1999 Mitsubishi Lancer

mitsu-racer

Jan 29, 2010
Barbados
I finally got the car from my mom which is a 1999 mitsubishi lancer

The car is standard as you can imagine and i'm now looking to mod it.

The car is using the 4g15 block with the 4g13 head. Its also automatic and fails to reach 120kph.

I can't do an engine swap or convert to manual as i'm on a tight budget.

What are some mods that i can do to get the most from this engine?

Hope i posted in the correct section

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
Hello there..

1st of all i assume the engine is in tiptop cond.. As usual, change the airfilter and exhaust system.. It might be clogged, let the engine breathe easier..
My 2 cents..

mitsu-racer

Jan 29, 2010
Barbados
Thanks for replying. I was thinking of chaging the exhaust setup to a straight pipe. I am/was concern of how it would sound on an automatic car however. Don't really want to be termed as a 'ricer'.

I'm also currently using a no name sprts filter but will change to a better one soon:biggrin:

Any other advice? Tuning the engine? is so how?

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Thanks for replying. I was thinking of chaging the exhaust setup to a straight pipe. I am/was concern of how it would sound on an automatic car however. Don't really want to be termed as a 'ricer'.

I'm also currently using a no name sprts filter but will change to a better one soon:biggrin:

Any other advice? Tuning the engine? is so how?
U put a straight pipe on anything thats auto and small capacity you AUTO ricer, hahaha. Your exhaust needs back pressure, same concept as a garden hose.

I give you one too small, the water doesnt flow freely, too big, and the water just dribbles out with no pressure. Hot air flows faster, so the key for power is actually keeping the exhaust HOT and nicely sized so it sort of pulls the gas out itself.

Uhh... is your car EFi or Carby *like mine, ahaha*?

I suggest a free flowing air filter + entire exhaust system from headers till tip :driver:. For our small engines there arent much ways to mod it, simple exhaust + intake and maybe a re-chip or ecu tuning of somesort if youre still power hungry... Its up to you. I'd go for handling as hachi said~~

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
LWW: i think the 4g13 head is a carbie *like US BOTH* hahaha

There u have it, answer to your exhaust Q.. Get a s-flow muffler to dampen the sound too..
Thinking of touching the engine? Im afraid that the tuning bug might bite u (or has it?) From there, the list would go on and on.. IMO, better do up the handling.. Example a good suspension system, anti-roll bars and stuff, make the car fun to drive.. It kinda takes ur mind off the engine's lack of power and smile during cornering.. Hehe btw your engine is 4g15, here it gets its rest and people transplant to a better engine.. U can opt to change its head though.. There is a DOHC head for the G15 right?

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Haha yes youre right Hachi, when you have a slower car, you have to improve your cornering skills to catch up with the guys with big engines... This is what a real racer is, can take corners fast not hantam the accelerator and say he's a racer haha :biggrin:

I like carb's alot though... nyahaha :D

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
Haha yes youre right Hachi, when you have a slower car, you have to improve your cornering skills to catch up with the guys with big engines... This is what a real racer is, can take corners fast not hantam the accelerator and say he's a racer haha :biggrin:
I like carb's alot though... nyahaha :D
yeah man! I watched initial D n i can say it helped me alot in this department.. Hehe its not about who is fast, but who can control it the best..

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Well but you dont sohai sohai do like initial D yaaa :biggrin:... Haha that 1 is pure fiction

mitsu-racer

Jan 29, 2010
Barbados
Hey guys, The car is EFI.

LWW: You suggested exhaust piping not too big or not small, do you have any idea what size would be ideal? Also, any particular filter?

Hanci: I’m afraid the mod bug has already bitten me! Yes the 4G15 head does come DOHC. The reason it wasn’t fully converted to the 4G15 was because the ecu and exhaust setup would have needed changing which would have brought a massive bill. So its using the 4G15 block and 4G13 head.

Handling does sound like an idea sort out. And one I will do  however, at the moment the car is extremely underpowered. It reaches 100kph and basically stops. Shouldn’t the 4G15 block be giving more power?

BTW, Initial D is a great show!.....hanci ur FF car can drift. Just utilize your handbrake

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
Maybe you could check your throttle body, get it cleaned and retune your engine.. My friend's 4g15 carbie (auto) could top 140km/h but doesnt keep it there for long, due to reliability issue.. Have u done a top overhaul? If possible do a full overhaul, as i sense something is holding back its power.. And add on a lightened crank pulley, faster rev climbs.. Hows the transmission condition?
Over here K&N is a popular filter and so far no complaints..
About the exhaust, try not to go too big than stock, it will only burn more fuel..
LoL my heart is not ready for drifting yet! Hehe

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Hey guys, The car is EFI.

