Altezza FAQ

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Basic Facts :

- Altezza was manufactured from Oct 1998 to Jul 2005.
- Altezza competitors are . BMW E46 325i and Merc C-Class W203 C230.
- There are 2 model RS200 & AS200. Malaysia most are RS200.
- RS200 is Sports model. Engine 3S-GE 200hp/216nm/7000rpm (Auto) 210hp/216nm/7,800rpm (Manual)
- Dual VVTI 16 Valve DOHC. Top cylinder head was developed by Yamaha. Manual Transmision car have
titananium valves.
- Auto : 5 Speed Tiptronic (A650E). Taken from Lexus GS300. Max Power Rating: 325 wheel horse power
according to wikipedia.
(So it can easily handle the 200hp)
- Manual : 6 speed.(J160) from Aisin (AZ6)
- Rear diferential for auto : 3.9 (1998 to 2000) & 4.1 (2001 to 2005) LSD (Torsen) is an option.
Traction control is an option
- Rear diferential for manual : 4.1 (1998 to 2000) & 4.3 ( 2001 to 2005) LSD (Torsen) is standard.
Traction conttol is an option.
- Suspension : Front & Rear : Double Wishbone.
- Weight : 1,340kg to 1360kg Manual & 1,360kg to 1380kg Auto. This is heavy car dont expect Type R
performance.
- Body : Monoque shell. Very rigid due to Rear wheel drive configuration.
- 0-100km\h = 7.3 sec for manual & 7.8 sec for auto.( Not sure which Final Drive was used)
- Fuel Tank = 60 Litres . Consumption 430-500km/per tank. Mixed driving city and highway. Ron 97
- Top speed. limited 180\km\h if removed approximately 240km\hr.
- Wheel : 17x7 Tire 215\45\17. Offset +50. Rim Weight 11kg without tyre.
- Brakes : Front = Twin Pot. Rear = Twin Pot. Disc diameter Front : 296mm Rear 307mm.

Maintenance :

- Engine oil need to use Fully Synthetic 5.3 litres 5W-30 or 5W-40. Change every 5,000km to 7,000km
- Oil Filter is same as Altis, Vios. Change when oil change.
- Auto Gear Box oil : Toyota Type IV : Same as Altis, Vios or Camry : 4 Litre change every 20,000km.
- Manual gear box oil : Toyota oil. 20,000km
- Rear Differential oil. Toyota Differential oil. Change every 20,000km.
- Air filter : Change every 20,000km or altenatively can use K&N internal filter.
- Spark Plugs : Denso IK20 or IK22 change every 20,000km.
- Fuel Filter : Every 100,000 km.
- Aircon pollen filter : 30,000km. Denso or Bosch.
- Power steering fuild : 50,000km.
- Radiator coolant : Toyota Long Life. Coolant 20,000km.
- Timing Belt : 100,000km.
- Water Pump : Depends if previous owner change coolant frequently. If Yes then will last until 200,000km.
- Others belts : 50,000km.
- Throttle Body needs cleaning every 20,000km.
- MAP sensor needs cleaning every 20,000km to 30,000km.

Modification : The general rule of thumb is try to lighten the car with after market parts.

- If your into modifying the engine then buy a 6MT. More parts and cheaper than 5AT.
- 5AT has less upgrade parts and quite expensive.
- 6Mt can use standalone ECU like Apexi Power FC. Plug & play in the original ECU box.
- 5AT can use Apexi Power FC from Brash Boy only. Run as a piggy back cos need to retain original
ECU to run the gearbox.
- 5AT can only use HKS SLD Type II to remove speedcut.
- 6MT can most of the aftermarket speedcut remover.
- 5AT can only use panel air filter. Open pod not recommended. Power loss and can damage throttle body.
- 6MT can use open pod filters.
- 5AT & 6MT Most owners will upgrade the suspension and anti roll bar cos original is quite soft.
- 6MT Lightened flywheel and light rims can do wonders...try this before touching the engine.

