Ford Focus 02 Plug Wires and Spark Plug

evo3

Jul 2, 2004

I owned a Ford Focus 02 model 1.8l Zetec. Yesterday while i was driving the car suddenly vibrate and the engine start to loss power. Since i'm nearby to Ford Servcice Center, i just drove it for a check. They say it the spark plug , so they change the spark plug but the idling become worse. Since Ford SC can't check the problem for me, since they change the spark plug and the coil and it is the the same.I bring it to one my mech who deal in conti cars, and after checking the sprk plug, plug 4 is wet which mean that they are no spark. This mean that the plug wire is gone.

Do anyone know where to get the plug wire cos i don think i wan to change to OEM or are there any plug wires that are the same with the focus?

thanks...

ashabmy

Sep 11, 2005
Labuan
www.cardomain.com
evo,

try check with Pentagon KL. I know they sell plug & brake pad for our Focus, but not sure about the plug wire. I think worth to check with them, may be they can order for you.

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
ashabmy, thanks for the info....

after through checking, we found out that the coil is also spoilt....wahlau..now i ahev a BIG headache.... I think the parts in Labuan are cheaper than here cos that day , i went to Ford SC to rectify the problem, they said it spark plugs porblem so they change for it and it cost RM49.80 per pcs...i read from one of ur post is only RM25.... :)

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
What about buying aftermarket parts from spare part shops specialising in Fords.
The Focus being a "continental" car, try checking the owners manual for the spark plug code. Then drop by any spare part shop and tell them you want that plug, worse case is you need to wait a couple a day's for the part.
To me it would be cheaper to source your own parts.

There a place in Sea Park opposite 7-11 that specialises in Ford parts. MV Autospares or sumthing like that, or you can try Kam Meng Autoparts just across KFC at the traffic lights.

CHEERS

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
thanks... for the information....

driving a ford is good, the car fell good, good handling, and far far better than other but sourcing for parts is very hard thus the only way to source for them is at Ford SC but sometime, they just don give it a damn or they over price their parts.

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
Not that they don't give a damn or are they over charging you...

Just that their overhead is high and being a SC they have a retail price that they need to adhere to and procedures that they need to follow...

No harm sourcing parts yourself if it's gonna save you money in the long run...

ashabmy

Sep 11, 2005
Labuan
www.cardomain.com
evo3 said:
ashabmy, thanks for the info....

after through checking, we found out that the coil is also spoilt....wahlau..now i ahev a BIG headache.... I think the parts in Labuan are cheaper than here cos that day , i went to Ford SC to rectify the problem, they said it spark plugs porblem so they change for it and it cost RM49.80 per pcs...i read from one of ur post is only RM25.... :)
evo3,

can you get the part number & photo will be good also. send the photo to <[email protected]>. I will get Ford SC Labuan to order if you agree with the price.

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
ashabmy: thanks....i try to contact Ford SC again....if there are no answer. i will contact u.... thanks alot... :)

cheers....

** WOW!!!! just called Ford SC and they quote me RM700++ for the coil...pengsan.....they say the coil is from Ford Escape....

laserman

Dec 24, 2003
evo3 said:
ashabmy: thanks....i try to contact Ford SC again....if there are no answer. i will contact u.... thanks alot... :)

cheers....

** WOW!!!! just called Ford SC and they quote me RM700++ for the coil...pengsan.....they say the coil is from Ford Escape....
evo3,

u may try at chopshop at kg subang.. the way after terminal 3... i have seen 1 half cut there.. they might have the parts..if u not sure give me a call will direct you there.. 0193559953

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
laserman: thanks.... but i'm not from KL... :) so it quite hard for me to source for the parts so i need to know more about ford parts and where to source for it instead of going to Ford SC.... like where ford parts have similiarity with mazda parts and so on...

when i went to auto parts shop, i just ask do u have this ford parts or not...they will answer NO... hehehe ... when i say this this parts is almost the same with mazda's, can u please compare those two... Aiya..not the same la... :(

Ztec

Oct 24, 2005
evo3,

I had jerking problem at low rpm with my focus too. Same prob with 2 of my friends focus also. So i guess, its common for focus. However, I did it in FC and it cost less than rm700.

It hard to find plugs for focus. i have been to every shops in sunway and none have them.

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
Hi, Ztec .... the jerking problem on low rpm is still ok but when i bring it to Ford SC, i donno what they had done, the jerking become worse.... since they can't rectify the problem on the spot...as they keep guessing, spark plug la, coil la etc but they forgot to check the plug wire....

Did u changed the coil and how much? thanks

i bring it to one my electrician, he check it, the plug wire #4 had a very low OMP so we changed the spark plug but the jerking is still dere so he check the coil and found out that #1 is OK, #2 and #3 not enough power and #4 totally no power (mayb that why i lost to a VIOS on straight :) ) so i guess the coil is gone... :) since he say the coil is similiar to one of the mazda's and i checked it in the net, it is the same so i guess i will put in the mazda coil in.. cheaper too.. :)

for spark plug, i got the number for more common brands:

NGK PTR5A-10
Champion RES9PYPH
DENSO ITV22 (Iridium)
ITV16 (Normal)
Brisk ROR15LGS

Ztec

Oct 24, 2005
thanx evo3,

I already found someone whom can get me an iridium plug for focus.

Anyway, I duno why did FC quoted u rm700 for coil. I did the same and it cost much lesser than that. Aprox 1/3 of what u mentioned.

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
mayb they wan to "potong" me... hehehe

ashabmy

Sep 11, 2005
Labuan
www.cardomain.com
evo3/ztec,

The jerking problem is most probably due to coil problem. The mech in Ford SC here has changed it for many Focus & Escape. It's kindda common problem after certain mileage.

Suprise to hear Ford SC Kuching quoted to RM700++ for the coil & RM50 for the spark plug. Definately, they over-charged you as both parts I can get at least half of the price from Ford SC here