Federal FZ-201 - Semi Slick

jamesweh

Dec 10, 2005
Bro good stuff, seen it in a Singapore's S2000 in 18" form. I am a fan of semi slicks.

Semi slick good for track, not for every day use, especially when wet weather.....

---------- Post added at 03:04 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:03 PM ----------

Has anyone tried this tire?
Track kakis to answer this.....

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
never tried it, but someone i met tried it, he said superb grip (its on a racecar). but i nearly pengsan when i saw the threadwear rating! its 60 or 80! definitely track use only. will wear out pretty fast on the road hehehe

ftzone

full throttle zone
Feb 21, 2005
Penang, Prai
www.ftzoneracing.com
according to my track junkies friends they mentioned that Federal is better compared to R888 in the tracks.. both grip and threadwear. i am going to try these tyres pretty soon at the tracks. hopefully they are as good as claimed. otherwise S1K, MSS won't use this tyre 2 years in a row. :)

FYI, my 15" R888 after approx. 60 laps in sepang is almost out...

Sepang track should be smoother. The old Batu Tiga track really makan tyres one....

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
www.autojunctions.com
VR2: i've driven semi slicks on the road almost on a daily basis.. it's not an issue for me

---------- Post added at 12:21 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:19 AM ----------

khoyos: i need it for "orange's" rear.. it's very 'tail happy'

VR2: i've driven semi slicks on the road almost on a daily basis.. it's not an issue for me

Bro., you know your application, so no issue.
Since this is a public forum, a lot of people will reading and we have to make known and aware of all consequences.
I have members in other forum now complaint that the GY RS Sports they have, after less than half worn, already sliding in the rain....

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
bro, i think this fz-201 is more biased to circuit racing use, similar concept to yokohama advan A050, unlike some "streetable" semi slicks like r888, rt-615 or rsr...

i would recommend federal RSR, i believe it is grippy enough for any street applications. orange tail happy so use 285/35/18 hehehe...

Vr2: nothing is as bad as AD07 ;) even my semi slicks doesnt slide as bad during the rain as AD07
But some members on the AD-07 mention heavy Rain not good, but damp wet road are still okay.
I am a wet kaki so my tyres mostly Max performance or UHP, not into extreme.....:biggrin:

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
bro, i think this fz-201 is more biased to circuit racing use, similar concept to yokohama advan A050, unlike some "streetable" semi slicks like r888, rt-615 or rsr...

i would recommend federal RSR, i believe it is grippy enough for any street applications. orange tail happy so use 285/35/18 hehehe...
Bro, I was thinking of getting the RSR and I've run RT615s before so was wondering what I should expect especially in the wet if I go for the RSRs?

Some members mentioned Federal 595RS-R is quite good in the wet. But not heavy rain...

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
Some members mentioned Federal 595RS-R is quite good in the wet. But not heavy rain...
I don't expect it to cope with heavy rain. Just interested in its performance in the wet compared to the RT615s.

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
i have not tried RT615s before so i have no idea how it would fare against RSR. however, if u drive with "sanity" i'm sure the RSRs will be able to cope with any conditions u could offer.

It hapen sumwhere in oasis bangar...im a regular patron there..so 1 day i park my car there..but quite far away as. it was saturday and the car park was pack!!..i mean..wayyyy far!...had my supper n a couple of beers..then sudenly...the jockey come to men say..dude...sumbody trying to nick ur car! i felt angry and fucked up...went outside...saw tis REMPITS half body inside my car with my window's shaterres all over, i was pissed!..so me,the jockey n my frens pick up..sticks n metal...