How's your SR20DET's fuel consumption?

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
heik,how do u count,is it me or u is bad?errr,rm20 will get u 11.11 liter of fuel,so it will get me around 100km.ok ok.

now we calculate it by, 100km/11.11liter.so i get 9 km per liter.
walla.thats right i guess?
if not,wasted my the ptptn money for my studies.hahaha.

maybe its time to change the turbo.
anywant has a ar60 or ar80 turbo from s13/s14/s15,good condition lah and nice nice price,me no money,stupid banana.

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
egb18c,
sorry man, i had mistakenly used km/RM instead of km/L...post edited to reflect this.

so far, it looks like the stock sr20det is good for approximately 9km/L (regardless of transmission) but as the sample size is way to small, i think i'm jumping the gun a bit.

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
hmmm thats quite true. but 9km/Litre is not that bad for a 2 litre turbo engine, so i guess its about the best average we can get. There are also alot of factors like wheel size and weight of the car.

I unplugged my piggy back and now ill run tests on my stock ecu and see how much i get too.

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
fill her up with rm50 of fuel,200km,still got rm10 in the tank.
i was like,weh....200km,i can go back to kuantan edy,hahaha.

i guess that ur fc will be higher w/o the piggyback,just my theory.

owh yeah,saw a red rps13 oso.thumb up for his car too,hahaha,quite a friendly guy.my car saket,kenot wangan.lol

cmng

many factor of the FC lo
Rim and Tyre Size
Exhaust Size
Tuning
your route destination geograpical

imagine you have to pass many bump to go out
or you have to climb up hill or down hill before you can exit your housing area

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
many factor of the FC lo
Rim and Tyre Size
Exhaust Size
Tuning
your route destination geograpical

imagine you have to pass many bump to go out
or you have to climb up hill or down hill before you can exit your housing area
True, but there will always be an average.
Now im testing with stock ecu, seeing what im getting. Im trying to stay out of jams also so i can get a better reading

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
I just finished my tests on car, without engine management and with; and a walbro fuel pump
Without EM = 6-7km/litre
With EM = 9km/litre

i guess it should be fine this way, don't think can get it any higher than that already for my car.

s2000eve

Nov 26, 2007
hmm.. as for the petrol price at RM2.05 per litre, my sr20det fc gets around RM50=200km

normal daily drive..

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
hmm.. as for the petrol price at RM2.05 per litre, my sr20det fc gets around RM50=200km

normal daily drive..
Thats about the same as mine too.
Well....at least it doesn't drink as much as a 13B. :proud:

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
an interesting point to note though:

after using a poorly/incorrectly routed bleed valve for boost control, i've routed the original tubing to their respective vacuum points and am currently using the original boost control solenoid. the result, 10-11km/L and the results are VERY repetitive. :)

so, ditch your bleed valve and plumb your vacuum connections properly...not only do you get better mileage but in some forums, apparently the factory boost control solenoid allows boost at 0.75bar. i personally have not verified this yet but did better response from the engine, overall.

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
an interesting point to note though:

after using a poorly/incorrectly routed bleed valve for boost control, i've routed the original tubing to their respective vacuum points and am currently using the original boost control solenoid. the result, 10-11km/L and the results are VERY repetitive. :)

so, ditch your bleed valve and plumb your vacuum connections properly...not only do you get better mileage but in some forums, apparently the factory boost control solenoid allows boost at 0.75bar. i personally have not verified this yet but did better response from the engine, overall.
You have to teach me how to do that. or could you snap a pic of you engine to see where you connected the lines?

lan evo

Nov 24, 2003
my s15

8km/L

how i calculate

pump full tank of vpower in kl,then drive back to ipoh.kl-ipoh average 150kmh.then up cameron,then down to ipoh from cameron,some town driving.fuel warning light up when mileage clock 400km since full tank in kl

car spec
boost 0.8 - 1bar
engine stock
aftermarket front mount intercooler
aftermarket intake filter
aftermarket fuel regulator
aftermarket fuel pump
3inch exhaust piping+aftermarket muffler
apexi power fc
wheel size
225/45/17 front
255/40/17 rear

I need help ! Why the radio and the clock doesnt working?? But the fuse at the back of the radio is okay,and the fuse in the dashboard is okay,i dont know why