B16a Engine Simple Modification

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
hattech-v said:
shiro,
cam lift is same, only duration b16b higher than b18c...

1. ITR/CTR (Chilled Cast Cores)

- STOCK 1997-1999 ITR

INTAKE lift - 11.5 mm, duration 240 @1mm
EXHAUST lift - 10.5mm, duration 235 @1mm

- STOCK CTR and 2000-2001 ITR

INTAKE lift - 11.5 mm, duration 243 @1mm
EXHAUST lift - 10.5mm, duration 235 @1mm
Use the cam dial.. it's 13+ for B16B

At least that's what the measurement is when one of the fellas measured his cam lift while setting up the cams.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
it's supposed to be the same what... since the guy got 11+mm when measure B18C.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
hattech-v said:
then 13mm is more than JUN 3 lift wooo... jun only 12.5..
True.. but still those are the numbers I got.... if you got real measurement.. then let me know... Since those numbers are only one time measured only.. the guy sold the engine and car becoz he said B16B power too lousy.. (O_o) now driving EVO 7 with 500+hp edi... (O_o)... scary!

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
shiro,
"b16A head with B16B cams have really tight tolerances"---->u sed dis wat?so if a B16A head is similiar w a B16B head,in terms of d height @ least,so shud haf no problem wat?

J101,
yayapapaya..u alwis flen flen...but whn i ask u mau "pengeras"!hahahahha

xxxx,
i din say B16A head exactly d same as B16B ler...but if i'm not wrong,a B16B head is produced frm a stock B16A head,no?

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
akuma said:
shiro,
"b16A head with B16B cams have really tight tolerances"---->u sed dis wat?so if a B16A head is similiar w a B16B head,in terms of d height @ least,so shud haf no problem wat?
That's the thing.. if the B16B cams have higher lift.. that means they are closer together at max lift, both with each other during overlap, and closer to the piston face too..

That's why I said.. "B16A head with B16B cams"

Was planning that upgrade.. but B20B more bang for buck.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Bang for buck lah akuma!

If got 40K.. I'd do it already lah.. (do everything overseas incl. tuning the K-pro) then send back the complete shebang down to MY.

Problem is too much bang.. and too little bucks on my side... ROFL!

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Just heard new JPJ rules from friend.... cannot modify mounting.. Ishk! no more K20 legal conversions loh!

ace79

Sep 4, 2004
Aiyak? Are you sure? I hope money still talks over at Puspakom and JPJ...

shiroitenshi said:
Just heard new JPJ rules from friend.... cannot modify mounting.. Ishk! no more K20 legal conversions loh!

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
ace79 said:
Aiyak? Are you sure? I hope money still talks over at Puspakom and JPJ...
Of course it does.. it just means... more money.. ROFL!

The old Civic 2.0 with the crippled K20 and the later version still can.. it's just the 6th gen and below that have to modify engine mounts...

Super car detailing series

The latest generation of Porsche 911, the successor of the 997 model,
called a 991

but came it some imperfection

birds dropping etched...