but seriusly, take out the SC and plonk in a turbo.. i did that back in 1999

virqai

Dec 30, 2010

3zz

Jan 18, 2009
there are main reason for the 5.5k power issue is the ecu. it retards the ignition timing cause as the charger vibrates it detects it as knock. i have done many research on this.. not all gzes face this problem. one guy managed to solve the issue by placing a resistor after the knock sensor. the resistor rating i have forgoten. the other way is to go emange:) definitely u wont have this issue:)
new knowledge here,thanks bro. most of my frens here say the intercooler too small so the sc x enuf air,replacing to front mount would solve it. but i dun wan to loose the torque..huhuhu..need to read more on these retard sensor thing. anyway thanks bro.

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
i dun think its gotta do with the small intercooler.. the benefits of the front mount is definitely a colder intake temp, as the top mount tends to get heat soaked. but with the front mount u may loose response as the pipe route will be much longer. the 5.5k power drop is apparently only in the 92 and 101 map versions.. i cant confirm this entirely though.

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
interesting.. cause another guy who had an ae92 gze also said he never had the power drop issue..

aku_sangap

Jan 14, 2004
Tengah Laut
ee80 user wif 4agze map version user here...;)...come on..keep this thread alive will ya....thinking of remove the sc and replace it wif turbo..;)...any idea how much it'll cost??...roughly....thx in advance....

shamburke

Dec 9, 2003
Subang Jaya
bro..

do some research over the net.... you'll find some good reviews anfd how to...

like us here in KL..most f us stick to GZE....

turbo10

Dec 11, 2003
sg petani kedah
gze since 1998...went to turbo a while, powerful but i hate the lag..now back to SC..:) i just love the instant kick like big CC car..hehe

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
interesting.. mr turbo 10when u were using the turbo set up what turbo were u using? how much boost? hmmm do u still have the set up or sold off..

Can u please share info with me..

Is it ok if i want to change just the Spring without changing the absober.

I thought i want to change my standard spring to the Eibach Pro-Kit but still using the original absober.

what is your advise?

thank you!