205/60VR16 Good Year Assurance TripleMax cracked on side

buckeyes

Sep 30, 2012
jb

Yesterday I was shocked to discover a 4cm cracked on my driver's front wheel tire wall which I can see the steel mesh inside.

I changed all 4 tires on October 2013 and have travelled around 46000km on them with around 3 to 4mm of threads left. Did rotation, balancing, alignment twice. Is this a normal wear and tear issue or poorly built tires?

Also, can anyone recommend any similar or cheaper 205/60R16 tires and shops in Johor Bahru.

Thank you.

Looks more like a cut, and fresh, looking at the difference in color. If crack lines usually more towards the center line on sidewall.
Moreover tyres are 2013, only 2 years old....

Similar or cheaper tyres? What is your budget?

Branded will be more expensive, Lesser known brands will be cheaper, like Indonesian, Vietnamese, and from China

tth tyre

Jun 5, 2007
Puchong
Looks more like a cut... mostly you hit on road.

buckeyes

Sep 30, 2012
jb
Thanks for the clarification.

Triple Max is currently selling at Rm345++ excluding GST and CC5 is about Rm330++. I am looking at something cheaper. Brand name is non issue, just want something reliable. Also, is it advisable to continue driving short distance (less than 10km) with that cut on the wheel.

Thank you.

Thanks for the clarification.

Triple Max is currently selling at Rm345++ excluding GST and CC5 is about Rm330++. I am looking at something cheaper. Brand name is non issue, just want something reliable. Also, is it advisable to continue driving short distance (less than 10km) with that cut on the wheel.

Thank you.
Fit the tyre to the rear to be on the safe side, and drive slow is okay.
Reading back your first post, you would not be able to see the steel mesh as steel belts are only on the thread pattern area.
The tyre carcass is made either of nylon, rayon, or polyester. Read the sidewall of your tyre. It should state how many plies and what it is made off.
Getting cheaper tyres sometimes the grip may be poorer, especially in the wet.
You can try asking for Nexen, Kumho, GT Radial, Hankook, these should be slightly cheaper
Even Cheaper, can try Rovelo tyres from Vietnam, Your size probably below RM200....:driver:

That cut looks like you annoyed someone and he tried to sabotage you.
But actually it is easier to cut the middle section unless the person kneel low and cut at the lower section....:hmmmm:

buckeyes

Sep 30, 2012
jb
Not sure who I offended, the only suspects I have are the cats in my neighbourhood....

Rovelo seems pretty good to me. Was quoted RM230 (forgot to ask GST inclusive or not)for their 205/60R16 RHP788. But wanted to charge transportation cost to JB around RM90. Adding here and there not much savings!

Hankook was qouted RM320 + GST. Not cheap too....

Anyway thanks for the help. Will continue to search for cheaper options. Or perhaps lady luck will smile on me this wednesday.....

Not sure who I offended, the only suspects I have are the cats in my neighbourhood....

Rovelo seems pretty good to me. Was quoted RM230 (forgot to ask GST inclusive or not)for their 205/60R16 RHP788. But wanted to charge transportation cost to JB around RM90. Adding here and there not much savings!

Hankook was qouted RM320 + GST. Not cheap too....

Anyway thanks for the help. Will continue to search for cheaper options. Or perhaps lady luck will smile on me this wednesday.....
Who you check with on Rovelo price? Their higher performance Sport A1 215/45R17 only RM230. RHP78 also RM230?, what about the RHP A68?
Or can try Yokohama C-Drive 2, here RM290 can get, maybe JB more costly.....:smokin:

buckeyes

Sep 30, 2012
jb
Who you check with on Rovelo price? Their higher performance Sport A1 215/45R17 only RM230. RHP78 also RM230?, what about the RHP A68?
Or can try Yokohama C-Drive 2, here RM290 can get, maybe JB more costly.....:smokin:
I called the number on Rovelo facebook page ;03-56360917, told me this is not a popular size.