5AT (Auto) convert to 6MT (Manual).
- My recommendation is pay extra and get G3 or G5 halfcut.
- On dyno higher horsepower and torque compared to G1 engines.
- On the road G3 & G5 4.3 final drive is alot better than the G1 4.1 FD.
- Overall the extra spent on G3 & G5 halfcut is worth every single dollar.
- Some figures from personal experience.
Stock Standard G2 Auto = 154whp convert to G5 manual = 170whp. with mild exhaust mod, internal K&N
and Toda Flywheel = 180whp. With Toda 268 Deg mild cam with vvti and Apexi Power Fc = 190whp.
Provided well maintained engine.

New Parts and Service :

- Maintainance parts like Oil Filter, Air Filter, Brake pads, clutch plate, timing belt kit, absorbers,
bearing etc are available
- Non maintainance parts like body parts, bumpers and lights may require ordering.

New Parts :
: Wing Hin. Jln Loke Yew : Carry some Altezza parts but they are happy to order for you if required.
: ST Auto. Jln Ipoh : Carry some Altezza parts but they are happy to order for you if required.
: Vanli in Jln Ipoh. : Carry some parts.

Service : Riyoz Racing (formerly known as Trial Tuning Sdn Bhd). Taman Sg Besi
: Toyota Altezza specialist. Able to repair and upgrade Altezza.
: Able to obtain new and used parts for Altezza (Performance & Maintenance parts).
: One Stop Shop for all Altezza needs. Pre-Purchase Inspection also available.
: Dyno Facility and Toyota diagnostic equipment available.
: Comprehensive inventory of used altezza parts.

: Vision Bangsar & Sunway : Maintenance also can be done here.

2nd hand parts also can be obtained from Altezza Club Malaysia Facebook page :
https://www.facebook.com/groups/74645600649/

We have Altezza parts runners in the FB page who sell used parts dismantled from halfcut
and also direct bid from Yahoo Auction. Muday.my also has many sellers who carry Altezza parts.

Car Accessories & Parts for sale in Malaysia: altezza - Mudah.my

To check online parts catalog for part number : I do a search here before I go to spare part shop.
http://www.toyodiy.com/parts/

So from a parts standpoint we have strong support on new and used parts.

Ownership experience : 2003 5AT and later upgraded the transmision to 6MT.

- This car is very durable just like any other toyota. Most Altezza in malaysia are close to 10 to 15 years
old.
- If you compare against it competitor, none of them can come close in terms of reliability and durability.
- The maintenance cost is reasonable. It is like maintaining a Camry. It will be costly only if you need to
change non maintenance parts.

- The driving experience is very enjoyable. The FR layout is very good. Sometime it is hard to believe
it is a Toyota.
- Toyota did not cut cost when developing this car. The suspension is Double wishbone all around.
- The advantage of this layout compared to normal strut type is very good handling without
compromising comfort.
- Altezza is fairly comfortable car with handling to match. If you need more firm ride then after market
coilovers are readily available. i.e For starters Tein Super Street is basic setup. For more advance setup
D2, Tein Flex or HKS Hipermax etc.
Most important check the spring rating on the coilover. i.e The standard spring rate is 5kg/mm for front
and 3 kg/mm at the rear. For firm ride and better handling, choose something above these numbers.
Minimum Front 8kg/mm and 6kg/mm. For firmer ride F10kg/mm & R8kg/mm would be nice.
- Weight distribution is close to 50:50 which helps in handling. Lateral grip also very good due to FR layout.
- For spirited driver recommended to change the Anti Roll Bar. The original is too soft in my opinion.
TRD anti roll bar is a good start but there are other brands you can try. Cusco.
- Do keep in mind this car is heavy..dont expect DC5 or FD2R type of performance with a standard car.
If want to compete then spend some $$ on proven upgrades. i.e final drive, ecu, light weight wheels,
wide tyre, suspension, exhaust front to back and maybe a high profile cams carbon fiber hood,
lighten flywheel, clutch kit etc....
- What it offer is an enjoyable drive on B roads and track.
- Fastest time recorded in Sepang in a modded 2.0 road car on road tyres is 2:38.
(2013 ZTH TTA) Driver Zeb.
- Rigid collar is also another proven upgrade. Can feel the chassis is rigid at high speeds.

