3.0L to 2.5L advice and comment needed

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
you still have to change all the oil seals for the 1/2 cut engine. include the valve cover gasket. Take my advice, all the dam seals change it, else you faced oil leak like i do now, because i skip one things. i.e. valve cover gasket.

how2drive

Jan 31, 2005
www.da-eventhouse.com
thanks for the advice weikee :) Plan to change it too... halfcut being halfcut, is still a used engine with 100km on the clock. So far, i have gotten all seals, top gaskets, hoses, water pump, valve seals and all the belt replaced before installing the engine in.

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
Fuel wise, you won't save much, even higher for highway driving, city driving are similar.

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
Fuel wise, you won't save much, even higher for highway driving, city driving are similar.
:hmmmm:... how come my VQ25 behaves just the opposite of urs? Mine highway drive similar to VQ30, but city drive FC about 10% to 20% higher

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
ctk, i don't understand what you mean? 2.5 fc is higher for you or better?

mine is 3L, i did not change to 2.5, but instead put in a JDM 3L.

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
opps.. weikee, i thought u r on VQ25...

for me, my VQ25 highway FC is similar to VQ30, but come to city drive VQ25 FC if worse than VQ30. maybe bcos of the weight the smaller engine has to carry.

how2drive

Jan 31, 2005
www.da-eventhouse.com
how much did you spend on modding everything? Once its done can you feed us back on the FC on city drive for VQ2.5 vs VQ3.0
will let you know on the cost once my car is done.. for now the given estimates are around rm6,000. As for the mileage, will definitely monitor on the differences and update in here. But for now, u can gauge the FC from all the sifus in here.

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
opps.. weikee, i thought u r on VQ25...

for me, my VQ25 highway FC is similar to VQ30, but come to city drive VQ25 FC if worse than VQ30. maybe bcos of the weight the smaller engine has to carry.
is the torque and g.ratio that make the fc difference.

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
i think it's the torque, cos final gear ratio is quite similar to VQ30. But to my surprise initially after engine change, the pickup response on 1st gear is better than my old VQ30

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
thought the power/snow is already in the 3L also, you don't see it in your original engine / dashboard?

snow will start on higher gear, if not mistaken is 2nd gear, to have less torque in the wheels. power will hold the gear longer, maybe until 5k rpm or more.

doraemon98

Feb 3, 2010
my a33 dun hv snow option. Only auto/power.

when switch to power, 2nd will drag until min 3k before it shift to 3rd gear on slow acceleration. And it change to lower gear more sensitively when you press accelerator a little faster. If you do not used to the behavior, passenger will feels uncomfortable like ridding a mad horse. This option is not advice for beginners.

While in auto, it only shift to lower gear when u 'floor' the accelerator. Hence make the ride more comfortable, and very less aggressive. Also it will shift from 2nd gear to 3rd gear before it reach 3k on slow accelerations.

alo..sori make noise here...
my aircond got prblm...when i wanna topup my aircond,the shop told me that i have to change compressor...as i know,if the compressor konked,there is no blow air right?but my car still blow the air but not cold...anybody can give advice?thanks...