Comfort Tyre

chokia15

Oct 4, 2012
Kuching
Dear ZTH sifu,

I am looking for a comfortable daily drive tyre size 205/45/16. What tyre should I be looking at? Are continental CM5 good? :confused:

Thanks in advance.

dkny

Jul 1, 2013
Conti - MC5 I think u referring.
Btw, 205/45R16 is low profile tyre which wont give u comfort ride, unless u change to 195/55R16 or 205/55R16.

Bro. dkny, 205/45R16 to 195/55R16 is over 5% difference in overall diameter and to 205/55R16 is almost 7% difference woh! Can use?

---------- Post added at 07:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:06 PM ----------

Dear ZTH sifu,

I am looking for a comfortable daily drive tyre size 205/45/16. What tyre should I be looking at? Are continental CM5 good? :confused:

Thanks in advance.
What is the original tyre size of your car? Like what bro. dkny mentioned using 45 series aspect ratio you will not have much comfort difference in whatever tyres you use. Changing to higher aspect ratio will be better, but need to know your original tyre size.:driver:

dkny

Jul 1, 2013
According to OEM(mostly), 3%-5% different of overall diameter from OEM is acceptable, unless if u using TPMS, or Run-flat tyre.
In Chokia case, I believe second scenarios is not applicable for him.

Anyhow, Chokia, since u didn't mention your car model, I assume it was Satria Neo.

According to OEM(mostly), 3%-5% different of overall diameter from OEM is acceptable, unless if u using TPMS, or Run-flat tyre.
In Chokia case, I believe second scenarios is not applicable for him.

Anyhow, Chokia, since u didn't mention your car model, I assume it was Satria Neo.
Most website I read, they recommend up to 3% only.
Most forum I read also recommend up to 3% only.

This is from GY website
To a car owner, knowing he biggest wheel size that can fit into a vehicle is very important. There is a simple rule, which is the upgraded wheel's diameter should not be larger than 3% of the original.

chokia15

Oct 4, 2012
Kuching
Dear ZTH sifu,

Yes. Typo error :biggrin:

What is the original tyre size of your car? Like what bro. dkny mentioned using 45 series aspect ratio you will not have much comfort difference in whatever tyres you use. Changing to higher aspect ratio will be better, but need to know your original tyre size
I'm driving honda civic eg. Not sure bout the oem tyre size :confused: So what tyre size should I change to? Is it better to have 15" :confused:

Thanks for all the response :proud::biggrin:

I'm driving honda civic eg. Not sure bout the oem tyre size :confused: So what tyre size should I change to? Is it better to have 15" :confused:

Thanks for all the response :proud::biggrin:
If you already have 16" rims, then keep to it. No point changing as you have to foot more out for 15" rims.
On 205/45R16, if you want comfort then Yokohama C-Drive 2 will be okay. Price posted around RM260 each. If want performance Michelin PS3 but those are about RM400 each.
If want budget tyres, then Achilles ATR Sports, I think below RM200.....:driver:

205/55/16
But not much choice.

Not sure abt the % things as all my car are on stock size.
Stock size no issues. Is when you want to go to a smaller or bigger size than the stock size then the % is important to take note.

Never exceed 3% then u r safe. Above that is your own risk to take.

chokia15

Oct 4, 2012
Kuching
On 205/45R16, if you want comfort then Yokohama C-Drive 2 will be okay. Price posted around RM260 each. If want performance Michelin PS3 but those are about RM400 each.
Thanks Bro vr2turbo for the info :driver:

So Yoko SD2 will be better than conti MC5 and Falken ze912 :confused:

---------- Post added at 01:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:39 PM ----------

Went tyre shop just now but they dont have Yokohama C-Drive 2 :banghead: Then the boss recommend Yokohama A-Drive R1. Any Good :confused:

pay extra for PS3.. u wont regret it. comfort + performance.
What about Yoko Advan DB? seems not cheap too and is quiet and comfortable claim by many

205/55/16
But not much choice.

Not sure abt the % things as all my car are on stock size.
205/55R16 got plenty of choices. Very common size, even OEM uses this size.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 03:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:06 PM ----------

Thanks Bro vr2turbo for the info :driver:

So Yoko SD2 will be better than conti MC5 and Falken ze912 :confused:

---------- Post added at 01:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:39 PM ----------

Went tyre shop just now but they dont have Yokohama C-Drive 2 :banghead: Then the boss recommend Yokohama A-Drive R1. Any Good :confused:
Is CD2 not SD2. S-Drive is another category loh.
MC5 and ZE-912 have some complaints already. If want Continental, then CPC2 will be better.

A-Drive R1 are directional. Good for durability but may be noisy.

---------- Post added at 03:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:10 PM ----------

What about Yoko Advan DB? seems not cheap too and is quiet and comfortable claim by many
Advan db V551 do not have in 205/45R16 size.....

---------- Post added at 03:14 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:12 PM ----------

pay extra for PS3.. u wont regret it. comfort + performance.
But price almost 50% more per tyre. Performance sure good loh.....:driver:

chokia15

Oct 4, 2012
Kuching
205/55R16 got plenty of choices. Very common size, even OEM uses this size.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 03:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:06 PM ----------

Is CD2 not SD2. S-Drive is another category loh.
MC5 and ZE-912 have some complaints already. If want Continental, then CPC2 will be better.

A-Drive R1 are directional. Good for durability but may be noisy.

---------- Post added at 03:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:10 PM ----------

Advan db V551 do not have in 205/45R16 size.....

---------- Post added at 03:14 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:12 PM ----------

But price almost 50% more per tyre. Performance sure good loh.....:driver:
Opps typo error again :biggrin:

What's the price for A-Drive R1 :confused: I'm from Kuching Sarawak and the quoted price I got for A-Drive R1 are RM300, Falken Ze912 RM240 and Conti MC5 RM330 :bawling:

Newbie here.....
wanted to ask can Satria GTI old satria model brake modification.....
Can R32 skyline brake caliper front 4 pot and rear 2 pot(with drum) able to mod into it ?
or any suggestion sifu