MGB GT 1969 engine

DuKe

Jul 4, 2004
ep0
anyone knows wut other engine can i use on a MGB GT 1969?....wanna rebuilt da whole car back...dad hasnt use it for years and da engine kaput dy...anyone know which other engine can fit??...pls help

DuKe

Jul 4, 2004
ep0
thnx for da info ..but anyone knows wut other engine can fit in it?..anyway its a 1.8liter car...rear wheel

SiRCRX

Jan 18, 2004
I'd say rebuild the ori engine ... then it'll become a true classic. Check out those Brit classic restorer. Parts are plenty ... as long as there's $$$$$$$$$

DuKe

Jul 4, 2004
ep0
too exp ler if wanna rebuild da entire engine...and da parts are hard to get in malaysia,gotta import and da delivery cost will kill me..sigh...sumore wanna use as drift car..hehehe

BabyGodzillaGTi-R

Nov 24, 2003
I've a 3.5 Range Rover V8 engine if u're interested hehehe...

Beter than the crappy 1.8, lighter and faster. Hehehe
Thats the ideal engine plant for the MGB GT.
Why do u want to use that car for drifting...
Yours a 4 speed or does it have the over drive option?
Yours the chrome bumper?

I dont think parts should be that costly. Did u take the trouble to check out the parts yet?
U could try going down the Sin Tong Bee near Times Square.
What ever it is dont mess up a classic..
U want some old junk to drift get something like a KE70 lah....
Or u can buy an MG Midget Mk I or a MkII from me.
Keke.

DuKe

Jul 4, 2004
ep0
waa...3.5 v8 engine...heard of it from da mgbexperience forum...3.5 wor...damn... da roadtax damn high ler..sumore im jz a student..no job aso..
Anyway its da 4 speed version wif crome bumpers..ive been checkin out parts on ebay and sum overseas mg forum..its expensive ler..sumore im settled in ipoh...
hehe no $$ to buy and rebuilt KE70 so try dizz car lo haha chasis sudah ader...btw wut u selling la..got MG midget Mk sumore...hmm how much is da rover engine...hehe jz to enquire

SiRCRX

Jan 18, 2004
BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
What ever it is dont mess up a classic..
U want some old junk to drift get something like a KE70 lah....
Or u can buy an MG Midget Mk I or a MkII from me.
Keke.
Totally agree. Don't mess the CLASSIC. You will regret it if you did that. MGB is one of true classic car. If no money now ... there's no harm to let the thing lying there ..... do full refurbish when you collec enuff $$$$$ :smile:

BabyGodzillaGTi-R

Nov 24, 2003
Join the local MG Club here lah..... Honnestly i think its dumb to mess up the origins of a car unless u really have no sentimental value then go ahead....
Some more if u're really interested in drifting how the hell are u going to find an lsd for it? U will end up welding the diff and when the axle break then where are u going to find the parts?

Range Rover engine? going rate just for engine alone for a 3.5 is 5k.

Why everyone like drifting so much....... Just only to show off to people. Spectator sport.

BabyGodzillaGTi-R

Nov 24, 2003
Hey Boggysv,
u by chance into classic cars too?

DuKe

Jul 4, 2004
ep0
got da website of da club?
haha ur rite...im jz playing around la..ish..my dad will kill me if i do stuffs to da car...now it jz needs an engine...any other engine beside da rover? 3.5cc is too much ler...i mean da cc

Boink Boink

Hey bro... dont mess up a GT la..... sighs... if it is in such a condition that you say it is, dont la....

can almost feel pain already imagining someone cutting the frame to fit in a V8 Landy engine... :) :)

Kopi

May 18, 2004
Cheras
the MGB GT 1969 has all mechanical engine... shouldnt be no problem after oil change, carburettor cleaning, new battery for the ol skool... i wish u didn't mutate it wit other engines... and juz keep it stock. FYI, the MGB GT is quite precious vintage in its original condition and once modded off the ori spec, it'll no more be the special car it is.

DuKe

Jul 4, 2004
ep0
da engine really really in bad condition ler...sigh..dunno wher to find da another ori replacement engine...i found some on ebay but dey dun deliver....if dey do aso....delivery cost!! haha damn

We traveled our way to Penang Island for this sweet sweet ride. We were briefed by the owner that it was a brand new ride, with barely 500KM on the ODO.

Upon arrival, we did our usual walk around the car.

We spotted...