myvi 1.3 first gen cant accelerate above 120 km/h

Triple Y

Mar 21, 2014
throttle body, air filter cleaned and the car fill slightly better for the moment. since i started this post before i went for major service... will try n see if accelerating to 120km/h will be smoother.. thank you all

Triple Y

Mar 21, 2014
might be spark plug or fuel pump n fuel filter just change. spark plug just change to denso iridium spark plug but feel the throttle pedal slightly heavier..

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
must use overdrive ah cant use d to drive up to 120km/h?
overdrive very confusing, whatever term for car lah. Button near gear knob.
When OFF overdrive, rpm sure high. Don use always, more load to gearbox. Plan to cut 15 cars, use loh...hahaha
When ON is normal driving rpm according to throttle.

But auto trans, once you step on the throttle it will jump to lower gearing dy.

TS driving an auto. Might be gb problem. Final gear not kick in ?
TS, check your overdrive enable or not. Your engine RPM seem very high for 110-120km/h. Myvi auto should be around 3k RPM at 110km/h and 3.5k RPM at 120km/h which is lower than manual myvi.
or he was driving with OD-OFF all these while

leinnz

Sep 28, 2005
throttle body, air filter cleaned and the car fill slightly better for the moment. since i started this post before i went for major service... will try n see if accelerating to 120km/h will be smoother.. thank you all
please do try. it might be the reason

overdrive very confusing, whatever term for car lah. Button near gear knob.
When ON overdrive, rpm sure high. Don use always, more load to gearbox. Plan to cut 15 cars, use loh...hahaha
When OFF is normal driving rpm according to throttle.

But auto trans, once you step on the throttle it will jump to lower gearing dy.
You got it reversed, Overdrive ON lowers thew rpm.....:driver:

leinnz

Sep 28, 2005
i tot OD on is reduce the gear ratio.
Unfortunately new Myvi iKon doesnt have this feature anymore, seem to can't find it

OD off is it (dashboard got light) so can't go beyond 120km/h? Not right, even with OD off, can still go up to 140km/h easy in a Myvi 1.3L.

Why don't you get a co-driver to record the drive for you, complete with sound, so we can see & hear what's wrong.

Triple Y

Mar 21, 2014
what i found out so far is that my myvi will delay the shifting when at full throttle... i need to release the pedal for it to shift