I think i need to change engine la

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
Dear all,

Please advise me okay..feel a bit like mid life crisis.

I have been driving around in my ee90 1.3 stock with some minor upgrades for 3 years already..
i plan to change car but due to financial obstruction...i'm thinking of upgrading the engine again.

My thoughts are like this :

16V 4AGE(AE92) - how much all together for a complete conversion?(estimate)?

although BT20V would have more power in general but i don;t know why i am convinced on a 16V instead.

Is there really a big difference in terms of power/fuel/reliability/parts and etc?

Sorry if i am bugging around...its a crisis i am going through now..

hope i can get some help to clear my mind. Thanks

Regards,
Alan Tan

[

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
if wanna save cost, look for 4AFE that is lying around after the previous owner upgraded to 20v. re-wire it and you are good to go with stock dashboard. it won't offer you 4AGE power, but at least your chassis is light enough for this fuel saving engine.
4AGE 16v engine lantai still commands pretty good price nowadays. AE92 hafcut can easily reach 2500 average, so after installation the figure might balloon to 4000, if that matters to you.
ask your fav mech on your options,then cross check with your budget.

shamburke

Dec 9, 2003
Subang Jaya
yep.. transplanting is not cheap anymore....

cost easily around rm2k-5k for normal ones.. if you wanted more power more parts... more RM lerr... happy hunting..

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
Looks like the 5th gear prob is common huh.. If ur engine is still good, just replace the other parts u mentioned.. Ur milage is quite good bro..

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
i used to face this problem in my 1.3 2E before, 5th gear dropping back to neutral. lazy to bukak the gbox, i change the gbox altogether for rm500 few years back. this could be one of your option too. engine mounting & bushes wouldn't cost much either. 12km/liter in your case is consider very good already, given the engine's age.

4throttle

Jul 23, 2006
bro..
do a transplant will never end bro..
once u get in it's hard to get out..
just like me.. sob..sob...
last2 kena jual.. waaa...

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
hey all..

In my most depression zone..i have to thank you all for ye positive words..
i'm thinking.....yea i'd keep the engine and fix the cars...not fastest but quite economy.
love ye all....

regards,
alan tan

EFN

Dec 28, 2003
Batu Caves
Do not attempt to transplant if you think your budget cannot be stretch beyond RM2K. Like Banzai said, the most efficient means of transplant will be to look for ditched 4A-FE (complete with GB & ECU & Wiring) and hope that the owner can land you a reasonable price. I'd say a RM800 deal would be the price to pay for all those. 4A-FE still stands as one of the most cost effective engine to use.

If budget limited at RM1500, then find a good mechanic to fix your current setup.

Good Luck

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
buy those 4AFE from those who upgraded the engine will be ok also..
at least all the wiring are complete n the price is not that high also..

suma_

Jun 3, 2005
DU
nice car is what i can say... good job bro
but so sad it has to be sold

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
trading the front nose..no top up..just need to get it done and be happy with it...

help!

Hi does anyone if you can:

-change the led lights inside the proton satria neo dashboard
-where I can get a short shifter
-and where I can get them wide wind deflectors for the windows

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk