel, i can drive my car about 8-10 days (around 350-400 km) in a normal driving condition. But a few days ago, my car start "drink" fuel where its only last until 300km. And i need to refuel back on day 6.. Im not a 'gila-gila' person on driving where i less rev the engine.. It's normal or not ? May i know, how far that this engine can go with a full tank of fuel?...

2) I got a gearbox problem, where my 3rd and 4th gear will "free" when i turn left or right during taking a junction. But nothing happen when i "tarik" the engine until 8k rpm on each gear (only a weird mechanical sound like "tak" during shifting from 2nd gear to 3rd gear - other's no problem). It is a gearbox problem or clucth plate? If it is a gearbox problem, i need to change the whole gearbox or need to change the 3rd and 4th gear only? Can i use big "V" gearbox on my car?

According to last owner of my car, he was modified the ecu by changed the chip (dont know what chip- maybe spoon or mugen), and remove all the rev cut and speed cut (my uncle "tarik" the car until 9k ++ rpm still no cut). And I think he also changed the big "V" throtel body. There is no modification i do since i take the car from the previous owner..

Im really new with the vtec engine, and need to learn from u all guys...acctually i got a lot of question in my head, but i will post it later...really need your help guys...thanks....

TODA6866

Known Member
Nov 19, 2003
hi, im driving a 4dr EF with small v stock std.... no mods--- ori ecu

from ur description sounds like u hav some serious prob man.... sorry 2 say but im still learning n cant help u much on the gearbox thing