Change of tyre size

Zeroshift

Oct 19, 2004
This Dunlop is almost 2kg lighter than the GY, that's a lot of weight saving just for tires alone!
I think can try asking around Continental shops then, hopefully they don't only offer local Dunlops. I got a Mark X guy who knows a Dunlop importer. Later I'll try contact him when I need to buy.
Wow...2kg lighter per tyre is quite a lot of weight saving....

But how is dunlop pricing? is it within the 400 range for 17inch?

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Eh let me know when you go to him. Maybe I can help reduce the price by buying also? Group buy!
Sure, but I still have like about 10k kms to go on my current tires though.

---------- Post added at 12:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

Wow...2kg lighter per tyre is quite a lot of weight saving....

But how is dunlop pricing? is it within the 400 range for 17inch?
Yeap, that's why I'm now interested in that tire. With my current rims, total weight saving per corner can come up to about 4-5kg!

Pricing though I have no idea! :biggrin: Usually at least still cheaper than Michelin or BS.

Yeap, that's why I'm now interested in that tire. With my current rims, total weight saving per corner can come up to about 4-5kg!

Pricing though I have no idea! :biggrin: Usually at least still cheaper than Michelin or BS.
Dunlop also branded so may not be cheap, however BS seems to have lowered their price for RE-003

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Dunlop also branded so may not be cheap, however BS seems to have lowered their price for RE-003
Yeah, I don't expect it to be as cheap as GT Radial but hopefully still cheaper than Michelin or BS, maybe similar pricing to my GY.

Sure, but I still have like about 10k kms to go on my current tires though.

---------- Post added at 12:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

Dunlops aren't made in Malaysia meh? I thought they were bought over by Continental?

And I'm not in a rush to get those tyres either. I have about the same amount of distance to cover minimally on my tyres. Just remember me when you do need to change though!

Dunlops aren't made in Malaysia meh? I thought they were bought over by Continental?

And I'm not in a rush to get those tyres either. I have about the same amount of distance to cover minimally on my tyres. Just remember me when you do need to change though!
Dunlop have local and import. The New D05 and J5 are made locally by Continental. Dunlop in Japan owned by Sumitomo and those Sports Maxx are made by them.
North America and Europe, Dunlop owned by Goodyear.....:smokin:

Don't think they have been release in Malaysia, but may have been brought in by parallel importers....

Hi Sifu's,

would like to check, i'm thinking to change my tyre size from 215/50R17 to 215/45R17, but according to the recommended size change, the new size would be more than >3% difference, so will there be any bad effect except for like speedo inaccurancy?

215/45R17 is much easier to find and cheaper by a lot...so thinking to change to this size only if its recommended..
i wouldnt call it bad effect...the worst just your speedo will be under reading like speedo shows 110km/h meanwhile actual speed just around 100km/h which is good to avoid speed trap

if want it to be closer to 3% rules, u need to increase the width... 235/45-17 will be the closest to stock tyre...but rim width might be an issue (need atleast 7.5" wide rim of best 8" wide rim)

i would suggest 225/45-17..it will be compromise between tyre width and overall diameter compared to stock tyre size....

Zeroshift

Oct 19, 2004
In the end i just change back to the same 215/50/17. Since the price is similar with 225/45/17...

---------- Post added at 02:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

In the end i just change back to the same 215/50/17. Since the price is similar with 225/45/17...

Thanks for the feedback bro..

Some sizes not meant to be changed. Either becomes too low or the rims not wide enough. Another size is like 185/55 R16. Change to 195/50R16 too small, 195/55R16 too big, 205/50R16 diameter ok, but original rims too narrow.....:banghead:

Zeroshift

Oct 19, 2004
Some sizes not meant to be changed. Either becomes too low or the rims not wide enough. Another size is like 185/55 R16. Change to 195/50R16 too small, 195/55R16 too big, 205/50R16 diameter ok, but original rims too narrow.....:banghead:
Ya..that why change back the same size..looks weird when change to smaller size...