A32 2.0 2011 Fatty and issues

marksmensrea

May 29, 2006
A32 2.0 2001 Fatty and issues

Hi guys, I have recently bought an 11 year old fatty and given this car is old, the interiors are ok but not without its own problem. Due to some of the threads here may be old , I would like to re-request suggestions to help fix issues im facing and some advice.

The car has gotten 4 new Improve branded absorbers/ brand new compressor(WIP)/ service of engine oil.

The issues are as follow:-

Problem 1 Fixed with new TCM from chopshop for 250bucks
When driving at 80-100KM/H the power has a feel of up and down despite RPM being stable. Im not sure if this is linked to the TCM issue that was mentioned in an earlier post and nonetheless, I have that RPM up and down issue at 60-80KM/H( sometimes up till 90KM/H). One person asked me to go get the Gearbox reconditioned which would cost a good 2-3K. Some say its the torque converter , some say clutch.

Problem 2 Fixed with new one, costed me 600bucks
Getting high on Ron 95 after a full fill up. Possibly linked to the issue 12Savefuel mentioned in an earlier post, car in workshop, hopefully they know how to fix that.

Problem 3 Was fixed when I replaced with a new Compressor but then now Temperature switch doesnt do anything. (Advice?)
Internal aircond directional blower doesnt seem to face the right direction after a long drive where it feels like little air is coming out even at full blast (Feels like the internal directional vent does not face the right side or something). Suggestions?

Problem 4 Removed at accessory shop and still working well.
The previous owner used to have Vkool tinting which has blurred and it was a b@##h taking it out. Problem now lies in the back where there are heater lines to demist , if I was to take them out, I risk spoiling the heater lines and I have no choice coz I cant see anything at the back. Suggestions?

Recommendations for other parts

Does anyone know where I can get these items and what is the cost?
1. Brembo Disc and Brake pads
2. Drop in K&N filters
3. Performance upgrades aside from Greedy E Manage Blue?

She is a beaut once I respray her to dark ashe grey.

deckerloh

Oct 30, 2012
Re: A32 2.0 2001 Fatty and issues

Hi bro mark,

Still haven't solved ur gearbox problem? I would suggest u to get a GB at a chopshop, it's quite cheap, prolly around 900.
Just make sure they bundle in the TCM for u, as ur current TCM might not work for the new GB.

marksmensrea

May 29, 2006

Hi Decker,

No leh, scared later get a GB from chopshop same issue. A friend asked to go recon the GB and now im in another dilemma what to do, i guess getting a GB with the TCM is the best leh since recon would cost alot more. Thanks for the suggestion bro

markblurberry

Jun 24, 2010
Hi, just to find out from members of ceffie - is atf cooler any good for a32 gearbox? i heard that Pv6 gearbox issue being reduced after atf cooler was installed in the newer batches - if its good, maybe can install for a32 to reduce heat in gb

marksmensrea

May 29, 2006
I just ordered a obd2 sensor and when its here I can see if the gearbox is overheating. Thanks for the suggestion Bro

marksmensrea

May 29, 2006
Just got 2 TCU for my friend and I. Installing it next weekend! Thanks to Deckerloh

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
All the performance bits you mentioned can be found in the marketplace.

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
Hi, just to find out from members of ceffie - is atf cooler any good for a32 gearbox? i heard that Pv6 gearbox issue being reduced after atf cooler was installed in the newer batches - if its good, maybe can install for a32 to reduce heat in gb
External cooler is always good for g/box, engine oil , axle oil, power steering , etc. But i don't see any reason why u need to install it in the ceffie as they do not have overheating issues like PV6 AT...

marksmensrea

May 29, 2006
Fixed most of the issues but now have some new ones.

1. At moving pace of 40-100++ KMH especially when I go on pickup mode, theres a feel that the power coming on off mildly giving me a feel that the pickup is not constant. Not sure if its injectors or Coil plug or even something else.

2. Aircond Compressor gave some noise , knowing that it might go kong. i changed it. Now the temperature switch doesnt control the temperature. Its either on or off. Suggestion guys?

Suggestions are most welcomed my fellow Fatty owners.
Need suggestion on a good reasonable workshop that knows more about A32s?

SiL88

Oct 1, 2012
hello bro,
"Problem 2 Fixed with new one, costed me 600bucks
Getting high on Ron 95 after a full fill up. Possibly linked to the issue 12Savefuel mentioned in an earlier post, car in workshop, hopefully they know how to fix that."
do you mind explaining in details? what is the culprit?

