How to choose engine oil?

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
stupidcar,
Its not meant for tracking or heavy blasting all the time.
Just normal city n long distance, 5w-30 would do fine (MOTUL or Royal Purple)
Sometimes I use 5W-40 on my 4G63T for city driving.
For blasting I stick with 15W-50.

stupidcar,
Its not meant for tracking or heavy blasting all the time.
Just normal city n long distance, 5w-30 would do fine (MOTUL or Royal Purple)
Sometimes I use 5W-40 on my 4G63T for city driving.
For blasting I stick with 15W-50.
I agree, 5w-30 will be good enough. Even my VR members some use SS 10w-40 only, not even FS...:driver:

elviraz89

Apr 23, 2014
I think her's are Kancil turbo. Need to use thicker?
Yea I'm using kancil turbo. Engine has been changed to daihatsu l2s. At the moment using shell helix 10w40. Wanna try something better yet affordable. Any suggestions?

---------- Post added at 09:49 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------

I recommend 10w40 api sl/cf
What's sf/cl?:confused:

twistedichc

Jan 22, 2013
Ampang Point
from my observation, most SM,SN rated eo r fully synthetic, so maybe not so affordable for ts oso, as per CF rating means it can be use for either petrol @ diesel that means the cleaning agent more likely better than petrol rated oni.

You mean having dual rating...hahha Hope she don't misread and buy CF rated....:driver:

elviraz89

Apr 23, 2014
I agree, 5w-30 will be good enough. Even my VR members some use SS 10w-40 only, not even FS...:driver:
Erm, okayyy. What about the brand of the oil? Which are the recommended brands in market at the moment? Price of Motul & Liquimoly maybe is a lil bit 'massive' and unnecessary for my lil turbo car at the moment. I think i exceeded the due date to change my engine oil already and i'm in a dilemma because there are too many brands and types out in the market at the moment :banghead:

yup its 7000 energy, rm85 now its back @rm120,got 2 of them + 1nos mobil 2000 same spec rm95 (usual rm130 not mistaken) for the whole next year.
I got some during the special special offer of RM69.90....:driver:

---------- Post added at 02:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:21 PM ----------

FS eo is too much for my deer & fish but RM129 for FS 5L bottle is considerably cheap.:burnout:
For 5L is very cheap. Even Aeon selling the Mitsu oil is RM119 for 4L only

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:23 PM ----------

Erm, okayyy. What about the brand of the oil? Which are the recommended brands in market at the moment? Price of Motul & Liquimoly maybe is a lil bit 'massive' and unnecessary for my lil turbo car at the moment. I think i exceeded the due date to change my engine oil already and i'm in a dilemma because there are too many brands and types out in the market at the moment :banghead:
Any branded oil will do. Petronas, Mobil, Shell, Caltex. Afraid of fakes, then get from petrol station, if not, buy from Tesco during promo is cheap....

twistedichc

Jan 22, 2013
Ampang Point
I got some during the special special offer of RM69.90....:driver:

those time I bought 3 oso & went all crazy & change every 3k km:driver:

Any branded oil will do. Petronas, Mobil, Shell, Caltex. Afraid of fakes, then get from petrol station, if not, buy from Tesco during promo is cheap....

right now Tesco have these brand on sale Mobil 2000 5L 10W/40 @ RM 95, Helix 10W/40 4L RM89@99, Total FS 0W/40 5L RM129 & I recommend to buy Mobil to try it out coz got good feedback sumtime ago.

The FS looks interesting. 5L I can use for my SUV. That day saw 1 bottle left only

One of the biggest meeting of all meetings held monthly at the legendary Ace Cafe.
No reason for me not to attend it. I've compiled some of my shots taken from last night. Nevertheless, a brilliant meeting! More updates to upcoming eventssssssss...