Gear kicks from 5 to N

jebatdex

Jun 19, 2011
Skudai, Johor
Hi all

My car 1996 Satria 1.6L. This happened last Saturday for the first time on PLUS and a few more times after that especially when going up the hill. I just changed the clutch about 8 months ago. Can anyone advise what is the possible problem?

I will try to change the gearbox oil first and see how. Can anyone suggest how many litres needed for my gearbox? 2L?

Thanks in advance.

fazidk

Hi jebatdex....I had this problem once long ago wiz my Wira...thing is I x think it's d clutch (correct me if I'm wrong sifus)...wiz me it was d gearbox...d synchro aka gear in d gearbox was 'haus'....I had to replace d whole gearbox n d problem sorted (been using d box ever since)...I might be wrong tho wiz ur problem so any sifus can offer explanation?

if u manage to salvage any old gearbox lying around in workshops then yes able to just replace the 5th gear syncro.

---------- Post added at 09:49 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:48 AM ----------

your car will be still able to use but the only effect u have to hold the gear stick when its in 5th gear.

jebatdex

Jun 19, 2011
Skudai, Johor
any recommendation of good gearbox workshop?

and anyone can suggest how many litres gearbox oil for my car?

jebatdex

Jun 19, 2011
Skudai, Johor
try searching for AQL Transmissions,
u buy 4L MTF shud be sufficient & have keep the balance for next MTF change.
I recommend Toyota MTF. bout rm18 per L
Ok thanks bro. Will try to change the oil first.. Then, if still not satisfied, will bring to recommended workshop, good since close to my workplace in Seri Kembangan now. Danz, do you send your car there? Just to know. Thanks anyway

I suggest better ask your foreman for advice, either replace the 5th gear syncro or replace the whole gbox, as the costs to dismantle your gbox will not be cheap. summore its easier to source for a 2nd hand gbox, not sure if the 4G91 fits your 1.6 or not. but I doubt changing your MTF will rectify the issue.

---------- Post added at 01:01 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:00 PM ----------

no I have not been to AQL transmission, but he was formerly a perdana club member aka PPC.

peeche

May 16, 2006
Sin City, MY
Ok thanks bro. Will try to change the oil first.. Then, if still not satisfied, will bring to recommended workshop, good since close to my workplace in Seri Kembangan now. Danz, do you send your car there? Just to know. Thanks anyway
Changing the GB oil will make no difference. It's too late. You need to source a 2nd hand GB for direct swap or just change to 5th gear synchro. AQL is auto trans specialist, but he also can work on manual gb. PM me if you need his phone number. He will advice you 1st what to do, then it depends on you to proceed or not.

Kopi

May 18, 2004
Cheras
geabox VRZG 5th gear tend to whack out to neutral due to the 5th gearpiece. If it's synchro problem : it'll happen at 3rd too and you may have problems enganging in all gears and all that grinding...
short term & cheap solution is mechanic to open the gearbox butt and reverse (pasang terbalik) the 5th gearpiece, labor charge shud be ard RM300. But short term... I do mean its only going to last less than 30-40,000km, upto 50,000km - touchwood!! Recond VRZG gearbox shud cost ard 1100-1200 with trading in your gearbox, but since you WILL change it anyway, save some 1500-1800 bucks... go for VRXE from SGTi 93DOHC, and always eye for UK halfcut ones. Australia or Malaysian ones usually being used at high mileage already.

jebatdex

Jun 19, 2011
Skudai, Johor
Changing the GB oil will make no difference. It's too late. You need to source a 2nd hand GB for direct swap or just change to 5th gear synchro. AQL is auto trans specialist, but he also can work on manual gb. PM me if you need his phone number. He will advice you 1st what to do, then it depends on you to proceed or not.
If changing the 5th gear synchro, how much it would be u guess? Is it much difference with changing the whole GB?

4G91? That only uses 2L of oil. No need 4L.
Even VR uses 2L only for GB.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 08:13 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:13 PM ----------

try searching for AQL Transmissions,
u buy 4L MTF shud be sufficient & have keep the balance for next MTF change.
I recommend Toyota MTF. bout rm18 per L
Your V6 uses 4L for MTF?

Oct 30, 2014
look for mechanics who really can 'overhaul' or rebuild the gearbox.. cheaper than getting new one.. not all workshop offer this kind of work.. rajin2 look around lah bro.. in brunei yes we hv specialist who can rebuilt gearbox

Due to the request of our dear customers we have removed their rides from this column.

Watch out for more rides :)