4g63 Turbo Setup

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
still trying hard to understand the logic behind..

maybe for a noob, it's relatively difficult to understand.

everything is stock and I don't pump high octane, only 95.
the turbo is just an occasional cheap thrill.. :burnout:
i'm on stock 93t, with puny snail td04. Can feel the milisecond kick....wahahaha
spool faster, kick wont last....out of puff easier :smokin:

so whats the fun part that I am missing?

16g VS 20g
spool faster , slow, lag
low end, top end
I was told that 20g will lag, more towards high end.
May not able to unleash it's potential since everything is a stock for mine .

I prefer low end and pick up.

Do enlighten me, between ar50 and td05,
Is ar50 much preferred?

Clueless about turbo

i see....now i knew...

so u definately need to take the airtrek td04...and then custom 16g wheel in it....

so u get much faster spool...but without loosing power....:driver:

I was told that 20g will lag, more towards high end.
May not able to unleash it's potential since everything is a stock for mine .

I prefer low end and pick up.

Do enlighten me, between ar50 and td05,
Is ar50 much preferred?

Clueless about turbo
Bro. kurt, you went and de-tune your Evo, now want to put back bigger turbo for what? Just change back same model loh.....hhahahhaha

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Bro. kurt, you went and de-tune your Evo, now want to put back bigger turbo for what? Just change back same model loh.....hhahahhaha
haha,yeah. kinda LPPL..
trying to see what is the best deal around.

what is the price for TD05 16g?
I saw in mudah, going for rm1500. brand new but made in china.

didn't know that china nowadays also produce turbo.. but useable is another issue.

where does you guys hunt for your turbo?

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
LPPL ....luckily i know the meaning:smokin:

you stay in johor, got lots of chop shop, accessories ?
KL, selangor, tak payah cakap lah....
Penang, too limited.

maybe, not too many penang lang here....old forum very active. Now so cool

haha,yeah. kinda LPPL..
trying to see what is the best deal around.

what is the price for TD05 16g?
I saw in mudah, going for rm1500. brand new but made in china.

didn't know that china nowadays also produce turbo.. but useable is another issue.

where does you guys hunt for your turbo?
I got mine a few years back. VRC mechanic had a half cut, he dismantle turbo sell to me for RM900...:driver:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
20151029_002459.jpg
I think boost on with 20g at 3k rpm consider acceptable response despite the power output from it

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
LPPL ....luckily i know the meaning:smokin:

you stay in johor, got lots of chop shop, accessories ?
KL, selangor, tak payah cakap lah....
Penang, too limited.

maybe, not too many penang lang here....old forum very active. Now so cool
staying in sg and Johor.
like you said, many chop shops who really will chop you alive.. :bawling:
I find the variety in Johor is very limited.
half cut not as much as KL
and very expensive.
maybe because of SG influence.

SG is selling SGD 500 for an used TD05 16g, don't know the condition.
very phobic when comes to buying used items.

I got mine a few years back. VRC mechanic had a half cut, he dismantle turbo sell to me for RM900...:driver:
you always got your lobangs around.
how, can help me to find one? :biggrin:

marsha1l_v6

Aug 1, 2013
talking about 4g63t, been plan this since last year, and now i have the engine. Do comment and advice ;

Target about 300whp, internal stock, then gonna be back to PC world :proud:.

Current setup, running at 0.6(without proper fuel pump, play safe for now):
Stock evo3 setup(internal,engine oil rad and FMIC)and turbo td05h 16g big.
wastegate and bov
stock injector, yet to check 450/510 cc..not sure stock evo3 cc..
thermostate remove with aftermarket rad.
stock fuel pump (v6)

Upgrades:
2.8"/3" exhaust (soon, should be able to boost atleast 0.7/0.8)
fuel regulator & avs fuel pump & oil catch tank(after CNY)

not sure if emnge possible, else ill go for haltech.
650cc/850cc
ebc purely can adjust boost for drag/daily drive

should those able to push 300whp on ground with proper tuning?

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
talking about 4g63t, been plan this since last year, and now i have the engine. Do comment and advice ;

wastegate and bov
stock fuel pump (v6)

Upgrades:

650cc/850cc

so the dark side has summoned you? :adore:

stock injector, just look at the color. Yellow if I not wrong, 450cc.

most of the evo owners will go for Haltech or micotec, emanage at this level, is redundant.
Reason, probably the map setting and flexibility?

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
go for standalone if budget allow (darth vader-99.99% dark side). Piggyback, just extra brain to interrupt with main brain. :smokin:

marsha1l_v6

Aug 1, 2013
Hahaha..The dark side finally released..

After asking around , read few forum, that's the build which is safe for the stock internals/turbo and my chassis..

Yup, leaning towards haltech so I can use the digital cluster meter...Get rid the boost meter..

Hopefully 300whp reachable :drive:

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang

wastegate and bov
stock fuel pump (v6)

Upgrades:

650cc/850cc

Stock EVO 3 injectors are yellow in color and it is 510cc and you don't have to upgrade the injectors to hit 300whp. (If want to upgrade, you can consider the later EVO injectors at 560cc (EVO V onwards). Secondly, minimum an Emanage-Blue is needed and definitely an Electronic Boost Controller. The rest in your upgrade list is about right

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016

After asking around , read few forum, that's the build which is safe for the stock internals/turbo and my chassis..

Yup, leaning towards haltech so I can use the digital cluster meter...Get rid the boost meter..

i think you already installed those macam macam bars, UR ...etc. ?

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor

what is a digital cluster meter?

any picture to share?

Wow... Titan featured in today's StarMotoring... nothing written about it but there is a large picture... :D