Monthly expenses for an Evo ride

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
just buy the car....then worry the rest later, when u are driving it, whatever cost needed to repair or maintain the car, u will feel worth it...thats my experience....

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
I say think carefully.... Evos are not meant to be maintained on a shoestring budget. Maintenance is ok if you do not use it as a daily driver else expect to it to cost you a fair bit if you use it daily.

Engine Oil change is RM300-400 a pop
Gear Oil is RM400-RM500
Break pads are RM500-Rm1000 a side
OEM Clutch Kit is RM1000 and above
Tires are RM2000 and above for 235/45

Being a AWD moving parts are not very durable and subject to higher than your normal wear and tear. If you have bigger issues like AYC pump, Alternator, Air Con Compressor, Transfer case and gearbox problem expect a bigger dent on the wallet. So think carefully....

You want to have fried rice with telur mata or roti chanai kosong at the end of the month :)

pengyu

Sep 28, 2006
I totally agree..thats not including the fuel and yearly roadtax/insurance..

i used mine as daily, and now im thinking to get another cheap car as a daily to compensate the maintenance of evo.

spek_nates

Jul 28, 2011
4 me i think different..if u dun try then u dun know u r affort or not..we alwayz feel that we r not enough in every things so y not we try..life is once so enjoy what u want in ur life..in malay got said "belum cuba belum tau"..alwayz think positive..so to all fans once u think u already got enough money to get ur dream lancer just go for it.."lain2 letak tepi dulu"..OK!!:biggrin:

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
Pengyu, trust me just get a 2nd hand used jalopy for your daily drive they you will start to appreciate the Evo more. What good is boost when you're stuck at jams and have to go up crazy KL car park ramps.

Suddenly you will find that its cheap maintaining and driving it 2-3 times a week. Save the money for Mods.. LOL...

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
if don go for it now, just wait n wait until one day u realised u r old and never really need that kind of adrenalin rush, then u will regret you never go for it....it is same for any other things that you want but never go for it, by the time u changed yr mind...its too late...time will never comes by again....

BonesGarage

Jul 12, 2010
Buy an evo and drive it hard like it was built for, no need to takut2 and keeping it like a showroom queen just for the next owner (when you finally decide to sell it one day)

This goes for any sports car , not only the evo

Jun_EK9

Nov 20, 2003
I'm driving my evo everyday and i have no prob with maintenance if u really know how to take care of the car. rally car is meant to be tough and i love the almost low maintenance evo , my previous tme clock over 110k km also no leaking or anything wrong

wen

Dec 5, 2008
stock evo 9 can get 350-400km?my car only 200km+-,where can check my car problem in johor area?

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
If you have minor bolt on mods (much like stage 1) n do period maIntenance with miss, it's a good robust n trusty car.

kampoon

Mar 4, 2006
buy lancer as your second car at least lower your evo maintenance

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
stock evo 9 can get 350-400km?my car only 200km+-,where can check my car problem in johor area?
Mine oso 200++ per tank... Pretty stock... But I get around 280km per full tank of abt 40lis for town drive la... Mine's an e7, fuel tank is edi smaller...
But if highway cruising following speed limit, can reach almost 400km per tank...

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Mine oso 200++ per tank... Pretty stock... But I get around 280km per full tank of abt 40lis for town drive la... Mine's an e7, fuel tank is edi smaller...
But if highway cruising following speed limit, can reach almost 400km per tank...
And this is using RON97, is it?

'(00): Is it really the end for cheap and rare imported used parts? The Government has finally decided to gradually phase-out certain components namely, brake pads, tyres, batteries and so on, before moving on to more critical items...