Cefiro A32 Gearbox Problem - Slow Engage

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
Looks like the Nissan logo actually costs RM10/pc extra, for the extra assuramce on the quality maybe?

The engine knocking occurs both before and after the oil change and spark plug change. It occurs during slow down when approaching full stop, when the brake is pressed. It also occurs when the brake is pressed while the gear is in D. When switch to N, no more knocking... Strange....

My brake fluid is actually on the low side. But he mechanic told me that there's an indicator on the dash, the fluid goes down becos brake pad is worn. After replace, it'll go up again...

wah

Nov 15, 2005
Hmm... expensive ler, I thinking of getting NGK Iridium Max BKR7EIX-11PS, dun knw how much will cost me.
I'm using Castrol Edge 10/60 engine oil and Shell Synthetic ATF IIIG, no problem wuo...

Bump: Hmm... expensive ler, I thinking of getting NGK Iridium Max BKR7EIX-11PS, dun knw how much will cost me.
I'm using Castrol Edge 10/60 engine oil and Shell Synthetic ATF IIIG, no problem wuo...

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
Hi guys, what is the grade of engine oil suitable for 10 years cefiro? 20/50? The engine oil should be more thick since 10 years car already?

i used bardahl 10w40, pickup good, hot day no lag :driver:

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
If ur engine has oil leak do not use synthetic oil or thin oil. The leak will get worse although the pick up is better.

polaris

Aug 7, 2008
thanks guys. So better dont use synthetic oil for more than 10 years car....

Bump: thanks guys. So better dont use synthetic oil for more than 10 years car....

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
Leaking or not? BTW how's ur manual g/box . how fast is ur 1/4 mile when using ur MT? Any problem so far?
no omre leaking. never test speed b4.

about fc...

b4 cny 1/2 can go 500km (80 hw 20 city)

now till E (no light on) in city drive only 600km + - :hmmmm:

power same.. may be engine oil dirty... if fuel filter dirty also effected?

Last edited by a moderator:
Feb 19, 2012
Klang, Selangor
Hi all...

My Cefiro A32 30GV lately having some gearbox issues. Previously, when push the stick to D, gear will engage immediately but lately it wont. Sometimes it'll take 2~3 seconds to engage (move) and during engage, there's a loud "kong" sound from gearbox/engine.

I have learnt that whenever the engine is cold, the problem will be there. So, normally i push to 2, after engaged gear and moving for say 10m or so, then only switch back to D.

So.. sifus, does this mean that the gearbox is time for an overhaul? or is it some other minor problems or sensors that causing these problem?

Anyone done overhaul gearbox b4? How much is the cost? Will it be better if just get a used gearbox from the junk yard?

Opnions and feedback appreciated!!
I suggest u that just change ur car to nissan cefiro a31 Rb20det or just change the whole engine to H22A (Big V-Tec).. Not very good in A.T if we dont take care... M.T is good coz if we use to after 10years or 20years still no problem at all.. Trust me, u will never regret.. I'm using Nissan Cefiro A31 RB25Det> RB25DE(Turbo)(Manual). :driver::biggrin::biggrin:

Shell Helix recently announced its four Grand Prize Winners of the “Shell Helix Ferrari Adventure Challenge” held at Jalan Telawi 3, Bangsar Baru. The four Grand Prize Winners were rewarded with an all-expense paid trip to Maranello, Italy, the home of Ferrari from 18 to 19 November 2010...