4g93 lots of questions!

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
well actually its just one.

how much money would it take to get 180whp on my gti n/a tune no turbo no supercharger? i hope there isnt another thread on this if so just point me in the right direction. oh and i need a part list of things i need to get for achieve this! thanks in advance!

p.s anyone know what kind of times a 180whp gti runs for 0 to 100km/h and 400m?

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
turbo o super charger will be better bang 4 ur $$$...

2 mod N/A n achieve 180hp...not hard but lots n lots of $$$ needed...

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
if the supercharger thing works out for the better i will go that route. but i dont want to go turbo unless i can get a good setup for an awd kit for my car which i think is pointless like that might as well save up and by a secondhand evo. i'd rather go n/a cos i dont see a lot around and its nice to be fast without turbo since everyone i have seen on the road either has a gsr engine or a 4g63 :P

alvin24

I'd say somewhere in the 5 figure region... prepare somewhere between 10-20k... and thats ONLY on the engine mods... u'll also need to upgrade your brakes, suspensions....... etc etc

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
wah lan eh!! 10k+ to mod n/a f*rk that lah i think i'd rather save for supercharger since every1 got turbo :mad:

MitonCT26

Nov 16, 2003
Seremban
:D at least you know why many many ppl got big big FRIDGE in front...the cost is somewhat deny people to build a monster N/A car.

a standard Group N setup for your 4G93 will set you back at least 5ks...that's only good up to 155whp.

anything more than that horsepower, time to invest big time. ;)

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
i was just thinking cos i post on www.honda-tech.com and lots of people with type rs and or swapped b16a can make decent power just getting intake, headers and exhaust. i was hoping that the same can be said for the 4g93 of course minus vtec which would garner bigger gains. i was thinking maybe add the chip i should be able to at least touch 145whp or more? if its not possible i think i might hang myself :P

Zeroed

A very generous estimation of a power increment for a performance chip would be around 10hp...
A stock Mitsu 4G93P pushes out about 105whp give and take. To even touch 145whp you'll be needing cams and stuff. :P

Go for Gerard's Supercharger kit - 162whp (est.180+ hp on flywheel) for a very reasonable price, with easy maintenance and no tell-tale signs. Go over to the forced induction forums and get his contact, give him a call, and he'll fill you in with the details for a friendly cup of teh tarik. Very nice fella. ;)

Or you could try a MIVEC hybrid with high cams and high compression gaskets /pistons(if you can find a set)...

saru-kun

Jan 4, 2004
saru-kun.blogspot.com
erm....imagine, a 4G93T minus the snail, with mivec hi-com pistons, some crazy duration cams (>300?), proper bench flowed head job, full balanced internal reciprocating parts (static and dynamic), 4-throttle with velocity stacks, standalone management, tuned for running high octane fuel (100ron?).......maybe....just maybe you can sniff 200ps at crank

there was a formula series sometime back, utilising the 4G93 engine. all teams run standardized engines built by HKS. overbored to 2.0 litre....power output at 240os with 34mm restrictor plate *i think*

moppy

Feb 9, 2004
saru-kun said:
erm....imagine, a 4G93T minus the snail, with mivec hi-com pistons, some crazy duration cams (>300?), proper bench flowed head job, full balanced internal reciprocating parts (static and dynamic), 4-throttle with velocity stacks, standalone management, tuned for running high octane fuel (100ron?).......maybe....just maybe you can sniff 200ps at crank

there was a formula series sometime back, utilising the 4G93 engine. all teams run standardized engines built by HKS. overbored to 2.0 litre....power output at 240os with 34mm restrictor plate *i think*

The formula series, are you talking about NA or Turbo?
If it's NA why need restrictor?
If turbo, 240ps is sap sap sui for 4G93T, imagine the RS version is 210ps (1800cc) somemore bored to 2000 cc, easily like evo.
The new type of 4G93T, the timing on left handside, in Taiwan ppl can easily made it to over 300+ bhp.

saru-kun

Jan 4, 2004
saru-kun.blogspot.com
if i'm not mistaken...its formula 3...its an na

In today's STAR publications....

Man dies in bid to foil car theft

Tan Chee Wai (31) became just another statistics in the eye of the law. What a shame.

My condolences to his family.

-G