Yokohama C-Drive 2 was around RM330 when I asked about 22 months ago before deciding on Triplemax. JB things are much more expensive, was drooling when saw Klang tire prices posting in the forum :bawling:

Next time buy car not only must decide on brandname/model, Tire size is also a consideration...

ken yeang

16inch tyre not popular as many car owners would upgrade from 15" straight to 17".
Limited aftermarket 16" sport rim oso made 16" tyres less popular.

My fren drives a Nissan Selphy having a problem replacing OEM 16" tyres for his car. Limited choice, and prices are comparable to 17" tyres. He said he even approach Tan Chong, but TC said they dont have such tyres spec.....becoz many parts of his car (and tyres) came from Japan. Kesian like that....

I called the number on Rovelo facebook page ;03-56360917, told me this is not a popular size.

Yokohama C-Drive 2 was around RM330 when I asked about 22 months ago before deciding on Triplemax. JB things are much more expensive, was drooling when saw Klang tire prices posting in the forum :bawling:

Next time buy car not only must decide on brandname/model, Tire size is also a consideration...
In that case not worth it. RM230 is purchase price, RM90 transport and when arrived you still got to pay tyre shop for mounting and balancing which usually is free together with the tyres.

Yes, nowadays car manufacturer come out with funny sizes. First they want fuel economy so they give you the narrowest tyre possible. Like Myvi 175/65R14, Honda city 175/65R15, higher spec 185/55R16, Fiesta comes with 195/50R16.

---------- Post added at 01:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:29 PM ----------

16inch tyre not popular as many car owners would upgrade from 15" straight to 17".
Limited aftermarket 16" sport rim oso made 16" tyres less popular.

My fren drives a Nissan Selphy having a problem replacing OEM 16" tyres for his car. Limited choice, and prices are comparable to 17" tyres. He said he even approach Tan Chong, but TC said they dont have such tyres spec.....becoz many parts of his car (and tyres) came from Japan. Kesian like that....
16" not say not popular. Just that TS size not popular because it is 205/60R16. If it is 205/55R16 then got plenty of choices, many brands and models. Tyre is common tyre price also cheaper.
Also people who has 205/55R16 want to upgrade to 17" closest size is actually 225/45R17, but this size less choices, more expensive and for some cars tyres too wide, because increase of 20mm tyre width. Therefore usually I still recommend 215/45R17 which is slightly smaller in diameter only. This size tyres choices really plenty both in brands and model.
Even Honda FD comes in 205/55R16 but FD2 is 215/45R17
Same for Kia Forte 1.6 and the 2.0 model, because tyre also cheaper......:biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
In that case not worth it. RM230 is purchase price, RM90 transport and when arrived you still got to pay tyre shop for mounting and balancing which usually is free together with the tyres.

Yes, nowadays car manufacturer come out with funny sizes. First they want fuel economy so they give you the narrowest tyre possible. Like Myvi 175/65R14, Honda city 175/65R15, higher spec 185/55R16, Fiesta comes with 195/50R16.

---------- Post added at 01:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:29 PM ----------

16" not say not popular. Just that TS size not popular because it is 205/60R16. If it is 205/55R16 then got plenty of choices, many brands and models. Tyre is common tyre price also cheaper.
Also people who has 205/55R16 want to upgrade to 17" closest size is actually 225/45R17, but this size less choices, more expensive and for some cars tyres too wide, because increase of 20mm tyre width. Therefore usually I still recommend 215/45R17 which is slightly smaller in diameter only. This size tyres choices really plenty both in brands and model.
Even Honda FD comes in 205/55R16 but FD2 is 215/45R17
Same for Kia Forte 1.6 and the 2.0 model, because tyre also cheaper......:biggrin:
But IMHO 215/45 is starting to give harsh ride quality coz only 9.7cm sidewall height.

Proton has just introduced a new variant of the Saga FL that will be powered by the 1.6-liter Campro IAFM engine and will only cost RM3,700 more over the 1.3-liter Saga FL Executive at RM46,549.

The 1.6-liter Saga FL will only be available in solid white and with an automatic transmission with bookings commencing immediately. The more powerful model will be distinguished by new alloy wheels and a decorative...