Diy - Ccc

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Just sprayed my engine chrome today..the color is not bad...haven't heat the engine enough to test yet. Want to let it fully dried first... :ph34r: ...

This is the original camcover...surrounded by newspaper!! :ph34r:

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Sprayed a few layers... man nei sei mei :angry: :lol: :lol:

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
End result...haven't tested yet :blink: ...crossed my finger <_<

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
got chrome meh?? in de pics to me it looks like bright silver onli... n it is not shiny also.... mayb u should take de pic on daytime where u dun use de flash..

u sure its chrome paint ah? n de surface seems not smooth enough... :blink:

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
errr... yea wor .. really looks like silver liddat only geh... but then nice man .. ^_^

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
i think i know which paint he use...

black colour long thin can with crome cap...

it doesn't really gives u shiny like crome...

but if u spray kao kao per layer... it will be more shiny.
that's wht i found out when spraying my rim's center cover.

ZephyRed

Nov 21, 2003
Sunway
looks like the aerosol can spray... silver chrome.. itz the closest u can get out fr a can.

looks nice, but dude, u gotta becareful that the pain will peel if itz not the heat resistant type of paint... even chrome peels under heat stress.

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
actually .. can it be like .. we spray the 1st few layer with heat resistance paint . .then on top of it we spray with those colors we want ?
will it still peel off ?

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
It's not the real chrome lar :P but it's nearly chrome-effect spray...i don't know how to make chrome paint also...i think need some kind of chemical process to do it :ph34r: ...ever see the engine cover of satrias featured in Traffic?? wonder how to do it also.. B)

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
yea ler.. their chrome ah.. looks like it imposible to be done with those can spray...

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
1. Sand paper with #500 grit until smooth. (Sand paper with running water)

2. Sand paper again with #1200 grit for more smooth. (sand paper with running water)

3. Spraint a layer of Primer for better paint bonding and adhesion.

4. Spraint Heat resistant silver (bought from ACE).

5. Spainted thin layers every 5~10 minutes until the whole can almost finished.

5. Finally spraint Clear lacquer for gloss finishing (also multiple thin layers every 5~10 minutes)

6. Leave it for curing for a couple of days.

Heres the finished item.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
The painting almost like mine ... :P ...i never sanded it...just sprayed after some thorough cleaning... :)

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
But mine no guarantee last long hahahaha :lol:

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Originally posted by ZephyRed@Apr 11 2005, 09:43
looks like the aerosol can spray... silver chrome.. itz the closest u can get out fr a can.

looks nice, but dude, u gotta becareful that the pain will peel if itz not the heat resistant type of paint... even chrome peels under heat stress.
[snapback]885976[/snapback]​
It's aerosol can spray hahaha :ph34r: ...bought from ACE...the brand also ACE :D

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
The cover installed back onto engine.

The pic below is finished cover with clear coat lacquer.

THe above is without clear coat.

THe clear coat dulled the silverish paint and gives it a smooth gloss finish

Zthers, I just check out this piece of muffler @ my local shop and I find it is very interesting... sorry bout the pic .. my scanner like over exposed....

When I first saw this in the ad, I quickly go and check it out then I take up and SHIT ... is so light and rather cheap.
However I discover one thing funny, its not real fiber at all, so I think it just another gimmick... but yet it look so nice I wanted o...