Brake Improvement...How la..?

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
My car not powerful.:sad_smile:

But i want improve braking nonetheless since i like to drive fast and safety is priority.:shades_smile:

So... which u suggest in terms of money:

1. Add a rear disc brake.

or

2. Change brake hose to braided and use good brake pads?

im driving Honda City Type Z 2001... 1.5 jer...

if ur answer is 1, where can i find the rear disc brake? can a civic EG or EK rear disc brake fit mine?

and of course, how much is those things cost:
1. Disc brake set
2. Braided Hose+Good pads.

THanks!

nksc

Mar 21, 2006
by only using good brake pads with stock calliper is it enuff to improve braking performance?? my car both front and rear fitted with disc brakes(stock) but still not good enuff la for me coz like doncity i like to drive fast too..changing bigger callipers need money..=(

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
nksc.. is that ur car a silvia s14?

i want to diy the braided hose (found the diy area).. since my car is old.. i guess will improve a bit (hose wont expand when braking)...but adding a rear disc brake will sure improve more right?

how much is the rear disc brake? wer can find la..?

Coltrain

Oct 16, 2005
1. Change bigger brake pump
2. Peformance brake pad
3. Bigger rotors
4. Braided Hose

try change ur brake pump,u can feel alot different...

nksc

Mar 21, 2006
donCityZ said:
nksc.. is that ur car a silvia s14?

i want to diy the braided hose (found the diy area).. since my car is old.. i guess will improve a bit (hose wont expand when braking)...but adding a rear disc brake will sure improve more right?

how much is the rear disc brake? wer can find la..?
dat is not silvia s14..my avatar pic is integra type r db8..but my car is sir-g db8 only..
want to mod my car but now not enuff money..:cry_smile:

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
Coltrain said:
1. Change bigger brake pump
2. Peformance brake pad
3. Bigger rotors
4. Braided Hose

try change ur brake pump,u can feel alot different...
5. Bigger Caliper as well. the piston inside must be big.........

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
so compare to those upgrades and add a rear disc brake.. which is cheaper?

u guys hv any idea how much is rear disc brake set + install?

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
nksc said:
dat is not silvia s14..my avatar pic is integra type r db8..but my car is sir-g db8 only..
want to mod my car but now not enuff money..:cry_smile:
that's DC2, DB8 is with 4 doors.

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
if your car is stock, just change better brake pad will be sufficient and skim the disc if its not even.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
evoX2,
d avatar..it is a 4door Integra aka DB8 lar....ehehee...
hey,wat abt changing car?ahhahahahahaha...sorry.just cant help it

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
ooppsss...my eye sight real bad....haha, havent notice its 4 door...

bornzreign

try crossdrilled first...can feel the difference and its affordable

braided hose + cross drilled + later if still not enuff = buy 6 pot brembohhh..huhuhu

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
crossdrilled improves braking??? I'd thought that with less surface for the pads to bite, it's reduced?

In terms of performance, crossdrilled discs are only to provide extra cooling to prevent fade on long use.

Anyway.. there's a limit to disc brakes.. If you use normal tires, you'll lock up the tires too easily instead of slowing down... esp. when you start talking about 6 pot calipers, with high bite pads, and big rotors. Even with just stock pads, I can lock up any normal tires on the stock EK9 calipers and rotors (on my EH2).

Tyres play a major role in stopping the car when you start running bigger rotors on a lightweight chassis like the EF/EG/EK hatches... Then you'd see why people pay through the nose for semi-slicks. (O_o)..

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
donCityZ said:
My car not powerful.:sad_smile:

But i want improve braking nonetheless since i like to drive fast and safety is priority.:shades_smile:

So... which u suggest in terms of money:

1. Add a rear disc brake.

or

2. Change brake hose to braided and use good brake pads?

im driving Honda City Type Z 2001... 1.5 jer...

if ur answer is 1, where can i find the rear disc brake? can a civic EG or EK rear disc brake fit mine?

and of course, how much is those things cost:
1. Disc brake set
2. Braided Hose+Good pads.

THanks!
Donz.. not familiar with the City Z.. how about some photoes of the under carriage? At least some guys here might have ideas on whether it's even moddable or not.

Braided hoses are kinda a bit expensive for the minor improvement in braking they give.. I think brake stoppers (I think that's the name, it's a part that holds the master pump so it doesn't move) does a better job than simply installing braided lines.

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
ya la.. City Z not so popular for modding in Malaysia..

most of things need to custom. thats why most thing i DIY only.

so i guess im gonna DIY braided hose first. then must find kedai
potong for the rear disc brakes.. i knew that City Z VTEC version have
a rear disc brake.. (mine is none VTEC).

Just sharing my experience...

MY car got broken into TWICE.

First time: Bangsar. I parked in front of the POS LAJU, under the street lights on christmas eve. I believe there were thousands of ppl around ,yet those pricks managed to break my driver window and stole my player, AFC,boost and egt meters. They even tried to take my seat, as they tried to remove the bolts!

Second time was when the uncivilized pricks broke into my car while it was safely parked inside the compound of my house...