Low boost after replace TD03 turbo

waja1234567

Oct 20, 2011
Hi All sifu,

I just replace my L7 RHF3 turbo to TD03 turbo, using back the original manifold and down pipe by welding.

Turbo kicks in at ~4000rpm compare to the original RHF3 at 3000rpm.

Problem is, i just can't get boost more than 0.7 bar when I already rev at 7000rpm:banghead::banghead::banghead:

Any idea what happen, this TD03 turbo should be smaller thenTD04 and I see L2 can boost up to 1.5bar with TD04, so my TD03 should be getting at least same figure right....

I even remove the actuator, but still same ~0.7bar...

need help...really regret changing the turbo:mad::mad::mad:

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
perhaps the the turbine exhaust housing too large for L7 660cc. do u mate it with stock exhaust housing or the original housing? to me,the best turbo for 660cc is always be td04-09. it has big compression housing and addequately small exhaust housing while boost kick in around 3500 rpm which is just perfect.

waja1234567

Oct 20, 2011
i'm using the TD03 original exhausr housing....becuase i was thinking that since TD04 can move, TD03 should be no problem:confused::confused:

Is the wira TD04-09 same as the TD04-09 use in pajero?

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
im not sure its the same but i did use the lancer td04 and i got quite bad turbo lag. so better get the td04-09 pajero or rhf4 with small exhaust housing. if u got rhf4 with big exhaust housing, u can mate it with ur standard housing (might cost abit).

waja1234567

Oct 20, 2011
im not sure its the same but i did use the lancer td04 and i got quite bad turbo lag. so better get the td04-09 pajero or rhf4 with small exhaust housing. if u got rhf4 with big exhaust housing, u can mate it with ur standard housing (might cost abit).
do you manage to get high boost with the td04? mime is turbo lag + cannot high boost:banghead::banghead::mad::mad:

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
what type of TD04 u r using? if u use TD04-09 i wont be a problem. but if u use TD04 from GSR or other car, u might have major turbo lag. turbo lag is where u turbine didnt charge enough pressure to ur engine and very bad turbo response/ boost maybe 0.3~0.4 only and kick in very late @4500 rpm...

---------- Post added at 09:27 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------

my other recommendation is eterna 6A12TT; TD02 turbo is also ok but the boost kick isnt as sharp as TD04-09 response. u may use TD04 GSR turbo if u already change to oversize piston or at least racing camshaft.

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
td03 shudnt be a problem for ur engine, there must be a leak sumwhere or else it wudnve boost up when u disengaged d actuator boost signal. check dat and report back, or u can always pm me for more detail

sideksepakragabulat

Jun 28, 2011
hi there..hope anyone can give me some opinion..currently i'm using td04hl-15g from volvo 850 mate with td04-09 turbine housing..boost kick in way to fast compared to my previous td04-09..mine td04-09 kick in around 3000rpm and holding peak power way past 6500rpm..now my td04hl+td04-09 turbine housing kick in as early as 2200rpm and die out around 5000rpm..resulting my hp to drop a bit..my previous td04-09 with 1.3bar boost produce around 104hp with 11kg of torque..now with 1.2 bar of boost i've only can get around 90hp but with increase of torque..my torque now around 13kg..

done some research and i found out that td04-09 turbine housing is around 3cm^2..my td04hl-15g is using 7cm^2 as a stock turbine..7cm^2 for me is way too big for my 660t L2s engine..i'm using an oversize piston..

can anyone suggest the best turbine housing size if i want it to spool around 3-3500rpm?i was thinking maybe 5cm^2 would be the right size..or maybe 6cm^2?

any suggestion?

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
in ur case, d hot side was made for response instead of top end power, so it is smaller compared to ur previous turbine. i suggest u either change dat side to a bigger one, or get a similar previously used, or my fave, mod it up to provide good top end power. i highly suggest speedspin for dis kinda work, theyve done a lot of satisfactory work for me in the past

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
what size of ur piston. i would strongly suggest u to get GSR td04l hybrid turbo.. better high end spooling.. incase ur piston size is only oversize by 1mm which is 73mm and stock camshaft, u can mate the gsr turbine with ur tdo4-09 exhaust housing if u concern turbo lag.. the response is still the same but better high rpm spools.. that is experience bro not rumor.. my close fren done this setup.

sideksepakragabulat

Jun 28, 2011
tq all..i was thinking about changing the hot side 1st..this td04hl hot side i think hv the same size with td05 hot side which is 7cm^2..i've done some reading and found out tht this td04hl fitted to a 2.4cc engine if i'm not mistaken..too big to fit the whole unit..now i'm using a 72mm piston..a 4mm increase from stock 68mm size..i've seen my fren dyno sheet..he using a td04l(subaru) mate with gsr hot side..power come around 4000rpm and peaking at 6400rpm and power after that is linear without dropping until 8200rpm..he got around 204hp @6400rpm..

considering cost factor i think i stick to this turbo for a little while..planning on changing the hot side using gsr or maybe rvr turbine housing..any spool under 4000rpm for me is normal..i can live with some lag if only my full boost can be achieve before i run out of rpm..

another question..1 bar on a smaller hot side vs 1 bar with a bigger hot side same or not?if not why?i've bored my current hot side to fit this td04hl..can i just get gsr compressor side and slide that unit on?what happen when a smaller turbine wheel hybrid using a bored hot side?

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
full boost at 6400rpm is considered turbo lg bro.. its not street setup, its a drag setup. its ok if ur have engine management to run boost lag like that bcos stock mapping is way too different than that setup.. full boost at 4000rpm is ok since its a bigger turbo..

sideksepakragabulat

Jun 28, 2011
yup..but top end power suck big time..my car hp now drop after 5500rpm..for city driving yes it fun but when i hit high rpm on the hiway the engine sound like it on the edge of breaking apart..sound 'perit'..with my previous turbo i can easily reach top speed and the engine sound just fine..now just to hit 140km/h mark is a hard work..

the reason i swap to a bigger turbo becos my previous turbo don't produce any power increment after 1.5 bar..so i was thinking a bigger unit will produce more power at the same boost level..but with smaller turbine housing i got an opposite effect..i've done comparing my dyno sheet..it seem that my td04hl with smaller turbine housing produce 90hp @ 1.2 bar..i got -+90hp with only 0.8-0.9 bar using my old turbo..

i've done some research and found out that my td04hl have a big inducer compared to other popular td04 ppl put into L2s engine..i would like to maximise dis advantage and it seem not working so well with a small turbin housing..i was targeting to boost around 1.5 bar and if it can produce -+130hp i'm a happy man..it seem a waste if my turbo can only produce power around 5000rpm only becos L2s engine popular among k-car lover for their ability to withstand high rpm level..

so can anyone tell me how much spool time effect with every 1cm^2 of increasement?my td04hl-3cm^2 start spool around 2200rpm..so with every 1cm increase how much time i sacrifice my spool time?

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
well in that case, its too technical u better seek consultation from tong turbo.. but base on my experience, dont get urself into too much headache in R&D ur car.. u will suffer wasting money alot.. so just go with more familiar turbo and has good characteristic.. so its easier and cheaper for ur upgrading.. n also better result as well..

Im looking at the rota ce28 16" 8j ET20 (Deep concave) at the moment. The reason why i choose 16" its not too big neither small. My bigger concerns are,

1) does 8j rim clear my turning radius?
2) Will ET20 make the rims to come out of fender( front) and body (rear)?

I have not gone to the rims shop to do any fittings, just before i can do that, i would like to be sure of what i can and cant. your suggestions and comments in this is highly appreciated. Thanks allot