BMW SR20DET\Convert JAP FORUM HERE!!

DmC

Hi Guys,
I was just wondering... Are there anyone using e28 with Jap heart in this thread?

orangebmw

Sep 11, 2005
PERLIS
i have no problem with this engine..just hard to change engine parts because rb20 is too long for e30 engine bay..sr20 will fit nicely...my car was endorsed by jpj..previous owner done that..i buy with complete rb20 engine and jpj approved..no problem at all...this engine sounds like m50 engine..some of beemer lover thought that i've converted to m50 engine..but it's rb20de inside...just n/a engine but enough power to handled this e30...so if anyone want to convert japs engine..i suggest sr20 is better than rb20...but more expensive..sr20 is more economical than rb20..

orangebmw

Sep 11, 2005
PERLIS
to fardell83...dont "cucuk" la..these guys want to have an easy way to get more power with low cost..i know that bmw engine is more powerful but more cost..u go and find this asia pacific area and australia like to convert beemer to japs engine..the video that u give to me is in europe..i think it is in germany..no wonder la if germany because bmw is made in germany...easy to find part..low cost..no tax..many tuner...
here in malaysia we have to buy imported part to make the beemer go faster n powerful...we all want to have a powerful beemer engine m3/m5 but can u find me a m3 h/cut with same price as rb20/sr20?

DmC

Guys,
I was wondering, what JAP engine best fits e28?
& also how much would the total cost inclusive labour be?

fardell83

Nov 8, 2005
Understood bro orange.....

drag_addict

May 5, 2006
its good laa for u mr fardell to be a bimmer hardcore..i bet it goes to most of us here as well..but like mr orange said,we wanted easy way with more power and less cost..of coz we'd love to get M3 hearts if the price is not much different than these japs engines..numsayin' bro?..

orangebmw

Sep 11, 2005
PERLIS
bro DmC..rb20det or rb25det fits to e28..u also can try 1jz or 2jz..
about the cost..it is depends on your mechanic and halfcut..if rb20det i think about 5-7k only...labour cost only 2k

DmC

rb20det cost RM5k - RM7k?
Damn.. i wonder how much does a rb25det, 1jz or 2jz wil costs..
I wanted to do an engine transplant.. looking for some alternatives that will provide more power than 3.5L BMW engine.
Thanks orangebmw.. Appreciate the info..

mopreme

Jan 9, 2007
just want to add.
kerb weight is also a critical in converting power issues.
many jap cars are lighter compare with the big 7 series.

drag_addict

May 5, 2006
I wanted to do an engine transplant.. looking for some alternatives that will provide more power than 3.5L BMW engine.
I got my rb25det halfcut bout 2 years back for rm3.2k,but auto tranny lah from one of subang's chop shop....as for manual ones i think should set u back somewhere in the region of 5k-6k++..correct me if im wrong,but isn't rb20det less than 5k?..

D16power

May 27, 2005
wif 5-7k u can get a quite performance parts loaded manual rb25det h/cut. and i think 1jz or rb20det is around 2.5-4k only.