Leaving Your Car In The Right Hands - Car Nanny

AXXeLL

Subang

Remember that joke that if you saw a guy opening the car door for a girl, either the girl or car was new? Well most petrolheads more often than not equate their cars to women, and lets be honest, early on we're very tender and loving with our rides to the point that even a water stain was tantamount to a dent but as the odometer clocks in more mileage, we find ourselves closing an eye to the occasional bird poo stain or even a slight gash.

That's probably down to the fact that no matter how hard we try, age somehow shows on a daily driven ride. The harsh local weather, stone chips, inconsiderate birds and even our plain careless selves can be blamed for letting the shine simmer down on our cars.

So if that is the case, wouldn't keeping it looking showroom fresh be all the motivation we need to continue giving it the attention and love it needs. Granted, the usual once-a-week wash and biannual wax and polish will go a long way in keeping the showroom shine but a little something extra is definitely needed to seal in the 'wow' factor. And the best part is, it doesn't even have to cost your left nut anymore.

Of course, if you're going to leave your car in other's hands to get the job done, you're going to want those to be some pretty safe and tender hands. The guys at Car Nanny have got your back and wax on.

Car Nanny is a small outfit that are big on the auto detailing service. They've got a staff of about 10 friendly guys headed by Chris Khong and Tio Beng Huat that will go the extra mile to ensure your car gets the care it deserves.

They use Swissvax products on all their customers’ cars and are the authorised Swissvax dealer for the USJ, Shah Alam and Glenmarie area, which is understandable considering their location in USJ Taipan.

Riding on the slogan 'we babysit your car,' Car Nanny operates on the basis of each customer buying the product they want or require and then storing it at the shop if there are extras left. Once the product is finished, they can buy more.

It's a worry-free affair by leaving your car in the care of Chris and Tio, both having an extensive background in the auto industry, having started out in the service manager sector before switching over to the auto detailing part of things.

They pride themselves on their serious work ethic that blends well with the friendly and good-natured atmosphere you get at the premises.

One of their special services would be the 10-step wash they offer that would compliment all the other detailing services on the cards as well.

Chris takes some time to explain the process in detail as Tio gets his hands dirty and works on the demo car that you see in the shots. It all starts with claying to remove the dirt and dust particles that have embedded themselves in the paint's surface before moving on to the washing process.

After that, the exterior garnish and mouldings are masked up to protect and maintain the soft rubber while the polishing process kicks in. However, before any polish is even applied, the car is put under bright spotlights to check for impurities on the paint surface such as swirl marks and water stains.

That alone could take a few hours to complete before the polish finally goes on. Following that, the car is left for an average of two days before the next step of waxing begins.

Even then, the wax isn't simply applied and buffed off. A special pre-wax oil is applied and serves as a base that bonds the wax to the paint, when it's finally applied. After that, the pre-wax is then buffed off and the wax applied. As the final step, the car is left again overnight in the studio before the wax is buffed off.

All in all, the wax and detailing process can cost anywhere from RM500-RM1,500, depending on the size of the vehicle and the products used. As you can tell, this is no ordinary wash and detailing process. Even the basic car wash would require you to set an appointment and can cost RM60.

It might sound like a lot for just a car wash but once you see the detail put into it, you'll soon realise that its money very well spent on your vehicle.

They even have their own specialized tools to fit in all the nooks and crannies for the detailing process. The usual array of brushes and sponges are joined by cotton buds and handcrafted tools that they cooked up on their own.

Such is the quality of their work, Car Nanny are partners with BMW and Mini in their Driver Trainings, and also an in-house detailing partner for a BMW dealership. Furthermore, they also do outdoor events, such as live car detailing at launchings, road shows and even trainings for PDi warehouse, and car dealerships.

Having started out performing private house calls, Chris and Tio still maintain that aspect of the business. They will happily come to your doorstep, with no surcharge for Subang Jaya, USJ and Glenmarie customers shall the house enviroment permits for a polishing job. If you're having trouble dropping off or picking up your car at their premises, they've got you covered too. Just ring them up to find out about the pick up and drop off services they offer.

The car wash and exterior detailing process is just the tip of the iceberg on what Car nanny can offer. We've yet to delve into the interior detailing process that is a wonder on its own.

For more information, just give the friendly duo of Chris or Tio a call at 016-330 3201 or 012-303 5992 to find out anything you could possibly need to know about auto detailing your car at their hands. Their studio is located at 11-1G, Jalan USJ 10/1C, Subang Jaya, Taipan Triangle, 47620, Selangor D.E.

Text By: Dinesh

Photography By: Chandra

Lean

UnderCoverProject Founder
Oct 30, 2006
undercoverproject.blogspot.com
Looks like they provide a good service .. What's the price range by them for the different category of cars

AXXeLL

Subang

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
too bad im in perak

cRazYee

Oct 7, 2005
i hope they can show a lil' more professional with company uniform rather than normal t-shirt

metalheads

Aug 2, 2008
www.blmclub.co.cc
There is a Swissvax at Kampung Subang. Workers there are so lazy. i send my dad's and my car for wash, they told us they got no time to do *in a malas, don't wanna do way*. "Tak ade masa nak cuci untuk kamu, datang lain kali" i was like WTF?! even the roadside car wash will do it for u even tho its late already. this really pissed me off... hopefully this swissvax taipan carries the good name of swissvax better =)

Btw, *im not stereotyping* maybe the kampung subang one is really screwed up.

i recently change from manual to auto and there is slight power lost, can upgrade or not that auto gearbox? like manual can change flywheel and clutch plate..