Mazda 1.8cc DOHC or 1.8cc V6 good on Malaysia Roads!!!

ni5mo

Feb 13, 2006
Which engine better for Ford Lynx year 1995 to 1997!!!
Half Cut BP 1.8cc DOHC or 1.8cc V6 better choice taking into consideration as below:-

1. Dashboard and meter fit or not to Lynx
2. Gearbox life span ( I heard V6 auto gearbox got problem )
3. Engine DOHC or V6, which more BHP power and higher life span.
( as u know DOHC for pickup and V6 for topspeed )

Hope could get some professional feedback from some Ford/ Mazda JEDI!!!
As for Malaysia wheather and town area I guess DOHC should be a better choice.

By the way, what the 15" rims offset suit best for Ford Lynx.
If rims size is 15"x7jj or 15" x 6.5jj, what the ideal OFFSET of rims!!!
As I know Toyota SE/SEG rims offset +32 to 36, CIVIC & WIRA offset +38 to 42.

MrRonin

Nov 7, 2006
I guess 1.8cc BP Mazda DOHC better for Malaysia roads.
i've a Ford Lynx 1995 chasis for sale below RM12K, anyway might change my mind to modify it to either 1.8cc BP DOHC or 1.8cc V6, not yet decided yet.
Hope could get more info from this forum.

kenken

Oct 7, 2005
v6 better in torque..erm...some say f/c better some say not..im using v6 1.8...rm10 can get 50km about the same like b8 turbo though b8 is more powerful...how izzit??haha...sound nice..simply use any muffler get nice sound d...haha...for malaysia road ok la..i prefer v6!! haha..its unique at least...

b00n

Aug 16, 2005
v6 FC as compared to normal inline should be more fuel comsumpting. Anyway, I don't think ppl would normaly do a 1.8 V6 conversion or 1.8 BP engine. Rather get yourself a 2.0 V6 (KFZE) instead for around the same amount of price for conversion.
I would prefer going for V6 for smoother ride. But if ur hungry for power; there's always B8 standing by to be tranplanted.

ni5mo

Feb 13, 2006
I heard that V6 1.8 or 2.0 , usually create problem from the gearbox.
Because V6 is for cruise and if frequently used for town and pickup, the gear tends to wear very fast. But DOHC is different because is built for fast response pickup in town use. Anyway that's my feedback from mechanic, dont know how far is true mate.....

kenken

Oct 7, 2005
gearbox arrr....my car is 14 year old d..but gearbox still ok...haha...

muzb8

May 2, 2005
subang jaya
haih... g/box can give problems anytime... my dad kia carnival g/box twice peca in a year.. lucky under warranty... first time had to pay 8.9k... my interplay..... 4 times change g/box ady... 2 of it pecah... but since i got the sohc turbo 1.8 g/b i got no probs at all... so depends on how heavy ur foot is n how u shift gears la.. rite?

manong

Feb 27, 2006
yup..im agree wit muzB8..so always b care wit ur foot!!

MrRonin

Nov 7, 2006
I think will consider BP 1.8 DOHC engine....better pick-up...

muzb8

May 2, 2005
subang jaya
i think better leave stock... less probs... if wanna change oso take the dohc 1.8... v6 consumes too much fuel... if want power... b8 la... if got more money for fun chuck in an evo 6... hahha... i think once got no more b8 spare parts in m'sia imma chuck in an evo 6...

The new Jaguar F-Pace has officially made its Malaysian debut. Launched by Jaguar Land Rover (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd. The F-Pace is the first sports SUV from the British carmaker, bringing together the renowned sporty bits from the company’s passenger cars and the everyday usability of an SUV, all in one package.