LWW: You suggested exhaust piping not too big or not small, do you have any idea what size would be ideal? Also, any particular filter?

Hanci: I’m afraid the mod bug has already bitten me! Yes the 4G15 head does come DOHC. The reason it wasn’t fully converted to the 4G15 was because the ecu and exhaust setup would have needed changing which would have brought a massive bill. So its using the 4G15 block and 4G13 head.

Handling does sound like an idea sort out. And one I will do  however, at the moment the car is extremely underpowered. It reaches 100kph and basically stops. Shouldn’t the 4G15 block be giving more power?

BTW, Initial D is a great show!.....hanci ur FF car can drift. Just utilize your handbrake
Its a 1.5 right? Im guessing somewhere in between 1.8" to 2", mines a 1.6 and the 2" piping seems pretty good... Oh remember, no straight pipes on an auto aite? :rofl: Get a quality midbox and a muffler with more wool, it helps the back pressure needed for the auto tranny.

Ohoho. EFi, are there any shops around that provide a re-flash? That would be another way to get more power!

Ah air filter wise... I'd agree with hachi. K&N seems to be doing well for me so far, 1 year on my parents cars and mine and the throttle-body still looks brand new. Its up to you really, just dont get any pirated stuff, they SOMETIMES suck in less air than stock :stupid:.

OR if you want, you could try converting it back to CARBS! Muahaha :thefinger: lots of guys on youtube have twin weber'd 4g13's, check it out on youtube man~~

---------- Post added at 11:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:52 PM ----------

Maybe you could check your throttle body, get it cleaned and retune your engine.. My friend's 4g15 carbie (auto) could top 140km/h but doesnt keep it there for long, due to reliability issue.. Have u done a top overhaul? If possible do a full overhaul, as i sense something is holding back its power.. And add on a lightened crank pulley, faster rev climbs.. Hows the transmission condition?
Over here K&N is a popular filter and so far no complaints..
About the exhaust, try not to go too big than stock, it will only burn more fuel..
LoL my heart is not ready for drifting yet! Hehe
Hachi, you go to shah alam stadium and main handbrake abit lah :rolleyes:

2nd gear, high revs, turn in (about half wheel or more) while clutching, countersteer and tada, somewhat of a slide ahahaha. I just went with my friends today in his waja, so funny. There was this guy ronda-ing the area, he stopped then just gave us a thumbs up :biggrin:

Sorry ya damn off topic, dont ban me moderator! :rolleyes:

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
LWW, u mean pull the handbrake while turning?
Haha scared to play handbrake now, balls not kevlar coated... YET!
P/S: u sure ur friend's waja is not the red proton R3 one? Hehehehehe

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
LWW, u mean pull the handbrake while turning?
Haha scared to play handbrake now, balls not kevlar coated... YET!
P/S: u sure ur friend's waja is not the red proton R3 one? Hehehehehe
Yeah, sort of like feint into the corner :), but one hand hold the e-brake the other with the steering, haha.

Oh his 1 lagi best, stock standard, blown shock absorbers and silverstone tires all round :thefinger:. Lagi best dari R3 lah :driver:

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
Yeah, sort of like feint into the corner :), but one hand hold the e-brake the other with the steering, haha.
Oh his 1 lagi best, stock standard, blown shock absorbers and silverstone tires all round :thefinger:. Lagi best dari R3 lah :driver:
thumbsup! Haha should have done that with my old tires.. Sayang ooooo!! I've seen FF cars using the weight transfer technique, while speeding turn the wheel as if changing lanes but make it fast so that the car weight is transfered to 1 side, and counter steer.. Done on high speed! Effect is good thanks to a wide and downhill road.. Hehe
thread starter gonna drift his lancer now.. Hehe :driver:

Wolfsburg might not be pumping out anymore Mk4 VW Golf R32’s but that by no means signals the end of aftermarket options for the hatch. German tuning specialists MTE have taken their tuning stick and beaten the Golf R32 Mk4 to the tune of 790hp and 1,200Nm of torque.
Conveniently, the resultant bruises have settled in a wild...