Discussion On Your Daily Ride

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Nowadays many cars are like that, use big diameter rims but narrow because follow fashion trend because people are too fixated on big diameter rims! Just look at the Mazda 6 2.5 with that huge 19' but only what, 7 or 7.5j width!?? See from the side, such huge rims but when see from behind, so skinny legs which are so much inside the fender, just ridiculous!

Yes about similar speed to my old CB5 or even quicker, around 8+secs 0-100 acceleration but will loose out on top speed due to shorter gearing. I think this car has surprised quite a few bigger cars on the road so far.

Yeah pity that Suzuki pulled out, and quite surprising if you see there are so many Swifts on the road actually. The new ZC33S is a giant killer with 140HP and 230NM from about the same 1 ton weight! Since it's turbocharged, so much easier also to extract more power from it. A Suzuki tuner in UK already tuned his ZC33S to almost 180hp/290NM with still more parts upgrade to come because that is still in progress! Oh btw speaking about turbo Swifts, in Jakarta there's a 400HP turbo ZC31S! Madness!
19 inch but with 225mm width for Mazda 6 I think?

Your CB5 is likely heavier but the 200cc advantage and longer gearing helps out in top speed. The ZC31S can surprise bigger cars on the road in terms of acceleration as the power to weight ratio + short gearing ratio makes it a quick in accelerating.

The new Swift even came with turbo engines for the normal versions. A lot of potential to extract power like you said. What a horrible timing for Suzuki to pull out. They announced it after their collaboration with Proton but less than a year later, Proton had been bought by Geely and I think there goes the Suzuki collaboration. Not even sure what Proton is trying to do with their Japanese partners. Few years ago, they talk about renewed technology transfer agreement with Mitsubishi but only Inspira was rebadged. Later on with Honda but that collaboration is only for the Accord. Lastly, Suzuki but only the Ertiga was released.

Ah! stability is more for the racer type, car modders etc., but for many layman tyres are tyres. Car manufacturers first thing lower cost, car better FC, comfort, so they fit what is necessary to achieve this goal......lol
Want to lower cost but still want to look good, hence stuff like these narrow 16' wheels with 185 tyres appear... FC may suffer a little bit if the tyre width is increased but I think that will also help in comfort.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Actually - the click doesn't always apply. Nissans have no click and just winds up. Anyway that's irrelevant. I need to test out my in-laws car to compare.

Come la.. we DIY remove that annoying rattle. The door panel removal process is easy and there's nothing a cable tie cannot silence.

Lastly the non-sport model Swifts are dull and long gear ratio-ed. Since only the auto is available the car feels very boxy and the short wheel base doesn't help the handling feel. Feels very Myvi-ish (1st/2nd gen). Don't like it. But as a point A to B car it's better than a Myvi 1st/2nd gen.

I doubt it'll be anywhere as good as you think it'll be. The non-sport version (I don't know how many CC is the earlier gen Swift) is so gut-less.
In my Livina, there are extra clicks for both up/down. Mark X also. In this ZC31S only downward click.

It's ok lah, not always rattle too. It's not the door panel actually but just the power window panel. The buttons maybe not so good fitment to the panel casing so sometimes may rattle just a bit but not often actually.

ZC21 is 1.5ltr 100HP with only 4 speed AT, so yeah gutless.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
19 inch but with 225mm width for Mazda 6 I think?

Your CB5 is likely heavier but the 200cc advantage and longer gearing helps out in top speed. The ZC31S can surprise bigger cars on the road in terms of acceleration as the power to weight ratio + short gearing ratio makes it a quick in accelerating.

The new Swift even came with turbo engines for the normal versions. A lot of potential to extract power like you said. What a horrible timing for Suzuki to pull out. They announced it after their collaboration with Proton but less than a year later, Proton had been bought by Geely and I think there goes the Suzuki collaboration. Not even sure what Proton is trying to do with their Japanese partners. Few years ago, they talk about renewed technology transfer agreement with Mitsubishi but only Inspira was rebadged. Later on with Honda but that collaboration is only for the Accord. Lastly, Suzuki but only the Ertiga was released.
The CB5 was about 100kg heavier and around 15hp/10nm more powerful if compared stock to stock specs. But I think now with my remap and exhaust mods, the difference should be much smaller and it might be even quicker.

Yeah I had outgunned some lansi bigger cars with this little rocket, like pre-Skyactive Mazda 6 2.5 and a CLA200.

I'm hoping some recon importer will bring some ZC33S manual here. It looks so good in dark color like black or grey.

Wow...all the fast daily driven car....I only drive a civic 1.8 and saga 1.3..sad life...

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
The CB5 was about 100kg heavier and around 15hp/10nm more powerful if compared stock to stock specs. But I think now with my remap and exhaust mods, the difference should be much smaller and it might be even quicker.

Yeah I had outgunned some lansi bigger cars with this little rocket, like pre-Skyactive Mazda 6 2.5 and a CLA200.

I'm hoping some recon importer will bring some ZC33S manual here. It looks so good in dark color like black or grey.
15hp different may not sound like much but I think the 100kg difference is quite heavy.

I'm surprised about the CLA200 as it is not a slow car with its 1.6 turbo engine.

