driveshaft repair?

satbir_91

Dec 7, 2011
Hey guys, my car is already showing signs of driveshaft inner cv joint failure. I don't want to use reconditioned driveshaft or 2nd hand ones. Proton ori is a bit expensive, so I thought of sending it to a shop that can change the inner cv joint only. Does anyone know any shop within klang valley that provides this service. Please help..thank u in advance.

Well, you need to get your car check to confirm whether is only the cv joint that is faulty or is it the driveshaft. Once confirm is Cv joint then, is not that costly to replace with a new one.

If driveshaft, I wouldn't repair, I rather just change to a brand new one. Save the hassle.

Well, you need to get your car check to confirm whether is only the cv joint that is faulty or is it the driveshaft. Once confirm is Cv joint then, is not that costly to replace with a new one.

If driveshaft, I wouldn't repair, I rather just change to a brand new one. Save the hassle.
Nope, he does not want to repair in that sense, but to change. But instead of changing the whole drive shaft, he wants to change only the CV joint.
However to what I know some cars have only the CV joint, and some cars don't, so TS have to check whether his car have or not....:driver:

Nope, he does not want to repair in that sense, but to change. But instead of changing the whole drive shaft, he wants to change only the CV joint.
However to what I know some cars have only the CV joint, and some cars don't, so TS have to check whether his car have or not....:driver:
Ya that time I was told by ur friend to check 1st, if only cv joint then is cheap to replace, if driveshaft different story but need to get it check to really find out.

If can get reliable recon one will be the same. They actually change the CV joints...:driver:

Dunno wor, I no confident in reconds, that's why that time told Fong to change new.
Afraid got problem again later

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
am also interested to know where to service drive shaft..
I have changed a pair of new ones, and hoping to send my old shaft to recon...

besides... my drive shaft cost RM 8000 a pair... would love to know how much to recon and test the reliability of it... :D

my previous mechanic at prima damansara dismantled & send my DS for repair (to another place in batu caves), costs rm100 for both sides. paid him RM50 for workmanship. was using perdana twin turbo at that time.

---------- Post added at 12:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

am also interested to know where to service drive shaft..
I have changed a pair of new ones, and hoping to send my old shaft to recon...

besides... my drive shaft cost RM 8000 a pair... would love to know how much to recon and test the reliability of it... :D
wah rm8k ah...rm800 i also wanna pengsan edi :biggrin:

my previous mechanic at prima damansara dismantled & send my DS for repair (to another place in batu caves), costs rm100 for both sides. paid him RM50 for workmanship. was using perdana twin turbo at that time.

---------- Post added at 12:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

wah rm8k ah...rm800 i also wanna pengsan edi :biggrin:
RM8k ones I don't think they have spare part to repair even....

Perdana ones very common mah....:driver:

drill

Damansara
Go to setapak area and look for WAH SENG engineering shop. They can repair. Send in mornig late afternoom its ready....provided they r not tooo bz pn dat day.

Nov 5, 2018
Hi, if you want to change your CV-Joint only, you can speak to D S Auto Enterprise Sdn Bhd @ Petaling Jaya, Selangor. They do cover change, CV-joint, recond and new drive shaft.

They are a drive shaft and steering rack repair specialist and have been around for quite some time. My friend works in the company and I hope I'm not bias but from what I've heard, they're definitely one of the more trustworthy and reputable one. Plus, no harm asking.

If you are not sure if your drive shaft is having problems, they wrote an article on Top 3 drive shaft problems and how to identify it yourself. Hope that helps.

P.S. I understand that the post is old but I figured the information is still relevant and helpful to the people searching for this. Let me know if you'd like me to remove the post. Thanks!

Reactions: alcyon and Izso

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015
Thanks for the heads up. The illustrations on that website looks very professional. Will consider DS Auto If I need help in these 3 components.

Don't be conned, he's a spambot, same in LOWYAT forum
Capture.PNG

I need help ! Why the radio and the clock doesnt working?? But the fuse at the back of the radio is okay,and the fuse in the dashboard is okay,i dont know why