Head valve cover nut oily/greasy

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
As mentioned in the title, what is the cause and what am I looking at to replace/repair?

Please check out the attachment for reference. The nut which is circled in white is the problem.

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
I faced this problem a few months ago. Now solved already. I think mine was more severe, all 5 head cover nuts were covered in oil (my engine is a weak D16Y7 non-vtec :biggrin: ). The problem with most honda head cover is that the thread in the head itself is not through-hole type. Meaning that, if the seal under the nut is weak already, no matter how tight you torque the nut it will still be covered in oil. The solution: replace all the seal and put some new head cover gasket for good measure.

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Got it. Thanks mate. I noticed that this particular nut, can't be tightened. It turns and turns but doesn't tighten. Why ah?

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
IMO it can be source easily at spare part shop.

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Do you mean the nut?

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
either the nut needs to replaced or the thread worn out cause over tighten.

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
If thread worn out, is there any solution?? I just tried using the other nuts for this corner but it's still the same.

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
Got it. Thanks mate. I noticed that this particular nut, can't be tightened. It turns and turns but doesn't tighten. Why ah?
Maybe the thread loose already? If it is, go find workshop that has tap & die set, the thread can be re-threaded. You'll have to use slightly larger nut after that.

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Aih, if thread worn out, nothing can be done right?

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
should be able to re-thread

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Bro, mind to tell where? Machine shop? Lol.. Me very :stupid:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Where r u now bro? JB or KL?

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
JB...........

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Pm me ur contact.. i tell you where to go to..

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
PM'ed. Thanks bro.

I'm not sure if this is the right thread to post this...

My steering currently eats up so much steering fluid. I know this becoz the steering give out sounds (like fluid filling up spaces) during morning starts every 2-3 week oso and i have to top-up the fluid. It used to be 2 months before a top-up....

So this mean that the leak is getting worse... So that means i have to visit a mechanic soon...

So my question is... How do a mechanic repair a steering rack...