History of Drag racing In Malaysia

djharrisandria

Dec 19, 2009
Hi..I am doing a research on Drag racing in Malaysia..does anyone know exactly how it started in Malaysia? Dates...venue...total drag car/bikes...categories...etc...anything at all..if you have any info, please do share it here for me and my research plus I am sure a lot of them out there would love to learn as well..

Fussion_R

May 15, 2005
east side
hai Mr.Dj.... acctually i'm also new in this arena, but as far as i know drag race already start in malaysia since zaman Datsun 510 SSS lagi, but the different is the distance that they play, they not play for quater mile, but depends on the deal. most of them play for a kilometer.

but the LEGAL drag race in malaysia starts at Batu Tiga Speedway. instead having the circuit race a.k.a CCT there every malam minggu, they start to organized Drag Race around year 1999-2000. but i'm not sure wheter Batu Tiga Circuit or Pasir Gudang Circuit that start dulu, or maybe Sabah & Serawak first..

after Batu Tiga Speedway was demolish, PUTERA Racing start to organize the Drag Event at Jempol. then come COMAT Motorsport that bukak Terengganu Sprint Test. PUTERA Racing also build a drag strips at Nilai 3, but dont know why its just sekejap jer...

the Sepang Drag Battle come around end of 2003. but the most drag battle that i really best for me is BF Goodrich drag in 2004 with lots of Thailand, Singapore and Brunei dragster.

then people starts to organize temporary "drag strips" like Batu Kawan Drag and Dataran Merdeka 200m Drag.

nowadays; the Drag scenes in Malaysia really meriah with lots of organizer like Sepang Drag Battle, Kg.Gajah Drag4fun, MUSC, and many more...

thats whats i can share, maybe others can give more. please correct me if i'm wrong guys....

djharrisandria

Dec 19, 2009
"u writing a proposal for a menteri to build a drag strip kah?..."

Yeah bro..something like that..it'll be good rite..for everyone..

udengfahlawi

Dec 3, 2004
putrajaya
cool....mayb u shud get in touch with people who has organized drag races to learn about the rules, categories, problems, etc perhaps can help firm up your proposal....all the best, we all support u....:top:

Feb 25, 2006
Hi..I am doing a research on Drag racing in Malaysia..does anyone know exactly how it started in Malaysia? Dates...venue...total drag car/bikes...categories...etc...anything at all..if you have any info, please do share it here for me and my research plus I am sure a lot of them out there would love to learn as well..

Drag Racing started in about 1983/1984 in Jitra, Kedah. Organised by Bang Cha from Suraini Motors (it is still there but his son has taken over) and they used to race 1km drag races. The reason being that cars were so slow then that only at this distance could they see a gap between the cars...I suppose. The top cars then were Datsun 130y with a 1500cc engine and twin original carburettors cut and welded to the original manifold. This was very ingenious considering the year. There were other 1400cc lancers with 1.8 litre engines and the quickest car I saw was a Ford Laser S with some fair mods and quite secretive at the time so I cannot tell you what went in the engine. It could do the 1km run in 31seconds and was the King in the North for some time.
Then came a Datsun 1200 B110, from Butterworth with a C20 engine, twin Dellorto carburettors and Mitsubishi TC05 turbocharger from Mitsubishi Starion and ran without intercooler. Intercoolers were not available those days so water/methanol mixture was squirted into the turbocharger and flowed thru the twin carbs. That car did 29seconds for the 1km sprint. This was around 1984/85.

Fuel injected cars started to come out around 1985/86 and there was a very fast Honda Integra from Perlis which dominated the drag scene. It was thought that it also had a NOS system but not sure. It beat many cars then.
There was a Ford Escort 4door from Sungai Petani with a Mitsubishi Starion engine which was pulling 200hp and beat the Integra.
Times for the 1km drag dropped to 24seconds somewhere in 1995/6 and was held by a Ford Escort with a Nissan SR20 engine. There were other Ford Escorts with SR20. Nissan FJ20 and CA18 from around the area.
There was also a Nissan300zx Z32 from Alor Star with 600hp. Engine from HKS Japan, Numerous Honda Civics, Ford Laser B8......

So, there you have it...Anyone who has earlier dates?

Spookie5676

Aug 15, 2006
fuh...teringat balik seh...(im proud being jitra guy)..jaspal?..u car also king brother...last time fast car that i could memories back..being play at jitra at that time...bg cha escort sr20..ahkie satria 4g93t..interplay(very fast seh..sapa punya ar brother jaspal?)..anuar selayang also come play here..i remember play with ahkie..very fast ef that anuar brought to jitra..

jada_bloom

Jun 1, 2009
Hey Mr.Dj...hopefully this could assist in your proposal to the Malaysian government. A replied email by the
Taupo International Dragway NZ management

Thank you for visiting www.taupointernationaldragway.org
We wish you every success in your dealings with the Malaysian government
with regards to starting a dragstip.
There is so much involved with the planning and logistics of designing
and building a dragstrip. Your best approach is to show that it would
bring revenue to the country and will also contribute to the safety of
youth on the roads of Malaysia.
We spent aprox $2 million to get the dragstrip up and running and to
hold events it usually costs a further $30 - $40k per meeting.
Scary aye!

Again, we wish you well.

Kind Regards

Steve Zahorodny
Director
Top Fuel Enterprizes

DrifterKao

Nov 30, 2006
those were far too long for me.

During my times...Its was Batu Tiga. when Can1 R32 rb26det from KL and AE86 turbo from Sabah dominate.

both are the top cars during tat time...Was goin 11 to 10sec for 400m. I still got contact with them tho... Hehehe

datsr510det

Jul 9, 2005
kota bharu
those were far too long for me.

During my times...Its was Batu Tiga. when Can1 R32 rb26det from KL and AE86 turbo from Sabah dominate.

both are the top cars during tat time...Was goin 11 to 10sec for 400m. I still got contact with them tho... Hehehe
that can1 belongs to jimmy low rite? couldnt recall that hachi roku you were mentioning

revolution_1853

Feb 7, 2007
who the owner kolamP?...is't boni?...bg cha orange ford escort mark 1 also fast...
same as mr jaspal silver mark 2.....:burnout:

My friends car is having some problem...
It is a Satria 1.5 Auto converted to manual...

The problem is rarely simple but then this foremans are doing nonsense...

The car is jerking when its on top speed...1,2,3,4,5..whenever it likes....
It feels like there is something blocking the car from moving when ur driving it...

Have checked with foremans, and also changed the IC Box of the Fuel Injection but its still the same...and now after consulting another foreman, he says the fuel pump is...