1jz-gte non-vvti single turbo conversion

zarathir

Feb 10, 2009
hello!

need some help regarding on single turbo conversion for a non-vvti 1jz-gte.

1) currently, everything is standard with the engine.

2) ct12a turbines are helpless already. thought of servicing but came to think of it on the long run, macam best je tukar single turbo system terus

3) ok, my expectation from a single turbo system:
- i dont have to think about the costly ceramic problem
- at the very least, perform like a twin ct12a
- project under strict budget skit

4) what do i need to spend for a standard single turbo modification on a standard setup engine and runs slightly better or more than the normal twin ct12a?

please help...:confused:

rsrs62

Dec 7, 2006
I'm also curious what other things need to change if convert to single turbine? What can we expect from this kind of conversion?
Better power? FC?
Do we need to change injectors? Need to retune?
Basically, i still prefer to maintain the standard engine but just convert to single turbo. Is it alot of work to do?

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
1) turbo
2) banana
3) wastegate
4) piggyback
5) exhaust
6) boost sensor
7) boost controller
8) fuel pump
9) injector
10) fuel regulator
11) bigger capacity intercooler
12) replace all hose clips
13) etc...etc......

I'm also curious what other things need to change if convert to single turbine? What can we expect from this kind of conversion?
Better power? FC?
Do we need to change injectors? Need to retune?
Basically, i still prefer to maintain the standard engine but just convert to single turbo. Is it alot of work to do?

rsrs62

Dec 7, 2006
1) turbo
2) banana
3) wastegate
4) piggyback
5) exhaust
6) piggyback
7) boost controller
8) fuel pump
9) injector
10) fuel regulator
11) bigger capacity intercooler
12) replace all hose clips
13) etc...etc......
Looks like quite a lot to do. Not too sure whether it's really worthwhile as i'm not really going for big horses but more for daily streetable use with more oomphh.
Thanks bro jo-e34!

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
for basic single turbo upgrade, u can still use stock clutch, stock engine management (but with piggyback).

just buy banana+turbo+wastegate. can use those taiwan banana no prob. wastegate advisable to buy original. lots of turbo options for moderate power increase, do get opinion from ur mechanic or turbo specialist.

advisable to get 2jz injectors (not so expensive and plug n play) so that there are more safety margin. boost controller can use cheapo manual boost controller first.

the rest (installation + tuning), u can leave to ur mechanic + tuner.

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
normal....minor mods....umm.....budget2 spend about 3k....with its standard twin turbos setup,
piggy back,boost controller,fuel pump,injector u can achieve 300whp or so......with a manual.....tranny....easy job......:biggrin:

Looks like quite a lot to do. Not too sure whether it's really worthwhile as i'm not really going for big horses but more for daily streetable use with more oomphh.
Thanks bro jo-e34!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My kancil L5 JBJL which the ekzos warning light is on. and i feel the fuel consumption was so high at the moment RM10 around 40-45KM avg...previous can go for 60-70KM any problem with my engine? any suggestion from Sifu2? TQ

FYI, I just done my GB conversation Manual ---> Auto.