3SGE engine (manual vs auto)

sigariga

Feb 17, 2008
Hi sifus,

Am looking for 2nd hand Altezza (manual 3SGE) and need some help. Now, I hv a question on the engine type.
Let say if the owner had changed the engine to another 3SGE , [if there is no yellow sticker (G1~G4)] how do i know the engine is originally from manual tranny with titanium valve or not? Is there any visual comparison between manual engine and auto engine?

sigariga

Feb 17, 2008
i thought de manual engine has bigger valves for intake & exh compare to auto one? and the CR also shud be higher at 11.5 vs 11.1? do correct me if i'm wrong..

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
All the blacktop beams 3S-GE BEAMS are auto version .. theres no manual version :)

I'm a redtop 3s-ge beams owner myself so I know ^^

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
if you ever seen an altezza with 6 speed manual its the 1G-FE inline 6 cylinder engine ..

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Sorry not a BEAMS or 3S owner here, just a huge fan. There are 6 MT 3S-GE BEAMS videos on youtube. And I've seen some of them around too. Correct me if I'm wrong.

G221

Jan 15, 2004
All the blacktop beams 3S-GE BEAMS are auto version .. theres no manual version :)

I'm a redtop 3s-ge beams owner myself so I know ^^
Altezza's 3S-GE BEAMS originally comes in 5 speed auto or 6 speed manual.

sigariga

Feb 17, 2008
back to de question above.. i guess there's no way we can distinguish the engine by simply looking at it..

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Some facts :
- Only 6MT engine comes with titanium valve.
- 6MT has a higher rev cut.
- 6MT has higher compression ratio.

How to identify the engine :
G1 = 6MT : 1998 to 2001
G2 = 5AT : 1998 to 2001
G3 = 6MT : 2001 to 2003
G4 = 5AT : 2003 to 2005
G5 = 6MT : 2003 to 2005

Hope this helps. And pls do visit the FAQ thread. I have written extensively on Altezza model.

Im thinking of buying a car and renting it out when im not using it. Is there a rental need for suzuki swift sport? Are hatchback easy to rent out?