- The brakes are oversized for this type of car with twin pot front and twin pot rear.
The brakes are quite strong. Front brakes have protruding air ducts for rapid cooling.
To improve the feel use higher temp pads like Endless SSY. 0-400 degree.

- Wheels for better traction and handling change to light wheels around 7kg per wheel
- Offset +35 to +45 and rim width 8JJ to 9 JJ
- Tyre width minium 225 all around.

- The engine is a gem which revs up till 7,200rpm for Auto and 7,800rpm for manual.
- Surge in power can be felt around 4,000 rpm for auto and 5,000rpm for manual. Peak torque.
- The rear muffler has a flap which open for highflow during high RPM.
- The gear ratio is optimised for performance where there is no flat spot.
- The 5 speed tiptronic is quite quick in responding to your command to downshift.
- The triptronic can hold gear. Even at rev cut the gear will not up shift.

- 5AT at 100km\hr the RPM is 2,500rpm for Final drive = 3.9.(A01?) where ? "A" for open diff and "B" for torsen LSD
- 5AT at 100km\hr the RPM is 2,800rpm for Final drive = 4.1.(A02?) where ? "A" for open diff and "B" for torsen LSD
- 6MT at 100km\hr the RPM is 3,000pm for Final drive = 4.1.(A02?) where ? "A" for open diff and "B" for torsen LSD
- 6MT at 100km\hr the RPM is 3,1000rpm for Final drive = 4.3.(A03?) where ? "A" for open diff and "B" for torsen LSD
-

Common problems : Based on cars aged between 10 to 15 years old.

- Throttle Body : Need to service every second oil change. This is not costly around RM60.
- If you fail to keep it clean can result in failure which can cost up to 2K for new unit but can get used
unit for a fraction of the price.
- O2 sensor : Subjective. Previous owner may changed it. It fail due to age. Once changed can last for
many years.
- Oil leak near camshaft sensor. Cheap to replace the gasket.
- Radiator top cover need to change after 8 years. The cover will change colour from black to brown.
- Suspension bushes. Again due to age. Pricing depend on which bushing changed.
- 2001 model onward the dashbord is sprayed with rubberised material which will melt overtime.
The solution is remove the rubber and respray flat black.
- Aircon sometime will have a cricket sound after 6-8 years. Need to replace the actuator.

-Price depends on condition and the AP (Student or Normal AP)
-Cars above 15 years (1998 & 1999 model), the type of AP is irrelevant as there is no loan available.
Price depends on the condition of the car and demand & supply.
-Manual transmission command higher price.
-Upgraded car will also command higher price. I.e Modded NA,Turbo, supercharger etc.
-As I know for you still can get loan for car less than 15 years old. So if you are a die hard fan buy
before the car reaches 15years.
-Or wait until it reaches 15 years old and buy it cash. One day it will become a classic just like AE86.
Now days small RWD cars are rare.
-FWD are are more profitable for car manufactures compared to RWD that is why this layout is reserved
for more expensive model.

Known Key Differences : Model Change.

May 2001 onwards
- Seat Material.
- Dashbord and steering wheel no longer 2 tone
- Dashboard sprayed with rubberised material.
- Speedometer outer ring is black.
- For Manual transmission the meter has additional LCD screen for speed etc.
- 4.1 FD for Auto and 4.3 FD for Manual.
- HID with auto leveling. 4300k
- Yellow Spotlight. (MC 07/2002)
- New Front Grill.
- Door moulding is thicker.
- Front Armrest. (Optional)

Known Option : Depending on grade . Basic or Z Edition or L Edition. Some option is standard on certain grade.

