Need help and suggestion... ECU info.. pls..

seigetsu

Apr 9, 2009
Im using evo 8.. that is still standard.. no touch up yet.. i wan to know.. which ecu is the best for my evo 8 guys... i heard about standalone ecu for "adaptronic ECU".. is it good using adaptronic than haltech or others?? pls guys.. i need to know..

seigetsu

Apr 9, 2009
bro pangyau~..

if u were me.. which ecu u suggest?

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
seigetsu,
Myself also having difficulties to decide :confused:
We're in the same boat bro...
I still reading & digging more info about this.
This route very expensive, that I can confirm.

EVOFans

Aug 29, 2006
Im using evo 8.. that is still standard.. no touch up yet.. i wan to know.. which ecu is the best for my evo 8 guys... i heard about standalone ecu for "adaptronic ECU".. is it good using adaptronic than haltech or others?? pls guys.. i need to know..
Why not just reflash stock ECU??
EVO have big ECUFlash community,there is almost no need for aftermarket ECU
To reflash(Tune) yourself,you just need wideband + tactrix cable + evo log + ECU Flash software
I have no idea on who is good in reflashing ECU in Malaysia so don't ask me about that

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
Reflash might be the best source.
Let say... if we have all those wideband + tactrix cable + evo log + ECU Flash software.
After connected to the OBD2... look into the software.
Unable to understand 100% of the function.
Support on the Open Source Software very limited from the website.
Still many problems can't be answer by them...
They don’t have any complete Manual to use the software… Such as Tuning for Dummies.

Base on readings and from others.
While on Open source, you unable to change the mapping on the fly.
Unless some other extra gadget required. Not clear about this.
It means, from time to time need to shutdown the engine to extract/change the settings.
This might not good practice for long time on tuning.

The most paranoid is cause a faulty on the original ECU (short circuit, ROM unable to read).
In here not many people tend to DIY on ECU tuning for Open Source.
If corrupted on the files… might get big headache. Where to source/find…?

Until today nobody could clarify the socket E8MR vs E9 are they the same?
Since taking an example on Haltech PNP quote able to use on both of them.
After reading on Net… there not the same, required some cable swap…
Call & email the sales support still no reply on this.

Base on tuner story, all of the ECU mapping product almost the same function.
The different among them is the Software friendly & support.

Asked the tuner also not much could gather.
As we know Tuner work for living.
Giving such information might loose their Kung-Fu…

Bottom line, some base on luck on 1st time tuning.
Sharing knowledge or guide is less in this environment.
Need to burn pile of money to understand it.
Which is not everyone capable off. Try & error will cost u terrible.

Please share…

seigetsu

Apr 9, 2009
Giving such information might loose their Kung-Fu… totally agree with this words bro..! me oredy being kungfu when buying wide body kit and rims <--- he say japan 2nd hand.. when it reach to me it is taiwan.. the lips is break oredy..

for all of u guys there... haltech?? microtech?? which is good bro??

bro pangyau.. r u at KK sabah rite?? u know where good to tune for ecu? which i buy haltech or microtech?

help me bro..

MG42

May 26, 2005
Sevastopol
what do you want your car to be used for? dd? drag? showcar? or just for the sake of changing?

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
seigetsu,
What is your purpose?
Microtech known in many respected race but beware.
When you want to purchase it, you're required to describe engine specification & use.
They will sort the necessary component.
Wrong info will result disaster... on the engine...

Haltech seems more user friendly.

Above all for the E8, u might need to do wiring...
Are you in KK? PM me

seigetsu

Apr 9, 2009
just for normal run bro.. play for "syok2" sendri la.. like that.. not for race or drag..

i will go sndkn bro.. watching drag at STC there.. this end of may..

im not in kk yet bro..

ic.. so haltech is more friendly.. ok bro.. tq..

MG42

May 26, 2005
Sevastopol
If for syok2 sendiri flash is MORE than enough. Standalones are a bit overkill for your purpose but nothing wrong in using them.

I just bough a sedan wira original 1.6 auto which already converted to 1.8 4G93 turbo manual, after driving for a while feel that is not my liking.

I currently plan to convert it to v6 automatic.
I have a few questions probably all of you can share:

1. It is legal to do this conversion, body original is 1.6?

2. Which v6 auto is reliable? eternal or others? I only like v6 which I
like smooth/quiet engine :)

3. How much it cost to trade in this 1.8 4G93 turbo engine from my car...