Malaysia Eye;London Eye;Singapore Eye

keithkeat

Jan 6, 2005
kapateS
KUALA LUMPUR: A 60-metre high structure 'Eye on Malaysia', similar to the 'London Eye', will be unveiled at the launch of Visit Malaysia Year 2007 on Jan 6 at Taman Tasik Titiwangsa here.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, at a click of a button, would light up the Ferris wheel with 42 gondolas to start the celebrations.

"The Prime Minister will then take a slow 45-minute ride on the wheel to see the breath-taking view of the Kuala Lumpur skyline," said Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor.

"Apart from the Ferris wheel, there will be activities like a Jet Ski show, fireworks display as well as a laser show at the lake.

"A giant screen will be installed to show scenes of Malaysian history from pre- to post-independence," he told a press conference at the Putra World Trade Centre's Dewan Tun Hussein Onn Monday.

Tengku Adnan said it would cost RM30mil to set-up the wheel and discussions were still ongoing whether the structure would remain a permanent feature after the VMY.

He said there would be 240 events next year nationwide, with 50 big ones.
Besides the Eye on Malaysia, the other four major events would be a floral parade, an international aerospace exhibition, the international fireworks competition and international buskers, plus the Citrawarna Parade.

Tengku Adnan said for the aerospace exhibition, an actual six-storey space shuttle would be on display.
"We are re-branding some of the products in the country, such as promoting it as a shopping and gourmet heaven," he added.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/12/18/nation/20061218173019&sec=nation

the eye is set, the site is in titiwangsa and they are start clear the thing at there.......is the eye necessary?:confused_smile:

keithkeat

Jan 6, 2005
kapateS
maybe the top ppl no place to spend and commission......lol

escaflowne

May 4, 2004
that is where the petrol subsidation and toll rise that i am paying to this "ass eye" stuff..wat to prove? wanna become like yokohama izzit, "wan an" racing beside the ferris wheel?

links

May 26, 2004
good idea...but our "wan an" need to pay tolls and got many pot holes in the roads...its more like a Special Stage in WRC....

so wheres next? the rainbow bridge?

ehaab

Jul 3, 2005
Tengku Adnan said it would cost RM30mil to set-up the wheel and discussions were still ongoing whether the structure would remain a permanent feature after the VMY.
OMG another 30 million goin down the drain...

Duke Red

Jul 27, 2005
Earth
Well it is VMY and I suppose you do have to kick it off with a bang. He's going for a 45 minutes Ferris Wheel ride? That is incredibly long don't you think? Just how slow does this wheel turn?

zephyr3d

Apr 29, 2005
near steven's
OOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHH NNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

we work our asses off for those?! i lost hope with m'sia already.

links

May 26, 2004
Duke Red said:
Well it is VMY and I suppose you do have to kick it off with a bang. He's going for a 45 minutes Ferris Wheel ride? That is incredibly long don't you think? Just how slow does this wheel turn?
u may voice out this this issue to them so they will spend another 300million ringgit to hire ferrari to develop the wheel....then it will be good for a 2 mins spin where generating 3G force just as in formula one.... :)

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
aiyah....jangan jangan selalu think so negative ma~

it is also a way to attract tourist ma...~

kakka..but still.....ape pula eye of malaysia la

keithkeat

Jan 6, 2005
kapateS
alantan, u are right, attract tourist, make more currency exchange here and there.....

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
yea i read it in newspaper too....hardy har har....another copycat,so what else is new..?

at least could use the money to sub petrol more...

Quite a plethora of tuners have been getting their hands dirty on the Honda CR-Z, trying to help it induce more adrenaline in its drivers than a sneeze would. The problem is they’re trying to do it without messing about too much with the hybrid powertrain and losing the ‘green’ aspect of it.

This is precisely why we love tuners like HKS, the Jap...