Hopefully we will be able to see some ZC33S coming into Malaysia shores some day. Speaking of recon, did any recon importer brought in any of these ZC31S and ZC32S? I've seen ads for recon Honda Fit RS manual though.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
15hp different may not sound like much but I think the 100kg difference is quite heavy.

I'm surprised about the CLA200 as it is not a slow car with its 1.6 turbo engine.

Hopefully we will be able to see some ZC33S coming into Malaysia shores some day. Speaking of recon, did any recon importer brought in any of these ZC31S and ZC32S? I've seen ads for recon Honda Fit RS manual though.
The CLA200, probably not really slower but more because of being caught off guard more than anything else.

Not sure on ZC31S but many ZC32S were brought in by recon importers.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
The CLA200, probably not really slower but more because of being caught off guard more than anything else.

Not sure on ZC31S but many ZC32S were brought in by recon importers.
Your quick reaction and response caught the CLA200 driver unaware. Thinking it is just some ordinary Swift.

I actually wonder how cheap can they get these ZC32S for sale? Already the new car is about 100k, can the recon units still get any lower?

1.8 Civic as in B18C EG6? Even if the cars are slower, I'm quite sure the driver is more than capable to make up for that.
He's just pulling our legs. It looks like a 1.8 but it is actually a FD2R :rofl:

Wow...all the fast daily driven car....I only drive a civic 1.8 and saga 1.3..sad life...
My left hand is showing you the finger and my right hand is also showing the finger. If I had more hands I'd show you more fingers :thefinger:

Even if your car isn't fast, you are modified and that makes the car fast too. You drive a slow car fast. And by slow I mean that FD2R, the Impreza or the stripped out Saga racecar.

Reactions: sanekit

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Your quick reaction and response caught the CLA200 driver unaware. Thinking it is just some ordinary Swift.

I actually wonder how cheap can they get these ZC32S for sale? Already the new car is about 100k, can the recon units still get any lower?

He's just pulling our legs. It looks like a 1.8 but it is actually a FD2R :rofl:
Probably he was wondering why he could not get rid off this little peanut even after 180kph, then he moved over trying to check me out.

ZC32S recon was asking about 98k last year. Now used cars people are asking around 60-70k, but some can go down to 55k.

Well B18C EG6 is also bloody fast leh. But yeah I also suspect it's actually more like FD2R.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
I got some free time to write so this is it...the old W124 200.

Its long, very long and its in old man colour. Looks very handsome from the side.
The rear is not very distinctive. Some might mistaken it with a 190E.

Smartly placed safety triangle.
The boot is huge, no wonder some mafia loves to use this car till these days. It can at least fit 2 adult in there.

Interior is basic compared to today std. But bear in mind both front seats are powered adjusted. Even the headrest will go up and down by flicking a control panel at the door. Up, Down, Front, Back, Recline front, Recline back...u name it, it has that. How comfy is the seat? Its a Mercedes remember.

Seat control button. Even modern merc has this but in more elegant design.

Super simple center console. I marked the switch.Those are actual wood over there.

Lights switch. And yes, I can adjust the height of the headlight. Its vacuum operated just like the door locks.
The stalk behind the steering is for controlling the indicators and windscreen wipers.

The gear console...I did mentioned before this car will move from standstill using 2nd gear right. To get it moving on 1st gear u just need to floor it or pull the gear lever to "2" and back to D. Just smile at those surprise faces of other drivers when u do this. Powered side mirror is only on the left. For the right side, just be a man and adjust it yourself.

Not just my boy, my wife will seat at the back when we took this car out. Its spacious and comfy back here.

Fasten your seatbelt please......aircraft style. This car is not perfect. Notice the broken sunshade holder for the passenger side. Those even more attentive to detail will notice the small sunshade just in case the sun manage to glare your eyes by using the gap between the rear view mirror and the top of the windscreen.

This meter panel is taken from different variant of W124 so not all function is used. The fuel gauge is renamed as the 'haunted' gauge. Its because of how quick it drop and how it dances after a high speed run. BTW if the surrounding is quiet enough u can hear the analogue clock ticking.

A sight W124 owners will see most frequently.
Notice the Merc Logo at the fuel cap....attention to detail.

Remember the small key thing I told in previous post? This is it. so far I cant find what is it actually for.

The heart of this barge. Nothing special, just not frugal.

Some German class needed here....

Nope, its not AMG wheel. Its AMB and its made in Germany. Could not find more. BTW the car wheel arch and undercarriage was painted using underseal long time ago. A DIY job which took 1 week. All 4 corners are on solid steel disc brake which is never enough and convincing as the car is very heavy.

I will keep this car for another 2 weeks before I retake my Waja. I like this car, its not obvious but majestic in a subtle way.
This barge can go fast but it does not like sudden input. U have to feed the steering input gently to appreciate the smooth ride even at speed.
If u rush the input the body roll will makes you back off immediately. Why I don't want to keep it longer?
The fc is bad with my driving style...I just cant help it, the car has so much torque. I am getting about 7km/l..Ouch.

Next I will discuss about one of the below rides in the picture below....the 2 wheelers is included.

can anyone explain how to change form carb to injection. what need to mod and change. i want to restore my engine. Ford Escort Engine..

dont tell me to change the engine..hhaha...