changing meter cluster to 01' facelift meter cluster

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
Hi all altezza sifu,

Want to ask if anyone here with 1998~2000 model (auto) which changed the meter cluster to the 2001 model ? (with Black km/h center ring) ?

I tried replacing '01 model meter cluster to my 2000 model. All gauges are working fine (km/h, rpm, water temp, etc...) and all indicator & the digital odo/trip readings working fine...
EXCEPT the back-light doesn't light up when I switched on park/driving light.

I noticed the connector at the back are diff ... what or how to mod so that
this cluster will work (i.e. backlight will on) ??

year '99~'00 meter cluster back connector
4 Pins on top row.

Year '01 facelift meter cluster back connector
3 pins on top row & 2 pin at bottom

The connector from wiring-side clipped nicely into both.

ANYONE has a nice wiring diagram on these connections pls share....:adore:

porosaki

Sep 16, 2004
the 01 has a dimmer switch...

the only person i know did it but he's manual is MARTIN!

the other is Steven taiko...but he change the whole wiring in the center console.

davidgm16

Dec 20, 2005
huh.. dimmer switch? i can't find it in my car though.. where is it?

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
this one, see the smallknob behind the there -->

mine also gone, infact only left a hole there..

keithkeat

Jan 6, 2005
kapateS
fuuu....mike oh mike.....i know what happen.......:rofl:

Z_Edition

Aug 11, 2006
the dimmer switch is an option for the 'Tezza...

TopSecret

Nov 25, 2003
bro. i have try b4, but failed then my mechanic did some modification then the dimmer and the backlight also working already.

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
TopSecret,
your mech tapped the power-source from the dimmer wiring ??
where ur location ? mech ? can intro ??
err... if can view the behind wiring, i can DIY one..

TopSecret

Nov 25, 2003
sorry bro, the mech not local guy he is from s'pore. i did it long time oledi 2 yrs back

Please teach me how to modify all types of car including :
a)engine
b)suspension
c)tyres
d)aerodynamics

Please also tell me where to get those part with reasonable price...
Thank you..