For the temperature control, have you check the water heater pipe?
refer to here http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/the-cefiro-club-malaysia/399256-a32-3-0l-water-heater.html
maybe the previous owner modified it

btw where is your location bro?
currently i'm using a32 too and i always go to Wah Yik Auto at Kinrara Industrial Park (No. 7 Jalan TPK 1/1), the workshop owner also drive a32 cefiro, he is a32 specialist to me :smile:

marksmensrea

May 29, 2006
hello bro,
"Problem 2 Fixed with new one, costed me 600bucks
Getting high on Ron 95 after a full fill up. Possibly linked to the issue 12Savefuel mentioned in an earlier post, car in workshop, hopefully they know how to fix that."
do you mind explaining in details? what is the culprit?

For the temperature control, have you check the water heater pipe?
refer to here http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/the-cefiro-club-malaysia/399256-a32-3-0l-water-heater.html
maybe the previous owner modified it

btw where is your location bro?
currently i'm using a32 too and i always go to Wah Yik Auto at Kinrara Industrial Park (No. 7 Jalan TPK 1/1), the workshop owner also drive a32 cefiro, he is a32 specialist to me :smile:
Hey bro,

My heater and aircond was working fine when I got it but the compressor was giving alot of sound signalling that it my go anytime so changed it. After that the aircond would not be controlled. With the link you gave, im wondering where is that U pipe thingi. I might want to just DIY cos the compressor costed me 1000 bucks already.

I am from Kepong and I dont mind going even to Klang if there is a workshop that really does a good job. Thanks for the Kinrara intro, I will drop by one of these days. Already stared it in Google Maps.

---------- Post added at 01:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:24 PM ----------

Any suggestions for paint job and price? Theres a rust bump on the roof, stone marks from highway usage, and a chipped bumper edge.

SiL88

Oct 1, 2012
you might have to check the entire aircond system, last time i also change my compressor for 900 bucks including cleaning the outside piping and gas, but then again i have to went back to change the condenser, evaporator, and piping valve, now its working back to normal

the U pipe i also haven't try to see it, because its under the dashboard, have to open the evaporator and the blower if i'm not mistaken,
you can try to ask with wah yik, they also can repair aircond, so far good service and very good price, he will recommend what best for your a32 problem, for the paint job you also can ask from the workshop owner, one of this forum member told me that he did his paint job in workshop which recommended from wah yik

12savefuel

Dec 10, 2008

marksmensrea;1064226748 Problem 2 [B said:
Fixed with new one, costed me 600bucks[/B]
Getting high on Ron 95 after a full fill up. Possibly linked to the issue 12Savefuel mentioned in an earlier post, car in workshop, hopefully they know how to fix that.

Problem 3 Was fixed when I replaced with a new Compressor but then now Temperature switch doesnt do anything. (Advice?)
Internal aircond directional blower doesnt seem to face the right direction after a long drive where it feels like little air is coming out even at full blast (Feels like the internal directional vent does not face the right side or something). Suggestions?
What problem is Problem 2?

Problem 3. If your internal A/C heater has been bypassed the heater doesn't work to regulated the A/C temp anymore. In the A32 air temp is regulated by mixing cold air and hot air NOT cycling the compressor on and off like simpler systems. Once you have bypassed the heater the A/C will be MAX COLD all the time a.k.a 18C all the time. Until the A/C cut to stop it from icing up. Adjusting the temp WILL not change the temp. All it will do is move the internal air mixing door to allow more cold air to flow to the heater (which is no longer working). So you will notice when you increase the temp from 18C to 26C you will hear a door move. At 31C you will feel a reduction is air comes out the A/C vent and at 32C you will feel there will be even less air coming out. So to do a test to see if the door is still working properly start at 18C and when the A/C is quite cold quickly change to 32C and you should feel a drop in air flow and hear the door moving. If the heater isn't bypassed you will feel really hot air coming out at 32C.

If your heater has been bypassed you need an electronic thermostat to cycle the compressor on and off to regulate the air temp and thus leave the original temp control at 18C and control the temp by the new additional electronic thermostat. Don't get a mechanical thermostat as that is really lousy. The electronic thermostat is more accurate and has a temp sensor fixed to the evaporator just like the OE one. Then the new sensor will control the controller to cut and cycle the compressor on and off to regulate the temp.

I just updated my original post using the lectronic thermostat in my original Water heater threadhere

hi guys,

mine is the purple/maroon persona.

i tried light brown, silver,chrome, gun metal grey and now finally i am using black coz out of ideas. can someone give me any suggestions? would two tone be good?