- Sat Nav (Auto & manual)
- Super Live Sound System (Auto & Manual)
- After Market CD\DVD System.
- TRC (Auto)
- LSD (Auto)
- Headlight Washer (Auto & Manual)
- Rear Foglight & Bigger wiper washer tank for Snow Version.(Auto & Manual)
- Sunroof.
- Chrome Auto gate shift.
- Chrome Ball Auto gear Shift
- Auto light.
- Rear Boot Spoiler with Third Brake light
- Ionizer.
- Full Neo Bumper
- Front Skirting,
- Side and rear Skirting
- Rear High Spoiler.
- Door Courtesy Light (Auto & Manual)
- Front Electric Seat (Auto & Manual)
- Side Airbags (Auto & Manual)
- Rear Luggage access.
- Privacy Glass.
- ETC (Electronic Toll Collection).

5AT Upgrade do and dont's

- Auto : never use open pod filter as will lose power and possibly damage the Electronic Throttle Body.
- Auto : Retain the orignal air box and use panel filter like K&N etc.
- Auto : Used HKS SLD Type II to remove speed cut. Other brand some work some does not work.
- Auto : E manage does not work cos original ECU will try to gain control of engine and transmission
parameters.
- Auto : Apexi Power FC tuned by Brash Boy is more suitable as a piggyback computer.
- Auto : Dynojet Powercommander III works well. Good upgrade.
- Auto : Never remove the catalic convertor. You will lose low end torque. Unless have a after market
computer to adjust the AFR and ignition timing.

Converting from Auto to Manual :

- Need full Manual halfcut with longshaft and rear differential.
- Buy 2001 model onward Halfcut which has 4.3 final drive.
- Below are the list of items need to swap.
- Manual Halfcut cost between RM 6K to RM 9K (Depending on year model)
- G1 = 1998 to 2001, G3 = 2001 to 2003, G5 = 2003 to 2005.
- Highly recommended go for G3 or G5.

1)Head Assembly with VVTi pulley and Throttle Body
2)Clutch Pump
3)Radiator
4)Manual Flywheel
5)Air intake Box with Map sensor
6)Engine Control Unit
7)Complete Wiring Loom
8)Oil Cooler with piping
9)Meter Cluster
10)Front Down Pipe
11)Centre Pipe with O2 Sensor
12)Transmission assembly J160
13)Gear Lever assembly
14)Pedal Assembly
15)Gear lever cover & console
16)Rear Diff 4.3 LSD with addition mounting
17)Long Shaft
18)Fuel Pump Assembly
19)Steering wheel
20)Gear Knob

Motorsport History :

- 1999-2003 Altezza One Make Race- Japan.
- 1999-2002 Super Taikyu Race- Japan
- 2001-2004 Macau Grand Prix Guia Race- Macau
- 2001-2010 Asian Touring Car Series- Asean
- 2009-2012 Merdeka Mellenium Endurance- Malaysia
- 2007 24hr ADAC Nurburgring- Germany
- 2003 Targa Tasmania- Australia
- 2000 One Make Ericsson Cup- Hong Kong
- 2003 British Touring Car Championship- UK
- 2012 Malaysian Super Series - Malaysia.
- 2012 Macau Grand Prix Guia Race- Macau

General Comment :
- Recon shop have stop importing unregistered unit since 2008.
- Handful of cars was imported in Malaysia after 2008 as student AP.

The Author : [email protected]

Reactions: mario

MKMD428

Aug 21, 2005
johore
such a great info...for a noob like who aims to own one, this is really great!!
info is full of tips and information..but what matters me most is that all infos are based on experience.
anyway thank you again.

