Michelin Energy XM2

Lunatic Rider

Jul 25, 2018
Rawang
Hi all,

I originally planned for Michelin PS3 15inch, as I thought I would have the budget for rims.
But that on hold now, no budget :0

So for the time being I'll be sticking to my stock 14 inch Saga FL Sport Rims.

I've been running used Michelin XM2's for 4 years now.
But I feel its time for me to change all 4. (Got one random Yoko C-Drive at the rear left xD)
I was quite satisfied with the XM2's so I think i'll be continuing the same tyres.

So I need feedback for tyre shops based on your personal experience, preferably from 2018 (Shops, Bosses,Workers change all the time)

So far I got a quote for RM804 a set from Wah Hoe Tyre, PJ.
This includes balancing, alignment and labor.

If you guys have other shops that you can recommend, especially worksmanship wise, I'd appreciate it.

Also, where does one find a Manual Alignment sifu? I know very few shops still do manual alignment, I believe it is better than Computer Alignment and the higher price is justified by the quality.

That's all and good day guys.

Very expensive for the size and the tire. @vr2turbo can give advise

Personally I’d choose the latest Ecopia over XM2, I think it’s both cheaper and newer. Or the higher performance category Hankook or Kumho. XM2 is ok tire but I find it’s performance don’t deteriorate in a linear fashion vs the wear rate.

Hi all,

I originally planned for Michelin PS3 15inch, as I thought I would have the budget for rims.

But I feel its time for me to change all 4. (Got one random Yoko C-Drive at the rear left xD)
I was quite satisfied with the XM2's so I think i'll be continuing the same tyres.

So I need feedback for tyre shops based on your personal experience, preferably from 2018 (Shops, Bosses,Workers change all the time)

If you guys have other shops that you can recommend, especially worksmanship wise, I'd appreciate it.

Also, where does one find a Manual Alignment sifu? I know very few shops still do manual alignment, I believe it is better than Computer Alignment and the higher price is justified by the quality.

Actually for 15" the XM2 cost the same as the PS3, but since you are still on 14", are you on 175/65R14 or 185/60R14?
XM2 are actually the entry level tyres, good for comfort and durability.
You can try calling Weng Tat Tyre sevice in Subang SS14. I remember he has a batch of 2017 XM2 tyre on promo at around RM188 for 185/60R14 size. If purchase 4pcs, price includes, mounting, balancing, rubber valve and alignment.
Call Tuan Hoong Wai 0163155424 to see if he still have them in stock. Can refer vr2turbo recommend.....

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Hi all,

Bloody expensive for 14' tires! I can get much better UHP tires in 15' with much cheaper price than that.

Yup, and cannot get any performance range tyres in this 14" size already, that is why I recommend many to change to 15" and in fact some of the tyres even cheaper than the 14" ones, and much more choices.....:driver:

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Outside selangor and KL will be impossible to get below rm200 a piece.
I experience both the xm2 and ecopia ep200 but on different car.ep200 already replaced by newer model.

i would rate these 2 tires almost the same in term of robustness, wet and dry grip. Get the Ecopia and use the saved money to drive to Rahang in Seremban to do your manual ballancing and allignment at Ah Ching (if i recalled correctly). i did my manual ballancing there at least 6 years ago so dunno if the shop still there.

Shit.. RM201 for 14" is expensive? Then I've been paying way too much for my Myvi. Stock Myvi 14" rims and 185 width I pay RM200 for BFGoodridge but apparently it's under the Michelin umbrella. But if XM2 is for RM201 only I'd prefer XM2 over BFG.

Wah rich man. For driving point A to B just use Ecopia. Good cheap tyres. Just don’t try to clip apex on corners cause will end up in the ditch.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Next time just find some cheap OEM 15' then use Hankook V12E2 195/55/15 la, only rm170-180/pc and miles better than whatever 14' crap eco tires out there.

Lunatic Rider

Jul 25, 2018
Rawang
Yup, and cannot get any performance range tyres in this 14" size already, that is why I recommend many to change to 15" and in fact some of the tyres even cheaper than the 14" ones, and much more choices.....:driver:
Hmm actually I think that makes sense, if I'm gonna end up paying the same price as UHP tyres, might as well get UHP tyres.

So now the question is RIMs.

If I'm going for 185/55-15 (1.3%), then the rims should be around 5.5jj - 6jj, then what would the min/max Offset be? because I want to make the rims as flush as possible with the fender.

Hmm actually I think that makes sense, if I'm gonna end up paying the same price as UHP tyres, might as well get UHP tyres.

So now the question is RIMs.

If I'm going for 185/55-15 (1.3%), then the rims should be around 5.5jj - 6jj, then what would the min/max Offset be? because I want to make the rims as flush as possible with the fender.
If you're gonna size up to 15" why not go for 195/50 R15 or 195/55 R15? Why the need to stick to 185/55? Use 7jj rims.

Outside selangor and KL will be impossible to get below rm200 a piece.
I experience both the xm2 and ecopia ep200 but on different car.ep200 already replaced by newer model.
Yup, now EP300 but they start with 15". 14" only have EP150 the lower range one

BFGoodrich, lower range tyres of Michelin, like Dayton from Bridgestone, Viking from Continental....lol

For all those car lover out there:

Im currently distibuting the new product from overseas to any of u that business in car care that make the car that been apply look dame preety!

It is a polish that when apply to to your car and will be giving a 5 year guaranty (not warranty) that your car will shine like hell.!!!!!!!!!!!

It is suitable to all those metallic and even 2k colour paint.
Dame nice, it is a...