Ae101 Superstrut Spring to macpherson

LuXun

Dec 16, 2004
Ipoh, JB
Hi all sifu,
I'm going to do this, front Levin Superstrut spring to Ae101 Macpherson,
1. Is it do-able?
2. Will the car looks a bit lower with superstrut spring?
3. How the handling ( I dont go track, just highway speed only ).

Thx

futeball

Jun 2, 2006
www.4aeoc.org
do u mean change the spring only? or change the absorber itself?
if not mistaken, SS & McP spring are the same. only the front absorber of SS is different from McP.

my personal experience, if use stock SS spring, it won't looks lowered. coz the spring is standard. unless u cut the spring or use sports spring.

my 2 cents.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
SS suspension is slightly stiffer compare to McP therefore the spring rate is slightly higher. But not sure about the right height of SS spring if mated with McP.

I only experience the following:
Ti2000's spring (fit both SS & McP) right height is 1 1/2 finger on SS.
TRD McP spring's right height is 2 1/2 on SS.

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
SS suspension is slightly stiffer compare to McP therefore the spring rate is slightly higher. But not sure about the right height of SS spring if mated with McP.

I only experience the following:
Ti2000's spring (fit both SS & McP) right height is 1 1/2 finger on SS.
TRD McP spring's right height is 2 1/2 on SS.
previously changed SS spring to my mcp...
car lowered half finger..
and the handling worse than the stock spring...not as u said stiffer, it's more softer...

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
If i remember it correctly, for Levin AE101 front suspension:
Stock McP spring rate is 2.5kg/mm
Stock SS spring rate is 2.7kg/mm
RSR Ti2000 is 2.9kg/mm for both McP and SS
TRD is 3.2 kg/mm for McP, 3.3kg/mm for SS

Perhaps, you have a wrong setup that make you feel suck la :biggrin:

Alcon06

Mar 6, 2006
levin818 sifu, since you're at it, mind to share the spring rate for the rear suspension of similar setup as well? Thanks! Also, was wondering if anyone knows the AE111N's(Corolla Spacio) rear spring rate

Hi guys.

Im looking at Clifford, Viper and Commando.
Most important feature for me is 2-way, shock sensor and starter kill.
I dont need remote start since its merely a luxury but not a necessity though the brands above carry this feature.

What d'ya think?