I'm tired..

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
Ok, here we'll be discussing tyres. I know there is a section on tyres but I need input from Skyline owners as the Wheels and Tyres section mainly discusses smaller diameter tyres and not all are really performance oriented. Nothing wrong with that but I want relevant information which we can all benefit from rather than having to sift through the many threads there.

I've been using the Eagle F1 Asymmetric and I'm very happy with its performance both wet and dry. Out of curiosity, I requested an online quote from Goodyear for the new Asymmetric 2 in the same size I currently run on my GTR which is 265/35/R18 and within 24 hours I received a quote of RM1,180 each.

A bit more expensive than its predecessor but substantially cheaper than the RT-615s I used to run and have to change every 6-8 months. The Eagle F1 has lasted me close to 3 years and nearing 20,000kms so I'm looking for replacement.

I initially considered the Federal 595RSRs but I'm reluctant to go back to a W-rated tyre and would much rather run Y speed rating so unlikely to go down that route. Plus, I've done the whole RE540, RE555s, RT615, etc so I'm done with all that. Plus driving in the rain isn't too much fun since I'm genetically unable to drive slow LOL.

So, my fellow Skyliners I come to you for advice. Either stick with Eagle F1 Asymmetric (if still produced), go for the slightly more expensive Asymmetric 2 or consider other options from other brands (Sorry Nas!).

My requirements are 265/35/18s, speed rating Y and good wet and dry performance. I'm not a track kaki so it'll be for spirited road use. Price wise I doubt there is much difference given the size that I require.

Thanks in advance!

P.S: Running 18x9.5 so what's the widest I can go? :hmmmm:

frootloops

May 28, 2009
i'm a very happy Asymmetric user...thread patterns on the Asymmetric 2 looks kinda like Michelin's but don't really know how good is it....Bridgestone's RE002 had some good reviews and it comes with nice thread patterns....

with a 18x9.5 setup...could we actually go for a slightly higher profile?....slightly beefy looks kinda mean...don't u think so....but would it actually rub the inner fender?

BNR

May 21, 2009
I'm running on 275/35/18. When full turn to the left/right, can see that it just cleared the inner mudguard.

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
i've came across many good reviews on the Asy 2 both wet n dry, u shud gv it a try..i've nvr use it b4..

2011 Auto Zeitung Max Performance Tyre Test | the online tyre guide
I don't doubt the Asymmetric 2's capabilities but they're close to RM300 more per tyre than what I paid for my Asymmetric and I don't know if the premium is worth it or not. Plus, never hurts to keep an open mind and try other brands.

I was thinking of the Bridgestone S001 but from the looks of it, wet weather performance isn't good so that kind of ruins it for me.

i'm a very happy Asymmetric user...thread patterns on the Asymmetric 2 looks kinda like Michelin's but don't really know how good is it....Bridgestone's RE002 had some good reviews and it comes with nice thread patterns....

with a 18x9.5 setup...could we actually go for a slightly higher profile?....slightly beefy looks kinda mean...don't u think so....but would it actually rub the inner fender?
Yup, I'm happy with mine as well but its been three years and I intend to change mine soon. When you say higher profile you mean instead of 35, go for...?

I'm running on 275/35/18. When full turn to the left/right, can see that it just cleared the inner mudguard.
Hmmm.. Interesting. What tyres are you running bro?

BNR

May 21, 2009
Dunlop Direzza DZ101. I think out of so many 'Made in Japan' tyres, this is the most value for money. Performance is nothing too great to shout about, but it sure serve it's purpose to be driven around during dry and wet and still bring me home in one piece.

feezdya

Aug 3, 2006
Pee Jay
www.takaful-ikhlas.com.my
cheaper n last longer go for federal..im using michelin sport n so far so good even in track day...last time using toyo but cannot last longer...now tested federal 595ss for daily use...265 35 18...ok la but bit noisy and notreally good in raining n track...but ok la right for rm 600 tyre pc...

bvalve

群&#39340
Federal 595ss RM600/pc of 265/35/18?

price boleh tahan...

V-Spec

Nov 28, 2003
Cheapest and last the longest? Fitting it in a taxi ah bro? Hehehe

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
Got a few more prices all 265/35/18. The Kumho is the only one that has a Y speed rating while the Federal being semi-slick tyres are rated W as usual. The owners on GTROC UK seem to have good reviews for the Kumho tyres both in wet and dry conditions. I guess its value for money in a way.

1) Federal 595RSR RM1160
2) Federal FZ201 RM1350
3) Kumho Ku31 RM800

My Asymmetric has lasted me 3 years and probably maximum of 18k kms. I need to change while still good condition because Blood Red said can do burnouts and donuts in his GTT so long as I bring my own tyres :P

Temujin

Nov 5, 2004
[PIMPIN];1063706186 said:
Got a few more prices all 265/35/18. The Kumho is the only one that has a Y speed rating while the Federal being semi-slick tyres are rated W as usual. The owners on GTROC UK seem to have good reviews for the Kumho tyres both in wet and dry conditions. I guess its value for money in a way.

1) Federal 595RSR RM1160
2) Federal FZ201 RM1350
3) Kumho Ku31 RM800

My Asymmetric has lasted me 3 years and probably maximum of 18k kms. I need to change while still good condition because Blood Red said can do burnouts and donuts in his GTT so long as I bring my own tyres :P

Wow.. that's a good price for Kumhos!

I think MrNismo uses Kumhos too, and for that price I'd get them as well.. need to find proper rims first though.. :rofl:

feezdya

Aug 3, 2006
Pee Jay
www.takaful-ikhlas.com.my
[PIMPIN];1063706186 said:

1) Federal 595RSR RM1160
2) Federal FZ201 RM1350
3) Kumho Ku31 RM800

i can get at this price..

1) Federal 595RSR RM1150 - 265/35/18
2) Michelin Pilot Sport cc3 rm 1300 - 275/35/18
3) Federal 595SS RM670 - 265/35/18 (price increased) :rofl:

---------- Post added at 05:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:38 PM ----------

Federal 595ss RM600/pc of 265/35/18?

price boleh tahan...
sorry was last year price..now increased to 670...:banghead:

All Senpais,

Which is the way to go for my selections of cars, B8 Passat 380TSI (new) or F32 428i coupe (2nd hand) having priced very similar at RM 158k?

I am rather torn in between 2 due to the fact that I love the DSG experience on the Pasat while wide track rear wheel drive machine is highly desirable as well. Additionally, the N20 engine on the beemer seems to have some issues with oil drip head gasket and timing chain guide which are rather a concern to me.

Hence, I appreciate all...