lets talk about brake pads road/race

pimpin323

Oct 6, 2004
some that i've been using

ebc green stuff - kinda squeaky for road use. fades quite fast. burns my stock rotor.

bendix gold - kinda squeky for road. track but after 2-3 laps braking hard on the strights they just wont stop.

still looking for something more reliable. any recomendations. and one more thing. do you guys normally change your pads after hard day in the track? just wondering. :shcokedcamo:

getting race pads and switching them in the tracks would be troublesome indeed.

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
currently using Mintex 0-400 degrees pads......been using it for 2 track days n should b enuff for the next track day as well......more than enuff for road use, good enuff for the track ler..... =)

TODA

May 20, 2005
downtheroad
how much for mintex? anybody here use project 'u'?

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
I'm Using Mintex M1144 on fronts and Mintex Redbox on rears.

5 continous hard laps , braking at 100m mark on both straights, no fade .

Price depends on wat car you driving

serenum

Apr 2, 2004
bendix metalking gold - superb in first 3 laps.. but shit came after that.

ferodo - hermm didnt try hard yesterday trackday due to my disc bengkok and the car shaking while braking.

faisal.. i saw your car yesterday.. is it red ae86 right? im the blue putra.. try to keep up but failed because of my bengkok disc. then i just cruising only. very sad trackday.

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
K_Takuya said:
Wise can use Mintex? how much?
can, they got brake pads for a wide range of cars.....GTI R3s r using Mintex brake pads......dun get confused between Mintex n Mintye tho.....Mintex r much better....

pimpin323

Oct 6, 2004
serenum said:
bendix metalking gold - superb in first 3 laps.. but shit came after that.

ferodo - hermm didnt try hard yesterday trackday due to my disc bengkok and the car shaking while braking.

faisal.. i saw your car yesterday.. is it red ae86 right? im the blue putra.. try to keep up but failed because of my bengkok disc. then i just cruising only. very sad trackday.
yeap the bendix just warped my disk too down the strights. bastards. everytime have to skim. arrgh. going for biig brake upgrade. the stock rotors just wont do for track use.

will try mintex the next round. should be good if their stock on r3's.

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Mintex Pads are from the UK. They are under the same Group of Company as Pagid.

Satria R3s use Mintex 1144 all round.

The M1144 price range from RM415 - RM715 for Proton Cars.

R3 Satria/ Waja race cars use M1166

pimpin323

Oct 6, 2004
whos an autorised mintex dealer in peejay or kelang valley? a number would be great! i think i'd be hard to get a set for my 1986 323.

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
When i bought the car. They had mintex on them. Used it for 4 track days and it worked fine. But 2 times i changed brake fluid as i read in an article, that the brake fluid is actually more important than the pads itself. I just used a good Dot 4, but a Dot 5 is adviseable/better.

Then i figured that SIC is not really that abusive on brakes. I only brake hard at turn 1, 4, 9 and 14.... so after the mintex i had, i opted for bendix metal king gold. This was also after reading an article in Auto Asian on budget racing. It said that they were good enough.

Indeed, last saturday i had them tested (again with new brake fluid) and they work just fine. Never let me down even after 4-5 laps of hard pushing when "keeping company" a pack of Lotus Elise's on the track that day... :_:

DeOngster

Nov 1, 2005
hmmm track day yesterday damn scary la... cannot stop... i need better brakes any suggestions? not too expensive... was thinkin of going metal king but dunno la... got a lot of good reviews and bad reviews... so im not sure.... help?

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Wat calipers you using?.. can get Mintex if you want.

One thing I learnt is when it comes to brakes I'd rather not compromise. It's not funny when you are aproching Turn 15 at 170km/h+ and you can't stop