Brake Caliper upgrade

zNiPeR

May 23, 2006
4x114.3....96 spec...i think to mod 5x114.3 to 4x100 would be troublesome rite?

mADmAN

if thats the case ur better off getting the BB1... bigger rotor.. bigger caliper... bigger brake pad... bigger bite....just need to redrill rotor to 4x100...i asked my mechanic n its about RM600 thereabouts...even when i buy brake pads for my BB1 i dont ask for BB1 pads.. i ask for EK9 pads..theyre the same.

getting the DC2-R parts no matter wat year spec is gonna be expensive... why? because "Type R"

zNiPeR

May 23, 2006
thanx bro madman...will try 2 search for bb1 caliper & rotor now...heheh

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
I'm also thinking of using BB1/BB4 front brakes. Leave the rear brakes as it is. Just change the pads.

Or I'll use Nissan brakes for front if my rim permits and leave the rear as it is.

Need to check with my mechanic whether can use Nissan with my rims.

How many piston for BB4 brakes?

zNiPeR

May 23, 2006
if not mistaken bb1/bb4 caliper is single pot but bigger contact area if compared with b16a caliper

mADmAN

honda are bloody kedekut bastards....

ALL their cars uses single pot calipers...except for the NSX which is twinpot...

NSX, their top of the line super car is only using twin pot...sigh

nissan oso has 4 pots on their mid range (silvia) and top range (skyline) cars... *facepalm*

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
honda are bloody kedekut bastards....

ALL their cars uses single pot calipers...except for the NSX which is twinpot...

NSX, their top of the line super car is only using twin pot...sigh

nissan oso has 4 pots on their mid range (silvia) and top range (skyline) cars... *facepalm*

Not that kedekut larr....hehe

DC5 & FD2R using 4pot....

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD

mADmAN

Not that kedekut larr....hehe

DC5 & FD2R using 4pot....
whoops...i meant the ones before those cars... the brembo-equipped ones doesnt count hehehehhe

but basically they dont have their own in-house 4pots unlike other brands

beelzebub

guys....does anybody know if the vr4/evo3 4 lug 114.3 twin pot calipers clear 15' rims?

Anybody tried to retrofit this before?

TheSquee

Jul 22, 2010
Hey guys I upgraded to bb1 brakes

The master pump I using the original one

But somehow when I rev ( drive ) the car then I tap the brake the level I need to press for it to start braking is normal

After I keep using the brakes without accelerating again the brake pedal needs to be depress a bit lower than before

Why ?

newuy

Jun 19, 2006
bro...did u bleed the brake system?
ur hoses is normal or steel-braided?

mADmAN

guys....does anybody know if the vr4/evo3 4 lug 114.3 twin pot calipers clear 15' rims?

Anybody tried to retrofit this before?
yes clears... but still depends on offset iirc...had a friend with VR4 twinpots under 15"

a singaporean dood with an EG hatch fitted it to his car..also running 15"

BUT... he mentioned his rotors are 286mm though after searching, EVO3 is actually 272mm or something like that...

you only need to skim the calipers a little. but mine are so close to the rims, even the balancers on the wheels have to be moved inside the rims more. but i'm super happy with the look and performance of it. i was using prelude 282s on my old eg9 with brembo max rotors, and this beats that hands down.

evo3 286mm rotors + 2pot calipers + project MU brake pads = budget man's effective BBK
source (requires registration)

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
Hmmm..he did mention he's current setup is using Project Mu Brake pads, that is serious stuff...Did he use the same brand in his previous setup? If not, than no use comparing..

Dear sifu,

After I install the central locking, my door lamp function when door open. Door lamp cannot function when i switch on... central lock is ok... Do my wiring got problem? because 4 wire i only use and 1 white wire no use...

please help me.. dear sifu...