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Altezza is old car and most bank dont give out loan (depending on year of manufacture).
However if you want a car for you to have fun behind the wheel then you have to cough up the cash or take personal loan to finance. Is it worth it? It depends on you weather are you willing to spend
doing up the car. If you are then it is a great car to drive .....FR cars are always fun to drive. If not
then get a new car which may be boring but cost less to maintains since there is no wear and tear parts to replace. Either way... your choice.... :biggrin:

Jwu

Apr 25, 2005
Klang
Hi sifus and senior members,

I'm keen to get an Altezza as a fun daily driver (preferably an auto trany). Saw a few on mudah going for 36-46k and seems like a decent price. Granted future investments will be required to change worn parts, but what should I look out for when shopping for one? Would love to join the club and be part of the tezza family.

Thanks in advance!

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Welcome JWU,
Please take you time to ready the FAQ. The only thing you need to look out for is bad chassis damage from accident. The price varies and do see the cheapest one to the most expensive.
Get an idea of what you are paying for. If pay 45K and the car has good service history, no accident and some aftermarket parts then it is a good buy. The previous owner may have changed most of the wear and tear parts which will save you the trouble and money. My word of advise keep 5k just in case need to do up and service the car. I hope this help... happy shopping. Do join the altezza club Malaysia facebook page.:driver:

Jwu

Apr 25, 2005
Klang
Welcome JWU,
Please take you time to ready the FAQ. The only thing you need to look out for is bad chassis damage from accident. The price varies and do see the cheapest one to the most expensive.
Get an idea of what you are paying for. If pay 45K and the car has good service history, no accident and some aftermarket parts then it is a good buy. The previous owner may have changed most of the wear and tear parts which will save you the trouble and money. My word of advise keep 5k just in case need to do up and service the car. I hope this help... happy shopping. Do join the altezza club Malaysia facebook page.:driver:
Thanks AE111_SEG. Will be sure to shop around and do more research. I have requested to join the Altezza Club Malaysia on FB. Can't wait to be part of the Altezza family.

Aug 6, 2017
Florida
Hey guys,researching altezzas, found one I like on cardealpage . Com. I've read the FAQ here. Just haven't found a good thread to post this so here goes. Found this 2001 altezza on cardeal. It has 118,000 km. I'll share pics for you to tell me your thoughts on the mods. It's in Japan, I'm in US, Florida. There's a lot involved in this purchase. Has anyone here ever bought a car from another country and had it shipped? I know altezzas are HUGE in the tuner community but I've also read you can beat the crap out of them and they keep on ticking. I love DOHC engines bc of this. Anyways, I appreciate your patience,understanding and time on this and with me. Thanks and I hope to be sharing with you in the future with an altezza!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Import of used car to your country, you better check on your country's regulations. Differs from country to country. In Malaysia we need to get approval or AP as we called it to import and usually not given to individual unless you stay overseas and own the vehicle more than a certain period and you are now returning home and bringing the car back with you.
Moreover the Japanese car are right hand drive and in Florida you are using left hand drive, right?

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
Hey guys,researching altezzas, found one I like on cardealpage . Com. I've read the FAQ here. Just haven't found a good thread to post this so here goes. Found this 2001 altezza on cardeal. It has 118,000 km. I'll share pics for you to tell me your thoughts on the mods. It's in Japan, I'm in US, Florida. There's a lot involved in this purchase. Has anyone here ever bought a car from another country and had it shipped? I know altezzas are HUGE in the tuner community but I've also read you can beat the crap out of them and they keep on ticking. I love DOHC engines bc of this. Anyways, I appreciate your patience,understanding and time on this and with me. Thanks and I hope to be sharing with you in the future with an altezza!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
looks a bit beaten but good candidate there

guys i found this page on editing eprom programs for 4g61, thought it may be worth trying , if it works then worth the risk kekekeke or else ECU BURN :D

http://users.wpi.edu/~ktarry/dsmtech/dsmromedit.html#fuelcut