stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
simple solution
get a ic regulator lm7809 cost only <rm3
got 3 legs(connections) in, out, ground
just solder out -> red wire at s. tag
gnd-> black wire of s. tag (o volt or ground or car chassis)
in -> input or car battery

input range 10v ~ 30v and output is always 9v
can get the pin connections details online or pasar road sellet.
this is a simple diy..
So have u tried this?

goohtj

Dec 27, 2004
So have u tried this?
no s tag.
those using resistor is quite dangerous. resistor is used to limit current not regulate voltage
eg. if use resistor , car voltage =12.5v before start gets 9v. after start=13.5v you get 10v.
air con off car 14.5v so you get 11v . this would heat up or fry the s tag which working voltage 8.5~10v

goohtj

Dec 27, 2004
Have anybody tried using this circuit to modify 1.5v to 9v ? 1.5v to 9v INVERTER

Then you can use your standard AA or AAA battery
yes. but not economy in cost wise.
power used by s.tag = vi or voltage x current. hence reducing to 1.5v will increase by current drain.
you will be changing battery more frequently.
so no cost saving. n only the cost of the diy circuit kit $30 can buy you a few years of 9v battery...

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
yeah the ic solution is the cheapest.
I shall try it.

but i also want to try relocate the smarttag. its an eyesore on the windshield

Sent from my GT-I9100G using Tapatalk 2

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
that's why just need to relocate the receivernand transmitter. looking for a spoiled smartag unit to see the intenals before i crack open a working one

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Here is the new smart tag which is smaller. Hopefully it use less power. I am heavy smart tag user and I change battery every 3-4 months.

Care to explain the features? The improvements? :biggrin:
Wah leaked wor. But still, should have just improve the road experience, take down the tolls!

Still the same price?
They should come out with one that runs on AA.....:driver:
If AA might drain quickly leh.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
damn, this looks way better than the old one. Mine is only a year+ old after replacing the old no display one

Care to explain the features? The improvements? :biggrin:
Wah leaked wor. But still, should have just improve the road experience, take down the tolls!

If AA might drain quickly leh.
Design mah! Make one that uses less current.....:biggrin:

Introducing...... alien clean and alien wax.

alien clean

What better way to demonstrate the power of alien clean than a wheel heavily coated in brake dust!

Spray on some alien...