All Malaysian F1 Team

BenWang

Mar 10, 2005
www.benjaminwang.com
Currently F1 is missing one team from the concode agreement. Now, I was just thinking, what if Proton decides to revive the Lotus F1 heritage and re-enter F1. Though hopefully it won't happen cause the govment will have to pump billions into both companies to even start it up.

Sauber is rumoured to be signing a deal with BMW soon and Red Bull taking over the Ferrari customer engines. Leaving Petronas to either re-tool for BMW or maybe strike out on their own with Lotus.

So we have:-

Name:
Lotus Petronas :P

Drivers:
Alex Yoong - since he still owns the sports ministry money.
DC or another British driver cause Lotus will be based in England.

Engine:
CAMPRO F1? hahah :lol:
Maybe a rebadged Cosworth

Tires:
Bridgestone - Since they're desperate for more teams, maybe a ferrari like testing deal can be worked out.

Sponsers:
Sucker local companies, maybe Tourism Malaysia again. Maybe ZTH :lol:

Hometrack:
Sepang lah

Grid Position:
Right under Mirandi :blink:

BoatOwner

Feb 25, 2004
morris-racing.com
Originally posted by BenWang@Apr 24 2005, 22:55
Currently F1 is missing one team from the concode agreement.
How so? The concorde agreement stipulates a minimum of 10 teams (if less teams to run 3rd car) and a max of 12 teams(24 cars).

As for running an all-malaysian team, there's no point really. When you go to build something like an F1 team you have to get the best people for each job, you can't look at nationality (except maybe in the case of drivers if you need a certain nationality for sponsors). If the best engine is German, the best suspension analysist is Malaysian, the best Aerodynamicist British, the best tactician French, then that's exactly what you'll get. Prost proved that trying to build a one-nation team doesn't work.

GT3

Mar 8, 2005
yup boatowner is right.. the lotus racing name is still with Peter Collin.. it cost alot to buy it from him.. a formula 1 team use alot of money n don think proton is able to afford it unless it really wan to stay behind minardi

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
later if proton wan make up for the expense of the cost, all proton naik harga we die lor..

btw... if can get a point probably special holiday nation wide liau :lol:

glee

It all boils down to money. as boatowner said, if you wanna start an F1 team, and you have tonnes of money, you just go out and hire the best people for the job, the same as running any business.

You can either start fresh, or you can be like Red Bull, buy an existing team and build up from there.

I remember another forum discussion many years ago about PERT and rallying. People were complaining about the fact that they use foreigners to do certain jobs. "Why use foreigners when you can use locals?" was the complaint. Same as in the music industry in the past, "Why go overseas to record when you can use local studios?".. go figure ;)

cyclonite

Nov 27, 2003
Hey Malaysia has all the resources to start a successful F1 team what.... got world class workshops at Sunway, drag strips along LDP and A&W at Sunway, private test tracks at teluk bahang penang and genting sempah, world class drivers like... hmm ZTHians :) and best of all they can just get any technical advise for the team by posting on ZTH or going for our TTs

Saga Continue

May 14, 2004
Ampang Baybeh
if got...i want to be in the team.....the post for the guy who wipe the driver helmet is booked by ME..!!!!

so when do we start..??:)

hi guys
anyone using these PU foams in the car??..
i am just wondering how many brands are there out there?..whats the different between the expensive and cheap one...

heard expensive ca go up to RM600 per car..while some around RM100 ..

anyone have any comment of this?