Car & Name. Do they make any differences?

ken yeang

Car manufacturer always the "best" names to their product. The Car.

Some cars' name gives aggressive impression, wow factor, macho, performance, " R", etc such as Dodge Viper, GTR, LandRover Defender, Mazda Fighter,
Some cars' name given based on Codes -AE86, Ta22, M30,
Some cars' name given based on Acronym - NSX, MR2, GT40
Some cars' name based on word that is made-up -Mazda Bongo, Savvy, SsangYong Actyon

From your knowledge, what name of car lives up to your expectation
and which car name is a total disaster or plain stupid?

Toyota Supra, Altezza, Soarer, Nissan Skyline, NSX, 3000GT, and too much to list meets up to my expectation.

Worse car name and make....needless to say is the Proton Tiara and the coffin car Proton Juara also not to forget proton Savvy and Renault kangoo :banghead:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
I'll probably say the old Lexus related Toyota model names are quite good. Altezza, Aristo, Celsior, Soarer, Windom, Harrier...

Bad names? Maybe you can do some research about many recent Chinese cars from China....

Waiora_ProTuner

Nov 29, 2006
Tiara and Juara is quite a good name..it have some meaning..

Volkswagen The Thing
Jaguar Vanden Plas
Renault Le Car
Fairthrope Electron
Argyll Turbospeed
Zhejiang UFO
Chery QQ
Honda Civic

Ya Tiara is a and Juara is a good name but doesnt blend well with the car that they name with it.
Honda Civic is a good name though.

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
The best name for you may not be the best name for me. Italian car maker Lancia, which has a very distinctive record in rallying, has a name that sounds quite not right for the Chinese -- phonetically means penis. Would you like to drive a penis?

Nissan BlueBird....BlueBird in Hokkien....Nissan LanJiao
I think Perodua cars name is also not nice one....name after animals....mainly the Kancil, Kenari, Kelisa, Rusa, Wonder when will have Gajah...Also the Toyota Unser...unsure...Kijang...again animal....

More like Toyota uncle....LOL mostly uncles driving.

Nissan BlueBird....BlueBird in Hokkien....Nissan LanJiao
I think Perodua cars name is also not nice one....name after animals....mainly the Kancil, Kenari, Kelisa, Rusa, Wonder when will have Gajah...Also the Toyota Unser...unsure...Kijang...again animal....
Gajah? when the Perodua Big MPV comes out.....:rofl::rofl:

Mercedes and BMW has the best naming conventions (I feel).

Exxx or 5xx, the first alphabet denotes the model, and the numbers behind the displacement (but now its more of an indication of the displacement output, since small displacement with turbo came into the picture).

It is short, easy to understand, easy to communicate to others, and it has a long lineage. Both BMW and Mercedes makes it easy to refer to a specific model year, with model numbers i.e. E60, W212 etc.

Stupid names are like Proton Preve, it cannot be spelled out, cannot be typed out unless you take the time to figure out how to type the styled e (which I did not). Suprima S is another stupid name. What is the S for? There's no Suprima, then what is the Suprima S? VW didn't call their normal Golf as Golf R. R stood for something, not just adding silly letters to the name and make it look canggih. Kepala otak only canggih to you.

I agree names like Tiara and Juara is good. Saga, Wira, I have no qualms. Arena had a nice ring to it. Inspira is also a good name. Savvy..omg bodoh name.

Perodua names were stupid as well with the animals. If they made a full size MPV maybe they call it Gajah, Gergasi or Paus. Thank god new names like Myvi, Alza, Nautica..sounds good, modern.

Companies like Ferrari, Lambo can afford to go with more fancy names because they have smaller range of cars, and less general models, and each special/limited model is, well, limited.. its a different type of market they address.