Blacktop clocking in at 180 000+km,rebuild soon?

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
ipoh oso can.. car already 1 1/2 year long term parking... pm sry hijack tread bos
If in Ipoh, perhaps you can try go to a shop called Khings Garage at Menglembu Industry area. Located near KFC. A friend who often goes there told me that that shop specializes in Toyota cars. From what I saw in their Facebook page, they seemed to do a lot of servicing, modding and engine transplant for 4A-GE engines. Occasionally when I pass by that shop, I saw a lot of old Corolla parked inside and outside of that shop.

X3nonz

Nov 26, 2014
Cheras
Okay,I'll need confirmation for the questions listed below:

1:Is 180000km on a 4age considered a high mileage engine?How many km will it last before it requires a full overhaul?Hope i can get a rough quote from experienced owners from this thread.By rebuilding I'll do it all at once with valvetrain and cams when all things are set(cooling,drivetrain,footwork on par)which is a long way to go.For now I will steer clear from power upgrades.

2:Any recommendation workshops in or within KL?

3:Any known issues with the 4age blacktop(engine wise,aside from chassis),what to watch out for and to be aware of.

hope I can get my answers so I'm able to make my next move.waiting for the green light.thanks Pardon me if I misled
visitors cause of the word.I'll be more careful next time.

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
Im interested with this topic. Hi everyone. Long since i login zth.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012

1:Is 180000km on a 4age considered a high mileage engine?How many km will it last before it requires a full overhaul?Hope i can get a rough quote from experienced owners from this thread.By rebuilding I'll do it all at once with valvetrain and cams when all things are set(cooling,drivetrain,footwork on par)which is a long way to go.For now I will steer clear from power upgrades.

3:Any known issues with the 4age blacktop(engine wise,aside from chassis),what to watch out for and to be aware of.

hope I can get my answers so I'm able to make my next move.waiting for the green light.thanks Pardon me if I misled
For a 20 year old engine, clocking at 180 000 km is considered as average. Normally for a 20 year old engine, most of them have probably clocked over 200k km, some probably nearing 300k km.

For problems, I haven't heard of many. But mostly what I have heard of seems to be sensor related problems.

Im interested with this topic. Hi everyone. Long since i login zth.
You are from Japan?

Sorry man, I'm not a 4AGE owner but I have a 2010 car that has reached 160,000km already. Your 180,000km is nothing much la. But as a used engine - generally speaking since you don't know the history it's probably a good idea to do a full overhaul. Do your power mods one shot, don't wait until this and that is done before modding. PNP, oversized pistons, forged everything, these are all the internals. Change them all together with your overhaul. I remember seeing your budget to be 20k, that's waaaaay more than enough to do mods and overhaul the engine. You'll need to spend some money on the chassis and suspension. Eg - arms, crossmember bushings, rack bushings, suspension, etc may need changing for super old cars like this.

GT Auto Sunway is one shop I trust to do mods. Trial tuning specializes in 4AGEs I think. Worth researching them online before you go to them.

My 2 cents

hon_cs

Jan 23, 2004

6yrs back when i was in corolla scene, there were so many 4age sifu in Zth. I think most toyota enthusiasts here had gone in the wind. Back to your question, if engine still not eating oil, plug is clean no oil, valve cover no oil leaking, whp still around 130-145 basically can ignore overhaul.

4age is just like any NA engine. if you din't go for track, as long as use full sync oil is fine. Owned the car for 2yrs and it was my daily drive to work, family outing, travel ipoh kl multiple times. So far no major issue. Mine was 6spd and it got synchro problem from gear 1 to 2 during cold drive. Swapped another 6spd. That's common issue. If i still recall minor issue like map sensor kaput, O2 sensor kaput, and ecu component fried(common issue). One Zth toyota taiko know how to repair instead of buying from halfcut.

As for workshop, famous one like kegani and trial tuning(if not mistaken very less 4age kaki go there anymore). Mine always service at puchong ah wai. Also specialist in all sort of toyota.

X3nonz

Nov 26, 2014
Cheras
Trial tuning spirits,the one with the red zzt 231 with a SC rite?featured in Gran turismo 4 and straight from japan?

shem_lexluger

Dec 29, 2009
Subang Jaya
One Zth toyota taiko know how to repair instead of buying from halfcut.

As for workshop, famous one like kegani and trial tuning(if not mistaken very less 4age kaki go there anymore). Mine always service at puchong ah wai. Also specialist in all sort of toyota.
I could vouch for the legendary ECU refurbishing taiko that goes by the id levin818 in this forum. Very nice guy.

Also went a couple of times to Kegani for servicing and part upgrades. I am satisfied with their services.

Finally, I made my engine transplant at Ah Wai Puchong. I would say they have good engine transplant knowledge but wiring/electrical skill are average. And then the car was sent to another nearby shop for aircond works, the work quality of that shop was also just average.

I could vouch for the legendary ECU refurbishing taiko that goes by the id levin818 in this forum. Very nice guy.

Also went a couple of times to Kegani for servicing and part upgrades. I am satisfied with their services.

Finally, I made my engine transplant at Ah Wai Puchong. I would say they have good engine transplant knowledge but wiring/electrical skill are average. And then the car was sent to another nearby shop for aircond works, the work quality of that shop was also just average.
Wiring usually will send to wire man. Even mine when did transplant my mechanic also send to wire man to get the wires connected.....:driver:

shem_lexluger

Dec 29, 2009
Subang Jaya
Wiring usually will send to wire man. Even mine when did transplant my mechanic also send to wire man to get the wires connected.....:driver:
You're right. Wish I had known this back in 2011. For what it's worth, the car is still running today so it's not that bad but you certainly know it can be done better.

X3nonz

Nov 26, 2014
Cheras
yeah,that's my legacy,it's been up there for some time

my friend's car.....installed defi yesterday afternoon
this morning gone.....

i think...it is the shop tell the thief.......