Low offset rims

vspec

Rookie
Oct 9, 2005
Tehran
I'm driving Toyota Mark X 250G. Not sure about tire recommendation, maybe can try GT Champiro HPY, there's already a good review done by VR2 (one of ZTH active forumers), and he said it's very good value for money. I myself is now using 17' Goodyear Eagle F1-D5 which is quite good but a bit noisy. My first choice at the time was actually Yokohama Advan Sport but turns out a bit more expensive.
You also driving a monster there lah bro :adore:

i'm using lancer gt. Bought a set japanese use rim with size 18x 8.5j, it come with 225/45/18 tayar...but 225 look like not wide enuff for 8.5j wide. Adjust pls.
225/45 for 8.5J rims is maximum width, best is 7.5 to 8. 235/45 can but overall diameter is slightly bigger and for 245 have to use 40 series as in 245/40R18. Better check whether enough space in wheel well. Rear for scrubbing and front for full turn.....

---------- Post added at 12:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:30 PM ----------

Currently using 16in 6.5jj enkei rs..planning to change new set soon (using d enkei's for bout 6 yrs...bored oredi)..thinking of 7 or 7.5jj (even 8jj max)..will n can I stil use my current rubbers of 205/45?

Thnx n rgrds

Fazid
Conversation to 17" must be of right tyre size. If only 205/45 stick to 7J enough....

Secondly, when you mention current rubber, do you mean 205/45R16, then cannot as rim size is different.

---------- Post added at 01:27 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:34 PM ----------

no need la... can still use 205 with 8jj.

there are even people who use this setup for track.... if i get 8jj oso ill be running 205 n will be using it for track oso....

can check here for an example of 15x8 n tire fitments

15x8 6UL Black

by the way....where to find 15*7.5?? got ah? wats the offset?

if can find 15*8 +35 would be damn nice...but all the 15*8 taiwan rims here come with stupid offsets :(
Many like to bloat their sidewall that way, but it will wear more of the shoulder pattern faster.
Moreover, you seldom can get wide tyres in 15", 18" of course will have wide tyres.....

---------- Post added at 01:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:27 PM ----------

bro 6UE5t , thanks for ur info. May i what car u r driving? any recommended tayar if i wanna change to 235/40/18. budget around RM500-RM650 per piece.
Yup, GT Radial HPY have that size, and maybe Archilles ATR Sports 2

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Bro ur too modest...d car's got d looks n d go:adore:....

Btw....wats ur opinion aka advice if:
- 7.5jj
- 8jj (mayyyyybbeeee)
- 9jj (tho x likely).....
Looks maybe ok lah, but not so much go, still quite slow actually (that's why the wife still approves!)
Probably 7.5jj max.

You also driving a monster there lah bro :adore:
Aiya, seriously, still slow car lah bro, no where near real monsters like Evo etc.!

iatebananas

Oct 5, 2012
@TS buy wat u like. its your money right? why wanna buy to please others? im using 8.5j offset +28 with 205 tyres. -1.5 degree camber all round. flushed with my neo's fender. slight poke on the rear due to the spacer. been driving like that for quite some time. no probs whatsoever.

Yup, I saw your ride at HQ tt......:biggrin:

fazidk

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Nope...just sticking to 16s bro...but thinking of changing d rims...currently 6.5jj thinking of 7.5jj max n use my current rubbers (205-45-16..stil less then a yr old)..

I x wanna put stress / stretch d tire so is 7.5jj just nice?or....??

Thnx again bro appreciate ur answering my naive enquiries...

Best rgrds
Well that regamaster in the link is 16 also. :)

Anyway yeah, 7.5jj max already if you still want to use your 205 tires. Actually it's easy to calculate.
7.5inch x 2.54 = 19.05cm. Add about 1cm of lip thickness , then you got around 20cm of rim width. So using 205 tire (20.5cm width) is just even already.

Nope...just sticking to 16s bro...but thinking of changing d rims...currently 6.5jj thinking of 7.5jj max n use my current rubbers (205-45-16..stil less then a yr old)..

I x wanna put stress / stretch d tire so is 7.5jj just nice?or....??

Thnx again bro appreciate ur answering my naive enquiries...

Best rgrds
For 205/45R16 the best is 7J, min 6.5J and Max 7.5J
Why this is so, because you have 45 series aspect ration sidewall which is shorter or less, so cannot bend too much in or out.
For example 205/50R16, best can be 6.5J or 7J, min can go until 6 or even 5.5 but max still 7.5J

fazidk

Thank so much for ur advices....now im confident oredi:proud:

avaultz

Apr 7, 2006
hey guys.
i just bought a new preve. thinking wanna change a new rims. I always love rota coz of the concave look.

plan to buy 17x9jj 35offset. i wonder will it fit in without any trouble in preve arches? thx

offset 25 or 35? should be 25 rite?
u need a set of adjustable suspensions.
For FWD, 35 should be level with body or slightly out, 25 will come out.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 10:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:01 AM ----------

hey guys.
i just bought a new preve. thinking wanna change a new rims. I always love rota coz of the concave look.

plan to buy 17x9jj 35offset. i wonder will it fit in without any trouble in preve arches? thx
What tyres with 9JJ? Better get the shop to test first....

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
hey guys.

I think it's too wide for your car.